Page 60 of 458

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 6:43 pm
by Kaks
Hi, life is being relentless atm, but I just wanted to say - in trunk you can add the main planet texture inside planetinfo.plist to override the procedural texture: if you change this bit

Code: Select all

"0 7" = // Lave
{
    // Sun settings
    corona_flare = 0.075; // from 0.0 to 1.0
    corona_hues = 1.0;    // from 0.0 to 1.0
    sun_color = blueColor; // can also be redColor, greenColor or things like sun_color=(0.45, 0.8, 1.0); for any color you may need
};
to

Code: Select all

"0 7" = // Lave
{
    texture="newtexture.png";
    // Sun settings
    corona_flare = 0.075; // from 0.0 to 1.0
    corona_hues = 1.0;    // from 0.0 to 1.0
    sun_color = blueColor; // can also be redColor, greenColor or things like sun_color=(0.45, 0.8, 1.0); for any color you may need
};
newtexture.png will always be displayed for Lave whenever you look at the F7 screen, even if you're in Diso, or Riedquat, or anywhere else for that matter!

There's also the corona_shimmer setting, accepts a number from 0.0 (corona colours change very slowly) to 1.0 (the corona is 'slightly' hyperactive... ;) )

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:59 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Bravo Kaks! Can't wait until the creases are ironed out of the trunk and it's standard for us players!

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:05 pm
by pagroove
Kaks wrote:
Hi, life is being relentless atm, but I just wanted to say - in trunk you can add the main planet texture inside planetinfo.plist to override the procedural texture: if you change this bit

Code: Select all

"0 7" = // Lave
{
    // Sun settings
    corona_flare = 0.075; // from 0.0 to 1.0
    corona_hues = 1.0;    // from 0.0 to 1.0
    sun_color = blueColor; // can also be redColor, greenColor or things like sun_color=(0.45, 0.8, 1.0); for any color you may need
};
to

Code: Select all

"0 7" = // Lave
{
    texture="newtexture.png";
    // Sun settings
    corona_flare = 0.075; // from 0.0 to 1.0
    corona_hues = 1.0;    // from 0.0 to 1.0
    sun_color = blueColor; // can also be redColor, greenColor or things like sun_color=(0.45, 0.8, 1.0); for any color you may need
};
newtexture.png will always be displayed for Lave whenever you look at the F7 screen, even if you're in Diso, or Riedquat, or anywhere else for that matter!

There's also the corona_shimmer setting, accepts a number from 0.0 (corona colours change very slowly) to 1.0 (the corona is 'slightly' hyperactive... ;) )
RL(tm)= The most intensive simulation you'il ever play

Wow that sounds nice :):wink:
I will try it out. I would like to say that this trunk release is indeed only for testing purposes because when I use it to play then I get sometimes weird things with wreckage!? But I thought that was already mentioned in the bug reports forum. I use this version to make Famous Planets more 1.73 ready.

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:08 pm
by Screet
pagroove wrote:
I would like to say that this trunk release is indeed only for testing purposes because when I use it to play then I get sometimes weird things with wreckage!? But I thought that was already mentioned in the bug reports forum. I use this version to make Famous Planets more 1.73 ready.
Just comment out the line that scales the wreckage! It's pretty stupid as the wreckage is written back to the cache in it's scaled form, which should not happen...thus if you leave that line in, you can fly a few minutes, probably not even jump, until the game will have scaled the wreckages big enough so that they kill you, even if the fight creating it was far, far away...

Screet

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:08 pm
by pagroove
another_commander wrote:
pagroove wrote:
@ Another Commander
Is there a color reference table for the color numbers?
I like to make a deep red or deep orange color.
Yes, there is. Griff posted it somewhere but I can't remember where it is, so I am reuploading it:
Image

You can also launch Paint, go to Colors->Edit Colors, and click Define Custom Colors. Then you can pick any color and the RGB values will be displayed. You just divide each value by 255 to get the actual OpenGL color components in the range of 0.0 to 1.0.
Thanks for that, so you have to use all the 3 number values. to get the corresponding color.

Greetings,
P.A.G. :)

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:15 am
by another_commander
pagroove wrote:
I would like to say that this trunk release is indeed only for testing purposes because when I use it to play then I get sometimes weird things with wreckage!?
Just to clarify something here: The trunk build is not a release. The last official release is 1.72.2. Trunk changes continuously and just providing instructions on how to build does not constitute by no means a release. 1.73 is still under development.

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:17 am
by Micha
Perhaps we should add a great bit red WARNING pop-up on startup for WiP builds and/or have it in the title-bar as well?

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:55 am
by pagroove
another_commander wrote:
pagroove wrote:
I would like to say that this trunk release is indeed only for testing purposes because when I use it to play then I get sometimes weird things with wreckage!?
Just to clarify something here: The trunk build is not a release. The last official release is 1.72.2. Trunk changes continuously and just providing instructions on how to build does not constitute by no means a release. 1.73 is still under development.
I know and therefore I use it not to play. I'm on 172.2 for that. :D

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:27 pm
by another_commander
Ramon's Anaconda comes next. This is a really nice vessel:
Image
The cargo doors have been blasted open. Here is a view of what's inside:
Image
And one more Anaconda cruising in space:
Image

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:32 pm
by pagroove
:shock: :shock:
Attention to detail is unbelievable

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:23 pm
by goran
The windows on this beauty must be enormous. ;)
That white sat dish doesn't fit somehow, but everything else is great.

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:37 pm
by ramon
actually I've just noticed that dish should be textured. i'll check the code again.

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:11 am
by DaddyHoggy
ramon wrote:
actually I've just noticed that dish should be textured. i'll check the code again.
Given that as of now (11:10am BST 21/04/09) - we've got three broken image links in A_C's posting - there is no evidence to support this statement anyway! :wink:

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 12:41 pm
by another_commander
Yes there is ;-) Reuploaded pics to a slightly more active site.

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 8:03 pm
by aceshigh
looks like its only about 20-30 meters long, due to the ENOURMOUS cockpit.

Image