Page 6 of 15

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:09 pm
by Corny
JazHaz wrote:
So to add a picture you have to dive into the HTML? :)
Yes. But seriously, this isn't rocket science.

Code: Select all

<div class="image-container">
   <div class="image-frame">
      <a href="gallery/full/coriolis.jpg">
         <img src="gallery/thumb/coriolis.png" alt="Coriolis">
      </a>
   </div>
   <div class="image-caption">
      The Coriolis, the most common type of space station.
   </div>
</div>
Should be nearly self-explanatory. Only thing you probably need to know is that the preview-image should be 200x160, otherwise some of it will be cut.

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:04 pm
by Lucidor
Corny wrote:
the arrows at the bottom wouldn't have a function ;) most users should already be familiar with scroll bars, though, so no worries :P
I think many would prefer to not have all the pictures on one page, especially those with mobile or otherwise limited connections.

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:04 pm
by Corny
Lucidor wrote:
Corny wrote:
the arrows at the bottom wouldn't have a function ;) most users should already be familiar with scroll bars, though, so no worries :P
I think many would prefer to not have all the pictures on one page, especially those with mobile or otherwise limited connections.
Yours displays 12 pictures, that's just one picture less than all pictures that are displayed now.
But you're right, if they become more, it'd be better to spread them to some more pages.

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:12 am
by Diziet Sma
ClymAngus wrote:
Well for simple comparison;
http://www.oolite.org/

then we have http://roolite.org/
Ok.. NOW I understand why I've been seeing so much traffic from Russia on my alt download site.. nice looking site.

Back on topic..
Wow.. lots of things happening since I last checked in here.. I'm glad to see the oolite.org site will get a makeover. Keep up the good work everyone!

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:10 am
by Cmdr James
I wonder if thee is something special about russia being interested in elite, maybe their history with space?

I say that as a lot of the FFE remake stuff sees to be russian as well.

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:27 am
by JensAyton
Diziet Sma wrote:
Ok.. NOW I understand why I've been seeing so much traffic from Russia on my alt download site.. nice looking site.
You’re confusing cause and effect there. :-) Oolite’s had high interest from Russia for quite some time, for whatever reason.

Russia is the #4 source country for oolite.org traffic, accounting for 5.7% of total traffic since it went online. The top three are UK (25.1%), US (18.7%), and Germany (12.1%).

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:11 pm
by JazHaz
Corny wrote:
JazHaz wrote:
So to add a picture you have to dive into the HTML? :)
Yes. But seriously, this isn't rocket science.

Code: Select all

<div class="image-container">
   <div class="image-frame">
      <a href="gallery/full/coriolis.jpg">
         <img src="gallery/thumb/coriolis.png" alt="Coriolis">
      </a>
   </div>
   <div class="image-caption">
      The Coriolis, the most common type of space station.
   </div>
</div>
Should be nearly self-explanatory. Only thing you probably need to know is that the preview-image should be 200x160, otherwise some of it will be cut.
Yeah pretty straightforward.

Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:16 pm
by JazHaz
ClymAngus wrote:
Well for simple comparison;
http://www.oolite.org/

then we have http://roolite.org/
If you use the latest version of the Google Toolbar, that now comes with a good translation utility which can translate Russian to English pretty well. On the fly too (well within a few seconds).

This makes Roolite a nice resource on top of Wiki and the BBS!

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:21 pm
by Corny
JazHaz wrote:
Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
Because if you have to make a thumbnail anyway, you can as well scale it right :D
Letting html scale it would mean that you either have pixelated pictures or use more bandwith that you actually need.

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:23 pm
by JazHaz
Corny wrote:
JazHaz wrote:
Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
Because if you have to make a thumbnail anyway, you can as well scale it right :D
Letting html scale it would mean that you either have pixelated pictures or use more bandwith that you actually need.
But it would avoid losing bits!

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:29 pm
by JensAyton
Corny wrote:
JazHaz wrote:
Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
Because if you have to make a thumbnail anyway, you can as well scale it right :D
Letting html scale it would mean that you either have pixelated pictures or use more bandwith that you actually need.
Specifying the dimensions (without in-browser scaling) has the advantage that the browser can lay out the page properly before the image loads. Whether it will depends on the browser, other aspects of the page structure, and how fast it’s getting the images.

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:33 pm
by JazHaz
Ahruman wrote:
Specifying the dimensions (without in-browser scaling) has the advantage that the browser can lay out the page properly before the image loads. Whether it will depends on the browser, other aspects of the page structure, and how fast it’s getting the images.
Thats true! Probably worth adding the width and height tags anyway then.

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:44 pm
by Corny
Ahruman wrote:
Specifying the dimensions (without in-browser scaling) has the advantage that the browser can lay out the page properly before the image loads. Whether it will depends on the browser, other aspects of the page structure, and how fast it’s getting the images.
The image container has already fixed width (via CSS). I have no connection slow enough to test that, but shouldn't the layout load properly before the image this way, too?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:11 pm
by Lucidor
I think it will resize if you put an image that is too large in it.

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:59 pm
by Corny
Lucidor wrote:
I think it will resize if you put an image that is too large in it.
Not if you use overflow: hidden;. That's why the images will be cropped automatically with my CSS-file.
Just some precaution to not screw up the layout, although I don't really expect people who have access to the Oolite website to accidentally put in too large images.