Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Web redesign

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
User avatar
Corny
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:50 am
Location: (northern) Germany

Post by Corny »

JazHaz wrote:
So to add a picture you have to dive into the HTML? :)
Yes. But seriously, this isn't rocket science.

Code: Select all

<div class="image-container">
   <div class="image-frame">
      <a href="gallery/full/coriolis.jpg">
         <img src="gallery/thumb/coriolis.png" alt="Coriolis">
      </a>
   </div>
   <div class="image-caption">
      The Coriolis, the most common type of space station.
   </div>
</div>
Should be nearly self-explanatory. Only thing you probably need to know is that the preview-image should be 200x160, otherwise some of it will be cut.
User avatar
Lucidor
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Lucidor »

Corny wrote:
the arrows at the bottom wouldn't have a function ;) most users should already be familiar with scroll bars, though, so no worries :P
I think many would prefer to not have all the pictures on one page, especially those with mobile or otherwise limited connections.
User avatar
Corny
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:50 am
Location: (northern) Germany

Post by Corny »

Lucidor wrote:
Corny wrote:
the arrows at the bottom wouldn't have a function ;) most users should already be familiar with scroll bars, though, so no worries :P
I think many would prefer to not have all the pictures on one page, especially those with mobile or otherwise limited connections.
Yours displays 12 pictures, that's just one picture less than all pictures that are displayed now.
But you're right, if they become more, it'd be better to spread them to some more pages.
User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6311
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Post by Diziet Sma »

ClymAngus wrote:
Well for simple comparison;
http://www.oolite.org/

then we have http://roolite.org/
Ok.. NOW I understand why I've been seeing so much traffic from Russia on my alt download site.. nice looking site.

Back on topic..
Wow.. lots of things happening since I last checked in here.. I'm glad to see the oolite.org site will get a makeover. Keep up the good work everyone!
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
User avatar
Cmdr James
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by Cmdr James »

I wonder if thee is something special about russia being interested in elite, maybe their history with space?

I say that as a lot of the FFE remake stuff sees to be russian as well.
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Diziet Sma wrote:
Ok.. NOW I understand why I've been seeing so much traffic from Russia on my alt download site.. nice looking site.
You’re confusing cause and effect there. :-) Oolite’s had high interest from Russia for quite some time, for whatever reason.

Russia is the #4 source country for oolite.org traffic, accounting for 5.7% of total traffic since it went online. The top three are UK (25.1%), US (18.7%), and Germany (12.1%).
User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz »

Corny wrote:
JazHaz wrote:
So to add a picture you have to dive into the HTML? :)
Yes. But seriously, this isn't rocket science.

Code: Select all

<div class="image-container">
   <div class="image-frame">
      <a href="gallery/full/coriolis.jpg">
         <img src="gallery/thumb/coriolis.png" alt="Coriolis">
      </a>
   </div>
   <div class="image-caption">
      The Coriolis, the most common type of space station.
   </div>
</div>
Should be nearly self-explanatory. Only thing you probably need to know is that the preview-image should be 200x160, otherwise some of it will be cut.
Yeah pretty straightforward.

Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!
User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz »

ClymAngus wrote:
Well for simple comparison;
http://www.oolite.org/

then we have http://roolite.org/
If you use the latest version of the Google Toolbar, that now comes with a good translation utility which can translate Russian to English pretty well. On the fly too (well within a few seconds).

This makes Roolite a nice resource on top of Wiki and the BBS!
Last edited by JazHaz on Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!
User avatar
Corny
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:50 am
Location: (northern) Germany

Post by Corny »

JazHaz wrote:
Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
Because if you have to make a thumbnail anyway, you can as well scale it right :D
Letting html scale it would mean that you either have pixelated pictures or use more bandwith that you actually need.
User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz »

Corny wrote:
JazHaz wrote:
Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
Because if you have to make a thumbnail anyway, you can as well scale it right :D
Letting html scale it would mean that you either have pixelated pictures or use more bandwith that you actually need.
But it would avoid losing bits!
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Corny wrote:
JazHaz wrote:
Why don't you use the width and height tags to scale the preview image to 200x160 though?
Because if you have to make a thumbnail anyway, you can as well scale it right :D
Letting html scale it would mean that you either have pixelated pictures or use more bandwith that you actually need.
Specifying the dimensions (without in-browser scaling) has the advantage that the browser can lay out the page properly before the image loads. Whether it will depends on the browser, other aspects of the page structure, and how fast it’s getting the images.
User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Post by JazHaz »

Ahruman wrote:
Specifying the dimensions (without in-browser scaling) has the advantage that the browser can lay out the page properly before the image loads. Whether it will depends on the browser, other aspects of the page structure, and how fast it’s getting the images.
Thats true! Probably worth adding the width and height tags anyway then.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!
User avatar
Corny
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:50 am
Location: (northern) Germany

Post by Corny »

Ahruman wrote:
Specifying the dimensions (without in-browser scaling) has the advantage that the browser can lay out the page properly before the image loads. Whether it will depends on the browser, other aspects of the page structure, and how fast it’s getting the images.
The image container has already fixed width (via CSS). I have no connection slow enough to test that, but shouldn't the layout load properly before the image this way, too?
User avatar
Lucidor
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Lucidor »

I think it will resize if you put an image that is too large in it.
User avatar
Corny
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:50 am
Location: (northern) Germany

Post by Corny »

Lucidor wrote:
I think it will resize if you put an image that is too large in it.
Not if you use overflow: hidden;. That's why the images will be cropped automatically with my CSS-file.
Just some precaution to not screw up the layout, although I don't really expect people who have access to the Oolite website to accidentally put in too large images.
Post Reply