Re: Galactic Almanac OXP - Beta 1
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2021 5:49 pm
Anything that I can do to help with the Stranger's World issues?
For information and discussion about Oolite.
https://bb.oolite.space/
As you're doing more than just planet & moons, be aware that some oxps use the beaconLabel and/or beaconCode without altering displayName. VimanaHUD checks in order: .beaconLabel, .displayName, .name, .beaconCode, while I've been toying with using the longest name (telescope 2 has a name shortening algorithm so the MFD doesn't use really slim characters).
or a brown dwarf (too dim to see) or a neutron star: no accretion disk or rotation axis at angle (ie. no x-rays) or old & cold (too small to see)LittleBear wrote: ↑Mon Dec 13, 2021 2:12 pmBut Oolite isn;t allowing them to appear as its a one sun hard limit per system. I'll add a counter for suns and if a second or third invisible object is present it'll classify it as a black hole.
Actually, it's an invisible ship close to the edge of scanner range. The core only allows targeting within scanner range.LittleBear wrote: ↑Mon Dec 13, 2021 2:12 pmI suspect what it is doing is spawning an invisible ship at the planet's surface (this is how planetfall works) and it is that object rather than the planet as such that you are actually targeting.
No, I've been subtracting the collisionRadius (as does 1.15) from distances to reflect the distance to the surface/hull. I thought of not subtracting for gravity scanner targets but that would just be confusing. I will stop doing that with orbs (sun(s), planets & moons) so the numbers will match. There was a reason it's done it for ships but my memory fails me.LittleBear wrote: ↑Mon Dec 13, 2021 2:12 pmThe Distance to the Target shown as the planet by Telescope is 60kms closer than the planet is. I think this is because Telescope is floating a NO_DRAW class object just above the planet to allow you to target it.
Code: Select all
if (target.beaconCode) missionVariables.random_station_names_mfd_almanacDisplayTarget = target.beaconCode;
if (target.beacon) missionVariables.random_station_names_mfd_almanacDisplayTarget = target.beacon;
if (target.beaconLabel) missionVariables.random_station_names_mfd_almanacDisplayTarget = target.beaconLabel;
if (target.displayName) missionVariables.random_station_names_mfd_almanacDisplayTarget = target.displayName;
The distance between the witchpoint and the main planet in the vanilla game is a pseudo-random value in the range 10...14 times the main planet radius. Since Oolite 1.82 this distance has been defined as an absolute value – parameter planet_distance. Therefore increasing Lave's vanilla radius from 4116 km to 5821 km (for example) will only slightly affect the distance from the witchpoint to the main orbital station - and the corresponding travel time. The main orbital station is always positioned at a distance from the main planet surface equal to the main planet radius: so some OXPs using absolute coordinates for positioning additional objects will not function as intended after installing Habitable Main Planets (''eg'' the Tionisla cemetery).
Edit to add: I am running HIMSN, but I thought HIMSN used Kiota stations?14:11:31.592 [shipData.load.error]: ***** ERROR: the shipdata.plist entry "cb68_sodalite_station-riredi-coluber_no_beacon_version" has unresolved subentity cb68_sodalite_station-dock-riredi-coluber.
14:11:31.592 [shipData.load.error]: ***** ERROR: the shipdata.plist entry "pagroove_superhub_station_mainhull_no_beacon_version" has unresolved subentities pagroove_superhub_dock, pagroove_superhub_station_ring1, pagroove_superhub_station_ring2.