Random Assassination Contracts
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Impelemented :-
3 missions, 4 Mission briefing screens, 5 mission descriptions, 2 new ships.
Did I mention that the OXP introduces an "Assassins Guild Ranking" alongside your "Elite Federation Rating."
Just murdered my second victim and am ranked a "Cut-throat"
3 missions, 4 Mission briefing screens, 5 mission descriptions, 2 new ships.
Did I mention that the OXP introduces an "Assassins Guild Ranking" alongside your "Elite Federation Rating."
Just murdered my second victim and am ranked a "Cut-throat"
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- Arexack_Heretic
- Dangerous Subversive Element
- Posts: 1876
- Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 7:32 pm
- Location: [%H] = Earth surface, Lattitude 52°10'58.19"N, longtitude 4°30'0.25"E.
- Contact:
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Time for the Soin Clan to take revenge.
Cheers for you tip on the AI. Reckon ThargoidAI might do the trick!
Cheers for you tip on the AI. Reckon ThargoidAI might do the trick!
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Would ideally like to script a delay.
Currentley using the Dice Role condition, works Ok but still the chance of the player getting missions coming up too near each other if the cards flop high. Is there a way to script a fixed delay?
Currentley using the Dice Role condition, works Ok but still the chance of the player getting missions coming up too near each other if the cards flop high. Is there a way to script a fixed delay?
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
yes there is...
(browses wiki...
http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Methods#Time
so you could use the clock, get the current time, and then do some calculations with it, say current time + 10 minutes, an hour etc...
??
Too bad ScriptTimer is depreciated...
(browses wiki...
http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Methods#Time
so you could use the clock, get the current time, and then do some calculations with it, say current time + 10 minutes, an hour etc...
??
Too bad ScriptTimer is depreciated...
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Hmm. Looks tricky. (Fold!)
Think I'll stick with the odds. If I place the "pot-odds" right, most players will have a fair delay.
There will still be a small chance of a player just inducted by the Guild Master, pressing space and suddenley having a new mission pop up, which isn't what I want, I'd want a couple of hops at least, before a further mission being offered.
On the other hand, this isn't very likley (There is a chance of pocket rockets being beaten by 2 7 off suit, with a freaky flop eg: 2 2 7), but its not very likley.
If I use a kill count and a d roll of d(100) greater than 95, it will mean at least there is only a 1/20 chance of immedatley being offered the next mission (even if you do have the right number of kills), and on average you'll need to at the least make 10 dockings before a new mission is offered even if you make the kill count.
Think I'll stick with the odds. If I place the "pot-odds" right, most players will have a fair delay.
There will still be a small chance of a player just inducted by the Guild Master, pressing space and suddenley having a new mission pop up, which isn't what I want, I'd want a couple of hops at least, before a further mission being offered.
On the other hand, this isn't very likley (There is a chance of pocket rockets being beaten by 2 7 off suit, with a freaky flop eg: 2 2 7), but its not very likley.
If I use a kill count and a d roll of d(100) greater than 95, it will mean at least there is only a 1/20 chance of immedatley being offered the next mission (even if you do have the right number of kills), and on average you'll need to at the least make 10 dockings before a new mission is offered even if you make the kill count.
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Found a neat way of scripting a delay, by cribbing Deposesed!
The Guildmaster is met at planet 107.
So for my next event to trigger i have added as a condition:
"planet_number greaterthan 107"
So you will never be offered the next mission immedatley, but as there are 250 planets, there is a 60% chance of being offered at the next docking on this condition.
Neat huh!
The Guildmaster is met at planet 107.
So for my next event to trigger i have added as a condition:
"planet_number greaterthan 107"
So you will never be offered the next mission immedatley, but as there are 250 planets, there is a 60% chance of being offered at the next docking on this condition.
Neat huh!
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
In order to space the missions out, I'm using this conditions code:-
"mission_assassins equal assassins_STAGE2", "planet_number lessthan 107", "galaxy_number equal 6", "score_number greaterthan 499", "d100_number lessthan 27");
Bear with me!
There are 255 planets in G7. 42% have numbers less than 107 and 58%
have numbers greater than 107. So if the player is moving about G7
between missions doing his ordinary Oolite stuff, then once the kill and
mission status requirements are met, the player will have an 11% chance
(42% x 0.26) of the mission being offered next time he docks. The computer keeps rolling the dice until the chance hits and the mission is
offered. So it should take an average of 5 - 10 dockings before the mission is offered, after the kill count hits.
(The readme contains a hint that you need to roam about a bit between
missions. If a player did somthing ackward like trading between planet 200 and 205, the chance would never come off).
I've playtested by going to Raedre (Planet 6). First time I docked nothing happened. So I launched an re-docked, and the mission was offered. So
the dice seem to be working ok.
Question: Are the dice fair on all platforms? I seem remember Murgh having some problems with his dice in Hoopy Casino.
"mission_assassins equal assassins_STAGE2", "planet_number lessthan 107", "galaxy_number equal 6", "score_number greaterthan 499", "d100_number lessthan 27");
Bear with me!
There are 255 planets in G7. 42% have numbers less than 107 and 58%
have numbers greater than 107. So if the player is moving about G7
between missions doing his ordinary Oolite stuff, then once the kill and
mission status requirements are met, the player will have an 11% chance
(42% x 0.26) of the mission being offered next time he docks. The computer keeps rolling the dice until the chance hits and the mission is
offered. So it should take an average of 5 - 10 dockings before the mission is offered, after the kill count hits.
(The readme contains a hint that you need to roam about a bit between
missions. If a player did somthing ackward like trading between planet 200 and 205, the chance would never come off).
I've playtested by going to Raedre (Planet 6). First time I docked nothing happened. So I launched an re-docked, and the mission was offered. So
the dice seem to be working ok.
Question: Are the dice fair on all platforms? I seem remember Murgh having some problems with his dice in Hoopy Casino.
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Hit a snag. After the Kill the Zarausxian Hockey Team mission is offered and the script sets to assassins_stage2, attempting to save causes Oolite to throw a wobbley. The game resets to strict gameplay, the crashes.
The last few lines of the bugreport are:-
^
2006-07-10 22:07:24.000 oolite.exe[4480] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
Fatal signal: Floating Point Exception (SDL Parachute Deployed)
I've taken out all OXPS exept assassins and my commander's ship, so
I don't think it is ab OXP problem.
I hit the same error as a player at certain stages in the native Thargoid plans mission and playing Deposessed.
Any ideas?
Have a trial tomorrow, so it'll be a few days before I can get back to
the OXP. Darn real world!
The last few lines of the bugreport are:-
^
2006-07-10 22:07:24.000 oolite.exe[4480] don't know how to load entity 'http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd' id '-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN'
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !
<plist version="1.0">
^
Fatal signal: Floating Point Exception (SDL Parachute Deployed)
I've taken out all OXPS exept assassins and my commander's ship, so
I don't think it is ab OXP problem.
I hit the same error as a player at certain stages in the native Thargoid plans mission and playing Deposessed.
Any ideas?
Have a trial tomorrow, so it'll be a few days before I can get back to
the OXP. Darn real world!
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Sorry to double post.
Remembered how to get round this from when it happedned to me as a player. I reloaded a commander from a step back in the OXP, gave the save file a new name and then replayed. No problem this time.
Odd though.
Remembered how to get round this from when it happedned to me as a player. I reloaded a commander from a step back in the OXP, gave the save file a new name and then replayed. No problem this time.
Odd though.
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Having Escort Ship Problems.
My Victim Ship includes the script
<key>escorts</key>
<integer>4</integer>
<key>escort-ship</key>
<string>escort1</string>
I've written a script for the escort1 ship:-
<key>escort1</key>
<dict>
<key>like_ship</key>
<string>viper</string>
<key>model</key>
<string>viper_redux.dat</string>
<key>fuel</key>
<integer>70</integer>
<key>has_fuel_injection</key>
<true/>
<key>ai_type</key>
<string>escortAI.plist</string>
<key>name</key>
<string>Hockey Team Escort Viper</string>
<key>roles</key>
<string>escort1</string>
</dict>
Both ships work and appear in space, but the Victim2 ship is without
escorts. If I just add victim2 then he appears on his own.
If looked at the escort code in other OXPs and the native shipdata, what I doing wrong.
Also, although I have specified <key>has escape_pod</key>
<false/> for the victim ship, he somtimes
manages to escape in an escape pod!
Help!
My Victim Ship includes the script
<key>escorts</key>
<integer>4</integer>
<key>escort-ship</key>
<string>escort1</string>
I've written a script for the escort1 ship:-
<key>escort1</key>
<dict>
<key>like_ship</key>
<string>viper</string>
<key>model</key>
<string>viper_redux.dat</string>
<key>fuel</key>
<integer>70</integer>
<key>has_fuel_injection</key>
<true/>
<key>ai_type</key>
<string>escortAI.plist</string>
<key>name</key>
<string>Hockey Team Escort Viper</string>
<key>roles</key>
<string>escort1</string>
</dict>
Both ships work and appear in space, but the Victim2 ship is without
escorts. If I just add victim2 then he appears on his own.
If looked at the escort code in other OXPs and the native shipdata, what I doing wrong.
Also, although I have specified <key>has escape_pod</key>
<false/> for the victim ship, he somtimes
manages to escape in an escape pod!
Help!
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- LittleBear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2882
- Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
- Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.
Escorts working now!
Still have escape pod problem.
Still have escape pod problem.
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
- Arexack_Heretic
- Dangerous Subversive Element
- Posts: 1876
- Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 7:32 pm
- Location: [%H] = Earth surface, Lattitude 52°10'58.19"N, longtitude 4°30'0.25"E.
- Contact: