Progress

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Also seen in cargo pods and alloys, which have no thrust of their own, and continue on their inherited velocity forever, while the target inspector shows them having a speed of 0.
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Commander McLane wrote:
…while the target inspector shows them having a speed of 0.
Nöt any möre, as Inspector Clouseau would say.
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6811
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

HUD is now switchable on-the-fly by scripts. The new JS method property to do this is
player.ship.switchHudTo("myFunkyHud.plist");

Code: Select all

player.ship.hud = "myFunkyHud.plist";
Edit: Post-SVN3062, the switchHudTo method has been replaced with the read/write JS property player.ship.hud.
Last edited by another_commander on Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2296
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Post by Killer Wolf »

ooooh...what's the triggers? could we switch to a damaged HUD, if some equipment was damaged, eg? or swap to a trading HUD when docked?
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6811
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

Killer Wolf wrote:
ooooh...what's the triggers? could we switch to a damaged HUD, if some equipment was damaged, eg? or swap to a trading HUD when docked?
Any of the JavaScript event handlers can be used to switch the HUD and yes, both of your suggestions will be possible.
User avatar
Sarin
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Out there, searching for truth

Post by Sarin »

Looking forward to bruised and cracked HUDs. Excellent way how to measure ship damage.
User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8515
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy »

another_commander wrote:
Killer Wolf wrote:
ooooh...what's the triggers? could we switch to a damaged HUD, if some equipment was damaged, eg? or swap to a trading HUD when docked?
Any of the JavaScript event handlers can be used to switch the HUD and yes, both of your suggestions will be possible.
Oh, now that's cool!

How quickly could HUDs be switched and how often? I'm just thinking of the possibility of using HUD switching to create the effect of say flickering power supplies and lighting (For example Deepspace's excellent 3D projection looking scanner).
Selezen wrote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6811
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

DaddyHoggy wrote:
How quickly could HUDs be switched and how often? I'm just thinking of the possibility of using HUD switching to create the effect of say flickering power supplies and lighting (For example Deepspace's excellent 3D projection looking scanner).
I'm afraid the timers don't run that fast. The minimum timer interval is hardcoded to 0.25 seconds, which means you can at maximum switch hud four times in a second. Not fast enough to create the illusion of movement, unfortunately.
lfnfan
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: london, uk

Post by lfnfan »

even without flickering, simply losing the hud from view entirely for a second or two should give the feeling of being in a fight and taking damage to systems / losing power?

edit; but I guess that's more 'switching off the hud' rather than 'switching the hud'.... Hm
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6811
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

lfnfan wrote:
even without flickering, simply losing the hud from view entirely for a second or two should give the feeling of being in a fight and taking damage to systems / losing power?

edit; but I guess that's more 'switching off the hud' rather than 'switching the hud'.... Hm
Which is fine, because we can do that with JavaScript too:

Code: Select all

player.ship.hudHidden = true/false;
;-)
lfnfan
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: london, uk

Post by lfnfan »

coo-el

random brief on/off's when power gets below a certain level, more prolonged off's when it's nearly time to reach for the exit (or the GHD (not the hair straighteners)).

I'd buy that .oxp :D

maybe even lose any pre-set targets in the multi-targeting computer... although that's making life a little harder at precisely the wrong time :(

One for the sci-fi trivia thread: Who made use of an 'artificial injury generator' in a well-known 1970s/80s sci-fi series?
User avatar
allikat
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 pm

Post by allikat »

You don't need much flicker, all you'd need is 3 hud images, a standard one for good condition, a really faded out one, and a middle faded one. Switch from the main to the middle when power is low, and occasionally switch to the really faded one when power is very low (could be randomised).
Ok, so each flicker lasts no more than 1/4 second, but it's enough to count.

Plus you could have a standard hud, and a red-alert hud.
Commander Monty, a Python Class Cruiser driver :D
Iron assed bulk haulers for the win!

Of the two trumbles which escaped today from Lave station, only 473 have been located....
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6811
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

I have made a small video using a modified Oolite binary that allows timer intervals as short as 0.03125 seconds. What is shown therein is the two HUDs of the main game (standard and small) switching between each other as soon as cloak has been activated. It gives a pretty good impression of a malfunctioning hud, I think. However, I am not sure what side effects these very short timers might have with the rest of the game and if we could possibly make the minimum intervals this short or not - I have not noticed any issues, but haven't checked thoroughly. But I think this gives a pretty good idea of what the switching effect could look like.
Last edited by another_commander on Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
lfnfan
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: london, uk

Post by lfnfan »

whoa, I think that's a bit too quick a flicker!
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6811
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

New autopilot features: The autopilot code has been decoupled from the docking computers control one and scripts have been granted access to it. What this means, is that scripts now can start up autopilot to specified stations and they can also stop it. Scripts are responsible for checking for the existence of docking computers when calling the autopilot, if so required. What this, in turn, means is that autopilot can be engaged and disengaged by scripts even if the player does not have the Docking Computers installed. The two methods for this are player.ship.engageAutopilotToStation, which takes as parameter the station we are telling the autopilot to dock us with and player.ship.disengageAutopilot, without parameters. Example of usage:

Code: Select all

player.ship.engageAutopilotToStation(system.mainStation);

player.ship.disengageAutopilot();
If no valid station entity is specified for docking with (e.g. trying to script-dock with a police Viper), an error will be reported in the log.

Additionally, the playerStartedAutoPilot event handler now takes as argument the station we are trying to dock to:

Code: Select all

this.playerStartedAutoPilot = function(stationToDockTo)
{
	log("playerStartedAutoPilot", "Player has initiated autopilot sequence to " + stationToDockTo);
}
Post Reply