Elite Galactic Maps and optimal trading routes
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- Draconic74
- Above Average
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 6:42 am
first of all, i dont mean to tell anybody what to do, and second, if we start talking about missile designs, it kind of defeats the purpose of "Elite Galactic Maps and Optimal Trading Routes." i think it just seems to stray off topic just a little bit. besides, the guys on the "new missiles" discussion have some really cool ideas worth checking out.
BEGIN {
Dragon- Switch (g FOR c);
ADD (ice);
DELETE (ANY [e]);
GENERATE NUM (74);
ADD (PREVIOUS);
END;
}
Dragon- Switch (g FOR c);
ADD (ice);
DELETE (ANY [e]);
GENERATE NUM (74);
ADD (PREVIOUS);
END;
}
actually i didn't feel he was. in the above context there wasn't exactly a reverent devotion to the heading topic going on.Lucidor wrote:Why should he when he is right? :^)
fair enough. it does though. wander off-topic. discussion. some good ideas can come about in unlikely places, and it's usually not "auspicious" to be rigid about constuctive contribution.Draconic74 wrote:first of all, i dont mean to tell anybody what to do, and second, if we start talking about missile designs, it kind of defeats the purpose of "Elite Galactic Maps and Optimal Trading Routes." i think it just seems to stray off topic just a little bit. besides, the guys on the "new missiles" discussion have some really cool ideas worth checking out.
The man next to you is your lunch
- Draconic74
- Above Average
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 6:42 am
Re: Already done.
That does not seem to work. I am playing the windows version.aegidian wrote:In Oolite, on the galactic chart, press ! and a similar route-map and text file will be dumped to your Oolite folder.
getting a screenshot on the other hand works.
I also have switched once the keys for screenshot with the one for map_dump. Screen shots works then with the ! key, but still no map dump with the other key *
Do I need something bought on my ship to get it working?
- aegidian
- Master and Commander
- Posts: 1161
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 10:46 pm
- Location: London UK
- Contact:
Re: Already done.
This feature doesn't work on the windows version.Esraven wrote:[I am playing the windows version.
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 3:28 pm
I've toyed with the idea of writing a route-planner. I only know matlab though, which is not the most protable of programming languages owing to the rather siazable overhead of the matlab component runtime environment.
so far I've taken the data data from the wiki for galaxy one and written a script to parse it and can scatter plot the galaxy but the units for the planet locations aren't light years, they range from 0-256 in each dimension.
Does anybody know how big the galaxies are so I can convert the co-ordinates to light years? They're not square so it's not trivial just to measure a bunch of distances and scale them. If nobody knows, I'll have to break out my knowledge of transformation matrices to figure it out and I'd rather not do that, I might hurt my brain.
so far I've taken the data data from the wiki for galaxy one and written a script to parse it and can scatter plot the galaxy but the units for the planet locations aren't light years, they range from 0-256 in each dimension.
Does anybody know how big the galaxies are so I can convert the co-ordinates to light years? They're not square so it's not trivial just to measure a bunch of distances and scale them. If nobody knows, I'll have to break out my knowledge of transformation matrices to figure it out and I'd rather not do that, I might hurt my brain.
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 3:28 pm
Have a look here http://www.excessus.demon.co.uk/elite/Cmdr Monte wrote:I've toyed with the idea of writing a route-planner.
and here http://homepages.tesco.net/nemographic/ ... /lara.html
They might help
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 3:28 pm
Thanks.
Thinking about it, the route planning problem is not trivial computationally. If I do write something, I guess I'll just do something that lets you draw the route onto a connectivity diagram. It could then tell you how many jumps and how much time it's likely to take if you don't mess about shouting up pirates or some such on you way.
Thinking about it, the route planning problem is not trivial computationally. If I do write something, I guess I'll just do something that lets you draw the route onto a connectivity diagram. It could then tell you how many jumps and how much time it's likely to take if you don't mess about shouting up pirates or some such on you way.
Yup, that might lead to trouble if you are not well armed...Cmdr Monte wrote:shouting up pirates or some such on you way.
Nah, I like the idea of connectivity maps for the purpose of planning scenarios (oxps), but I must admit that I also like to just find the best routes myself when I'm actually playing...
Author of Tales from the Frontier - official Elite 4 anthology.
Author of Marcan Rayger adventures - unofficial fan-fic novellas set in the Frontier universe.
Author of Marcan Rayger adventures - unofficial fan-fic novellas set in the Frontier universe.
- aegidian
- Master and Commander
- Posts: 1161
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 10:46 pm
- Location: London UK
- Contact:
For the mission creation code I used an A* route-finding algorithm - you could probably use something similar.Cmdr Monte wrote:Thinking about it, the route planning problem is not trivial computationally. If I do write something, I guess I'll just do something that lets you draw the route onto a connectivity diagram. It could then tell you how many jumps and how much time it's likely to take if you don't mess about shouting up pirates or some such on you way.
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 3:28 pm
Which method did it use?aegidian wrote:For the mission creation code I used an A* route-finding algorithm - you could probably use something similar.Cmdr Monte wrote:Thinking about it, the route planning problem is not trivial computationally. If I do write something, I guess I'll just do something that lets you draw the route onto a connectivity diagram. It could then tell you how many jumps and how much time it's likely to take if you don't mess about shouting up pirates or some such on you way.
Edit:
D'oh
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 3:28 pm
aegidian wrote:For the mission creation code I used an A* route-finding algorithm - you could probably use something similar.Cmdr Monte wrote:Thinking about it, the route planning problem is not trivial computationally. If I do write something, I guess I'll just do something that lets you draw the route onto a connectivity diagram. It could then tell you how many jumps and how much time it's likely to take if you don't mess about shouting up pirates or some such on you way.
Progress: