Page 28 of 138

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:08 am
by Thargoid
Could be very useful methinks :)

One small thought that could be a useful extension, if we can not only read missile slots as equipment, but perhaps if awarding equipment to specify which slot it gets awarded to (rather than just the first available).

Thought behind this is that we can then have "proper" pylon mounted re-usable equipment without it wandering all over the pylon mounts. For example on my Missile Rack OXP, as that is basically used and re-awarded with a lower amount of mini-missiles, if it's fired from (for example) pylon 3, when it's re-awarded again it goes back to an earlier pylon if one is available. Only cosmetic I know, but can get a little weird. If we could make a note of which pylon it was on originally (do-able by your code above, although a ship.activePylon (or ship.missileActive or somesuch if you want name consistency) listing which pylon is currently selected might also be useful there) would make it look much better.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:36 am
by Cody
Thargoid wrote:


Thought behind this is that we can then have "proper" pylon mounted re-usable equipment without it wandering all over the pylon mounts. For example on my Missile Rack OXP, as that is basically used and re-awarded with a lower amount of mini-missiles, if it's fired from (for example) pylon 3, when it's re-awarded again it goes back to an earlier pylon if one is available. Only cosmetic I know, but can get a little weird.
I agree strongly with this. I'd like to have a certain weapon always on a certain pylon.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:36 am
by pmw57
El Viejo wrote:
I agree strongly with this. I'd like to have a certain weapon always on a certain pylon.
A certain consistency would be excellent.

Is there any reason why the pylon mounted weapons cannot stay where they are? Added weapons can then fill the empty spaces.

Further development could then allow the player to specify on which individual pylon equipment is to be placed.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:44 am
by Screet
pmw57 wrote:
Is there any reason why the pylon mounted weapons cannot stay where they are? Added weapons can then fill the empty spaces.
Currently the save file only lists the missile types of the player in the order he has them. If the player fires a missile, that slot is empty, thus after save/reload, the remaining missiles fill that slot and leave empty space at the end.

Looks like it would require some "SLOT_EMPTY" info as a placeholder in order to survive load/save.

Screet

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:48 am
by pmw57
Screet wrote:
Looks like it would require some "SLOT_EMPTY" info as a placeholder in order to survive load/save.
That sounds like a good and viable solution.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:21 pm
by Kaks
pmw57 wrote:
I am wondering why missileCapacity is inconsistant across different ships, when missiles seems to be the more appropriate method to use for both player ships and NPC ships as well.
missileCapacity is provided as an extra way for OXPs to find out if they can actually award missile type equipment to the player. If an OXP maker wants more missiles on a particular NPC ship, they can simply create a like_ship with more missiles on board to begin with. But there are some 'features' associated to NPC missiles that might require some code tweaking. If we do that, missileCapacity might well start to be different to missiles.length on NPCs too. Quite a few of these properties are generic, to allow us to add to the game engine without having to change the api.

Pylon positioning: suggestions welcome (on the suggestions board please), will see what's practical/doable!

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:04 pm
by JensAyton
Screet wrote:
Looks like it would require some "SLOT_EMPTY" info as a placeholder in order to survive load/save.
NONE can already be used for this purpose, and is backwards-compatible with 1.65.

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:43 am
by pmw57
Kaks wrote:
pmw57 wrote:
Pylon positioning: suggestions welcome (on the suggestions board please), will see what's practical/doable!
Good idea. It'a up at https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?t=6895

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:23 pm
by another_commander
This is something that I wanted to do for a very long time. Finally, it's in trunk.

This is the Advanced Nav Array as we have known it up to now. It shows the least number of jumps route to destination when you press Shift+6 (^):
Image
This is fine, but for contracts where delivery time matters it is maybe not enough. Well, as of the upcoming 1.74, we will be able to display the time-optimized route to destination on the Advanced Nav Array by pressing also Control at the same time as ^. In the example above, pressing control will switch to time-optimized route and display this:
Image
This should complete the functionality of the Nav Array for now and enable truly efficient route planning, as advertised in the shipyard screen.

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:26 pm
by Svengali
Wow. Nice one, a_c.

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:39 pm
by Cody
Yes A_C, that's excellent.

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:11 pm
by DaddyHoggy
8)

Posted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:05 am
by Chrisfs
A C,
As a passenger carrier, for whom cross galaxy trips can make me 10,000 + cr or not!,
I thank you

:) :D :D :D :D :D

Posted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:36 pm
by pagroove
:D :D 8)

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:13 pm
by Kaks
The colours for the hyperspace jump tunnel can now be changed using the new hyperspace_tunnel_color_1 and hyperspace_tunnel_color_2 keys inside planetinfo.plist

If neither key is present, the hyperspace tunnel will look identical to the docking one.

At the moment, trunk's hyperspace tunnel colours are off-white/blue, (as opposed to pink/blue) - to do that, only one colour redefinition is needed:

Code: Select all

	hyperspace_tunnel_color_1 = (1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.7);		// R, G, B, A values 0.0 to 1.0
.