Page 3 of 3
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:37 am
by Eric Walch
maik wrote:I just ran into this as well (on a certainly fast enough computer). Relevant log excerpt:
Yes, it seems that the code was not interrupted because of the speed, but because of an error.
I just wonder why that command returned 'null'. I anticipated that there would always be a solution. It happens in the selection of a suitable system. I filter a list with all systems were "government < 6" and "range > 5" and "range < 33". I assumed there will always be such a system. Did you find a super safe area in the galaxy, or missed I an other rare exception.
I probably have to add an extra test and create a "no hit mission available" page.
If this is the reason, than it is system specific. In what system/galaxy did this happen, so I can test this further.
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 11:57 am
by maik
I'm in galaxy 7. The weird thing is it already did work prior to yesterday. I thought the same that it could be dependent on the system where I am so I flew to two other anarchies but encountered the same behaviour. I'm away from home for this week so can't tell you the name of the system where I am, but maybe the position that is written in my log excerpt helps you. The other two anarchies are close by.
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 1:13 pm
by Commander McLane
I'd suppose you're close to the great rift, possibly on the wrong side.
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 1:23 pm
by maik
Commander McLane wrote:I'd suppose you're close to the great rift, possibly on the wrong side.
From memory about in the middle of the map (horizontally), a bit to the left of what probably is the great rift, and about 3/4th down from the top...
Edit: I just looked at the vector map and found the systems: Usxela, Esreates, and Esrire.
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 2:11 pm
by Eric Walch
maik wrote:Edit: I just looked at the vector map and found the systems: Usxela, Esreates, and Esrire.
Thanks for looking up. I just tried docking at the bar in Usxela and got the same result as you. So, it is very likely system specific. I'll add a few additional checks to the code. I suspect it can't find a suitable system in the given range. I can create a greater range in those cases, but easier will probably be to say that there is no hit available. I'll see what I come up with.
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 2:17 pm
by maik
Thanks!
Re: Bug produced by trunk + Randomhits
Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 2:44 pm
by Eric Walch
It seems not that there is no system found. Looking in the code I already anticipated that. In that case it selects the current system. I logged the number of suitable target systems. There were enough for all the 3 missions:
Code: Select all
[Random_Hits] OOJSGlobal.m:247: Number of target systems: 38
[Random_Hits] OOJSGlobal.m:247: Number of target systems: 47
[Random_Hits] OOJSGlobal.m:247: Number of target systems: 62
The problem was in
System.infoForSystem().routeToSystem()
. Apparently this has changed between 1.74 and 1.75. If the route to an isolated system was calculated, 1.74 returned an object but with the
distance
property
null
. It seems that 1.75 now returns
null
for such a route.
I thought I explicit tested this with trunk to see if this behavior was unchanged with the new JS implementation. Or I missed something, or there was another change in trunk after my tests.
Anyhow, I now have a working script that deals with this situation.