Page 3 of 24

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:02 am
by CaptKev
@Lestradae, Yes it is, but only in the Lave system at the moment.

@Ahruman, can we use shaders for planets too? **heads off to Wiki to investigate*

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:18 pm
by CaptKev
Kaks wrote:
Hmmm, nice :)
1 down, 1791 to go.
Phew, not that bad then! :D

Weird about the radius difference. I'll see if I can find a simple formula to go from shipdata to script radius...
Hi Kaks, it was my fault! I didn't realise system.mainPlanet.radius was a string. :?

4116 + 1 = 41161 instead of 4117

Code: Select all

var radius = system.mainPlanet.radius + 1;

Does this mean ...

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:23 pm
by Lestradae
Does this mean ...
Hi Kaks, it was my fault! I didn't realise system.mainPlanet.radius was a string.

4116 + 1 = 41161 instead of 4117

Code: Select all

var radius = system.mainPlanet.radius + 1; 
... that it is now possible to texture all the planets in the game again with a simple oxp?

Would you ... can I have it, best, yesterday? :shock:

:?:

L

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:21 pm
by JensAyton
CaptKev wrote:
Hi Kaks, it was my fault! I didn't realise system.mainPlanet.radius was a string. :?
Eh? *looks*

It’s not, you know. However, the radius in planetentity.plist is in tens of metres, while the JavaScript property is in metres. (Or, more precisely, the value in planetentity.plist is in nominal km, but this is scaled down by a factor of 100.) You could verify this by, say, logging the value before you add anything to it. :-)

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:47 pm
by CaptKev
Thanks for the info Ahruman, don't suppose there's a list of planet radii anywhere? :lol:

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:30 pm
by Captain Hesperus
TGHC wrote:
Oh boy, I love this game, and you creative guys are awesome.
Hear, hear! And what's more, we aren't even jealous because we know it benefits the whole community!

Captain Hesperus

Re: Does this mean ...

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:50 pm
by CaptKev
Lestradae wrote:
Does this mean ...
... that it is now possible to texture all the planets in the game again with a simple oxp?
L
I don't know about a simple OXP (then again, it is me doing it!) because it will still require a large number on entries in the planetinfo.plist

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:55 pm
by JensAyton
CaptKev wrote:
Thanks for the info Ahruman, don't suppose there's a list of planet radii anywhere? :lol:
It appears that naturally-occurring planets have radii of the from (x + 11) * 2560 metres, where x is a number from 0 to 15. Only 16 variants to deal with, in other words. Sythetic additives may cause planets of semi-arbitrary size.

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:51 am
by CaptKev
That's fantastic news Ahruman :D (I was expecting every planet to have a different size), thanks very much for looking this information up for me.

Question

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:17 am
by Lestradae
Just asking if I understand this.

So, a planet texturing oxp would actually have to do the following three steps:

1. Change the position of the (main) planet from position = "pwm X Y Z" to position = "pwm 0 0 0".

2. Read out which of the 16 radius variants the given main planet has.

3. Have 16 different planet textures ready (for variety, and the "variation seed" is already there via the 16 possible radii) and create the planet surface via second planet which is, say, 50 metres bigger in diameter than the system-specific (x + 11) * 2560 metres (x=0 to 15)

Done. 8)

Am I right?

:idea:

L

PS: Two further questions.

* Will the atmosphere stay on after the second planet was put onto the first?

* And, most importantly, will all system-specific objects still be in valid positions after moving the planet to position = "pwm 0 0 0"?

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:37 am
by CaptKev
Hi Lestradae, as far as I can tell the planet position is already at 'pwm 0 0 0'.

I have it working using the Earth.png with 16 different radius variants. Rather than just randomly selecting what texture gets used for each planet I would prefer to try and match it to how the 'textured planet' branch worked.

I did get it working with the atmosphere but the clouds looked a bit silly (and square) against the textured planet.

If you want to do this OXP instead of me, go right ahead (I'm sure your do a better job of it than I ever could!).

Re: Question

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:40 am
by Kaks
Lestradae wrote:
Just asking if I understand this.

1. Change the position of the (main) planet from position = "pwm X Y Z" to position = "pwm 0 0 0".
Err, a bit of a misunderstanding there. The definition of pwm is that the planet is at "pwm 0 0 0" no need to move planets around.

and for each texture you need to have 16 variations, all identical planets, apart from the radius.

If you're happy for all the planets in the ooniverse to look like earth, all you need is 1 texture. Of course it would be nice to have 4-5 different earthlike textures, to relieve the monotony.

Alles klar Kumpel? :) (sorry, couldn't resist a bit of german.)

edit: beaten by Capt. Kev, must type faster! :D

Erm ...

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:54 am
by Lestradae
Hye!
If you want to do this OXP instead of me, go right ahead (I'm sure your do a better job of it than I ever could!).
Eh ... no. It`s not that I wouldn`t like to, but I can`t. There is a future idea that is spinning in my head, but for that, I`ll need help from the harald.ist.org guy who helped me create my Realistic Shipyards OXP`s additional ships and a friend of ours who works professionally as a graphics man and a few months time. The Solar Systems OXP. But I don`t know yet if I´ll really try.

But I digress. As is usual with me :oops:

No, please, by all means, do it. My nudging comments are more to the point that I would REALLY like nicely textured planets. For me (and, I think, many other players of Oolite) them being in or not raises or lowers the atmosphere factor by, well, about five.

So, bottom line, PLEASE just go ahead, and if you do, I will cheer you all the way and be the first to congratulate afterwards :D

Hoping for textured planets still :idea:

L

EDIT: Ah, yes, @Kaks: Guten Morgen! :)

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:59 am
by CaptKev
I was hoping you were going to say, Yes :wink:

Here's the texture for the second version of Earth:

Image

plannnnnnets

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 am
by Lestradae
I was hoping you were going to say, Yes
As I said, I would like to, but that is currently far beyond my skills.
Here's the texture for the second version of Earth:
Very, very cool!

Hm, are you going to make it? Because, it doesn`t seem so complicated if one knows how to script that, is it?

I mean, take the system information, alter the coordinate system, create an accordingly shaped planetary condom (TM), accumulate 16 textures and let Oolite add this new "planet" over the old one into the system. Which of the sixteen, just let the radius info decide. Done.

Is that so?

If I knew how to do it, I`ll get right on to it ... but I can`t :(

Hopeful greetings :D

L