Page 16 of 24

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:25 pm
by pagroove
I hope the texturing was not all for nothing. So I hope this OXP could become the best of both worlds namely: procedural textures, some randomized with the current set and finally to top it off some hard coded systems that are famous like Lave, Vetice (Corolius factory). And of course the OXP-coded plantets that are already part of a OXP should not be touched. Or am I asking to much? 8) :D :shock: :roll:

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:17 am
by Hoopy
i agree with you pagroove :)

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:25 am
by CaptKev
I think I've fixed all the glitches with the planets but I still haven't found a way of making the default planet black.

Code: Select all

"universal" = {
   "percent_land" = "100";
   "land_hsb_color" = "0 0 0 1.0";
};

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:33 am
by Kaks
Probably wrong idea, but have you tried:

Code: Select all

"universal" = {
   "percent_land" = "100";
   "land_hsb_color" = "0.01 0.01 0.01 1.0";
};

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:09 am
by CaptKev
Hi Kaks, yes I've tried all combinations imaginable, but to no avail.

Only "0.??? 1.0 1.0 1.0" appears to work (where ??? is a value from 111 to 999)

I might have to just move the planet a great distance away then back again, but it would be much easier to just black-it out.

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:00 pm
by ovvldc
CaptKev wrote:
I might have to just move the planet a great distance away then back again, but it would be much easier to just black-it out.
Why are you blacking out a planet?

I suspect you are trying to hide the main planet and replace with one of your own textured ones. Isn't there a way to texture the main planet directly, or perhaps it would be wise to wait until OOlite allows you to do this..

Best wishes,
Oscar

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:15 pm
by CaptKev
I have to use the functions shipLaunchedFromStation and didExitWitchSpace to avoid the translucent planet bug, unfortunately you see the original planet for a few seconds which I would like to hide.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:59 am
by Commander McLane
Could the inability to make the planet black have something to do with Ahruman disabling the use of dark colors for lasers? I don't find the thread right now, but you may remember this. He did something so that alpha(?)-values below 0.5(?) are ignored.

I think this is supposed to affect only laser colors, but perhaps it had some other, unplanned consequences as well?

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 7:39 am
by CaptKev
Commander McLane, this sounds like it could be related to the problem, I'll have a dig around the forums to see if I can locate some more info.

Cheers Kev

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:25 am
by Kaks
CaptKev, I've added a planet.setTexture('something.png') in trunk and it seems to do the job, without any major side effects. If you can compile from source, it would be great if you can have a look at it. It's only intended for use while the player is launching from stations and/or emerging from witchspace, and it will only work if it's called - directly or indirectly - from either this.shipWillExitWitchspace or this.shipWillLaunchFromStation.

My own modified system_redux seems to work well with the new function and - so far - it's looking good! Of course, more testing is needed.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:44 am
by CaptKev
That's fantastic news, brilliant work Kaks. :D I'll download the source and do a bit of testing.

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:53 pm
by CaptKev
I've been play testing System Redux for a couple of hours without a single glitch, this modification makes re-texturing a planet so much faster and easier.

Great job Kaks!

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:17 pm
by Kaks
Good to know it's working as planned! :)

Oops, time to get back to the day job...

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:21 pm
by pagroove
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8) 8) 8) :D :D

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:35 pm
by pagroove
How is this project going? It's a bit quiet here 8)