Page 14 of 16
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:05 am
by Eric Walch
Ahruman wrote:This probably means that the script has a
stale stored reference to a ship.
Very likely in this case. It is not enough to change:
Code: Select all
this.requestTarget = function ()
{
this.ship.target = worldScripts.buoyRepair.viperTarget;
this.ship.reactToAIMessage("GRS_TARGET_RECEIVED");
}
into
Code: Select all
this.requestTarget = function ()
{
if (worldScripts.buoyRepair.viperTarget && worldScripts.buoyRepair.viperTarget.isValid)
{
this.ship.target = worldScripts.buoyRepair.viperTarget;
this.ship.reactToAIMessage("GRS_TARGET_RECEIVED");
}
}
With only this change the viper will hang with a stale target, so it needs also a failure message and an AI change to react on it.
With 1.74 and earlier there were never errors in the log as far as I remember. The target became just nil. For the buoyRepair 1.3 release I added a lot of explicit checks for valid ships. Somehow this slipped through. But, besides a filled up logfile, will the player not notice anything wrong. It will be corrected in any future release.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:56 pm
by Eric Walch
Speaking about Vipers. The GRS station is a civil station that is supposed to not contain fighters. When it is attacked, it only send out some of its utility ships to defend the station. But, at the same time they send a distress signal to a police station on the planet surface. Police ships are spawned near the surface and start rushing upwards to the station. On arrival they receive their target to hunt down.
After finishing of the target, they go down to the planet to land in their bases. In most cases this proved to be faster than sending vipers from the main station.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:08 pm
by JazHaz
Does anyone know if this OXP is working under Oolite v1.75.3?
I've been destroying normal witchspace beacons but have not yet seen any GRS ships jump in to replace the beacons. I have seen the GRS stations in some high tech systems.
I do have a couple of OXPs installed that do/may replace beacons, namely YAH and System Redux(?). Not seen any errors in my log however.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:06 pm
by Svengali
JazHaz wrote:Does anyone know if this OXP is working under Oolite v1.75.3?
I've been destroying normal witchspace beacons but have not yet seen any GRS ships jump in to replace the beacons. I have seen the GRS stations in some high tech systems.
I do have a couple of OXPs installed that do/may replace beacons, namely YAH and System Redux(?). Not seen any errors in my log however.
At least for me it is working. And buoyRepair does not replace buoys from other OXPs yet.
If you destroy a standard buoy the replacement should pop in within the next two minutes.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:15 am
by JazHaz
Svengali wrote:
JazHaz wrote:Does anyone know if this OXP is working under Oolite v1.75.3?
I've been destroying normal witchspace beacons but have not yet seen any GRS ships jump in to replace the beacons. I have seen the GRS stations in some high tech systems.
I do have a couple of OXPs installed that do/may replace beacons, namely YAH and System Redux(?).
At least for me it is working. And buoyRepair does not replace buoys from other OXPs yet.
If you destroy a standard buoy the replacement should pop in within the next two minutes.
I tried removing YAH and can report that the OXP then worked as normal. Does YAH replace the normal buoys with its own? I know that it replaces buoys with ads, but are the non-ad buoys replacements?
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:44 pm
by Eric Walch
JazHaz wrote:I tried removing YAH and can report that the OXP then worked as normal. Does YAH replace the normal buoys with its own? I know that it replaces buoys with ads, but are the non-ad buoys replacements?
All the replacement buoys use the same role that buoyRepair checks. So it does not matter which oxp added those buoys, if one is missing a repair ship should arrive within 2 minutes. (the oxp only checks every 2 minutes if the buoy is still in place)
Only replacing the main station buoy does no longer work in trunk. That is because the size check now correctly takes subentities in account. And the buoy itself is actually to big for a standard port. So with the next Oolite release we will update buoyRepair in a way that it still can replace the station buoy.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:33 pm
by JazHaz
Will keep an eye on it and let you know if it does work.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:22 am
by JazHaz
No, it seems it is working. I've noticed that several times the beacon towing ships jump in quite a way from the original beacon point, often a couple of scanner distances away. I've been monitoring my ASC, for the W beacon to reappear.
I thought that originally they would jump in right by the original beacon point, which led me to believe it wasn't working.
Sorry for any worry caused!
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:20 pm
by Eric Walch
Just a reminder for me:
Version 1.3 is not fully compatible with Oolite 1.76. Reason is that the buoy is actually slightly bigger than a standard dock and since 1.76 the size of the whole ship including subentities is taken into account when deciding if a ship fits the dock. This only effects the the ship that must launch to replace the 'N' buoy.
However, a fixed version is already prepared a few months back and will probably be released in the near future.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:54 am
by Micha
How did you fix it?
Is the buoy repair ship jumping into the system now to deliver the new buoy (or launching from the GRS Station if there is one in-system), or did you work out a workaround for the port size?
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:09 am
by Eric Walch
Micha wrote:How did you fix it?
Is the buoy repair ship jumping into the system now to deliver the new buoy (or launching from the GRS Station if there is one in-system), or did you work out a workaround for the port size?
Its a dirty cheat. Instead of the ship with buoy, I now launch a ship without buoy. That ship passes the size check and on the launch handler, the launching ship is removed and replaced with one with the buoy. The player won't see any difference
When looking carefully, you see that the buoy is stil a bit to big for the port but that is after the ship already passed the checks.
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:59 pm
by DaddyHoggy
So we need an animated buoy that unfolds as its launched behind the ship?
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:29 pm
by JazHaz
DaddyHoggy wrote:So we need an animated buoy that unfolds as its launched behind the ship?
That would be cool. A thought I had was simpler - perhaps making the buoys smaller, so they fit in the docking bay?
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:53 pm
by Kaks
Nope, we
must have the animated version! Wouldn't expect anything less from the illustrious GRS!
Ok, not must, but it would be nice to have!
Re: GRS buoyRepair.oxp
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:23 pm
by Eric Walch
Kaks wrote:Nope, we
must have the animated version! Wouldn't expect anything less from the illustrious GRS!
Ok, not must, but it would be nice to have!
It was my first though of solving the problem by making an unfolding buoy. Thant I got the idea that doing it by cheating also might work. It was bouyRepair oxp that started with entity switching in the first place. so the cheat was just a continuation of existing code. I'll see if I can break up the buoy model in two pieces with wingz and make it 'unfolding'