Page 13 of 24

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:21 am
by ovvldc
I'd go for slightly smaller poles :). And not every planet has them. Depends on temperature (duh).

-Oz

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:25 am
by Hoopy
the size of the poles etc is easy to configure. And the presence (and colour) of poles will depend on what the ocean is made of :)

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:47 am
by JensAyton
ovvldc wrote:
I'd go for slightly smaller poles :). And not every planet has them. Depends on temperature (duh).
I discur. All planets have poles. Some also have ice caps. :-)

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:07 am
by Hoopy
somebody's wide awake this morning :)

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:36 am
by ovvldc
Yeah, and it isn't me... :oops:

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:16 am
by CaptKev
I've only specified the home planet textures for galaxy one so far, but if you would like to give it a try, you can download it here (6,192Kb)

Let me know what you think.

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:01 pm
by Star Gazer
Well, I've tried out some of galaxy one's textures, and I have to say they are looking extremely good. But... ...there are some problems...

1) I'm getting some really nasty artefacts when approaching Isinor, involving rapidly oscillating triangular structures all over the planet's surface...
...enough to make you really disorientated when you emerge from the station!!! :shock: (I can post you an image showing the effects, it isn't nice!)

2) Also I am bemused by the number of planets and moons now apparent at any one time. This would be great if it weren't for the perspective which makes their relative sizes nonsensical. Shame...

3) There is a distinct pause(<1sec) as you enter a new system and the planets appear first in their original form, then get retextured. I would have thought my system is sufficiently fast to avoid this??

I don't know how much of these problems are due to my particular system: Mac Pro 2 x Quad core 2.8GHz Xeon, 8GB RAM, ATI HD2600, OSX 10.5.2

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:06 pm
by CaptKev
Thanks for the feedback Star Gazer

1) I'm getting the same effect at Isinor, leave it with me I'll look in to it.

2) I've been thinking about making the gas giants radius a bit smaller, but for now just comment out the calls to addMoons and addPlanets to remove them completely.

3) I get a slight delay too if it really becomes annoying try using the 256 x 128 pixel textures instead.

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:14 pm
by Kaks
1) It's the interference patterns of two (or more ) planet textures overlapping. CaptKev, you could use the this.done method I used in farsun to avoid creating planets on top of each other.

2) I suppose you could tweak the planets distance, if you feel strongly about it.

3) [edit] It's quite annoying when restarting a savegame...[/edit] I've tried changing the triggering event to this.shipWillLaunchFromStation, but if I do that the new planet texture is somehow translucent... strange...

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:42 pm
by Star Gazer
OK. Good to see you chaps on the ball so quickly. :wink:

I suspect the retexturing delays would really need a little revamping of the Oolite engine , so that the planet was actually prepared during the witchspace transit ready to display as you exit; similarly when leaving the station, that could be made ready during your transactions.

It's probably a good candidate for multi-threaded processing!

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:00 pm
by CaptKev
Kaks wrote:
3) [edit] It's quite annoying when restarting a savegame...[/edit] I've tried changing the triggering event to this.shipWillLaunchFromStation, but if I do that the new planet texture is somehow translucent... strange...
I couldn't figure out why I got the translucent planets when using shipWillLaunchFromStation and willExitWitchSpace either, but it did give me an idea about adding clouds using a transparent texture with faster rotation.

I tried the technique you used in FarSun Kaks, but unfortunately it didn't help.

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:20 pm
by pagroove
Oolite is looking better and better! Compliments for that!
Agree with the remark that moons should be further away OR smaller

Image 8) 8)

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:37 pm
by Ace Garp
Overall, I think these planet textures look absolutely beautiful, and definitely enhance the 'realism' of the game.

I agree that the other planets and moons do look too close to one another, but if they were spread out too much, we'd never really get to see them!

Well done CaptKev, and all of the other texture creators - and thanks ;-)

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:13 am
by pagroove
Wow man,

I just did about 6 jumps, and this oxp makes me want to explore what is in the next system. I can now give a more 'balanced' commentary:

- Moons of the main planet are at a reasonable (good) distance.
- Other planets are too near and should be further out or simply scaled down or have Gas textures on them. This is because some of these planet look far bigger than the main planet and distract (in a nice way) from the main planet
- I have the graphic 'bug' at every planet when I exit the station. Has this something to do with shaders?? It's a bit annoying.
- The textured planets don't show up in the planet screen. This is a bit of a shame. I suppose that not much can be done about that a.t.m.?
Is it possible to remove the main planet anyway and have only your shell around the main planet??

Now some 'hard' coded planets like Lave. So you could have Tourist destinations. I want to make some if you like.

It made me also think about future possibilities like inter-system travel. For example from planet 1 to 2. Or mining on a moon.

8)

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:45 am
by CaptKev
Moving the original planet stops the flickering etc. but the compass doesn't point to the correct location.

Thanks for all the support/feedback everyone, it's nice to know I'm heading in the right direction! :D

Code: Select all

this.multiple=10;

this.startUp = function()
{
	Log("Initialising OXP " + this.name);
	this.systemDone=false;
}

this.reset = function()
{
	this.systemDone=false;
}

this.movePlanet = function()
{
	let p = system.mainPlanet;
	if(p)	p.setPosition(p.position.add(p.position.subtract(system.sun.position)).multiply(this.multiple));
	this.systemDone=true;
}

this.shipWillLaunchFromStation = function()
{
	addMoons();
	addPlanets();
//	addGriffExtra();
	homePlanet();

	if(!this.systemDone) this.movePlanet();
}

this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function()
{

	addMoons();
	addPlanets();
//	addGriffExtra();
	homePlanet();
	this.movePlanet();
}