Page 118 of 119
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 9:05 pm
by hiran
Whohoo! Another finding!
There is a way to retrieve a sorted dictionary already! Dictionary? Sorted? Well, that's what it seems to be...
https://github.com/OoliteProject/oolite ... y.m#L12854
I would so much like to see a unit test that verifies the list is sorted. To be run on all the operating systems we compile on.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 9:08 pm
by Wildeblood
hiran wrote: ↑Fri Oct 25, 2024 8:39 pm
Could it be that a dictionary internally ends up to be a hashmap and therefore the sequence is not predictable? Could we change this to some container that preserves a sequence? As soon as it does, sorting can be applied...
I think you're barking up a dead tree, hiran. If world scripts were sorted into a consistent, predictable order what good would result? I'd predict a lot of scripts named "AAA my script", etc.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 9:17 pm
by hiran
Wildeblood wrote: ↑Fri Oct 25, 2024 9:08 pm
hiran wrote: ↑Fri Oct 25, 2024 8:39 pm
Could it be that a dictionary internally ends up to be a hashmap and therefore the sequence is not predictable? Could we change this to some container that preserves a sequence? As soon as it does, sorting can be applied...
I think you're barking up a dead tree, hiran. If world scripts were sorted into a consistent, predictable order what good would result? I'd predict a lot of scripts named "AAA my script", etc.
The use case was made some posts above in this thread. I see that case legit.
What would you suggest to get around that in a meaningful way?
Be aware your example assumes everybody wants to be first. But then you forget the authors that do not care, and the authors that just want to be before a specific script but by no means the first. If all this imposes problems we can still come up with rules. Currently there is no consistent sorting so the scripts live in kind of anarchy.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2024 11:56 am
by LittleBear
I'm a bit stuck with doing a simple loop to remove all the missiles from the player's pylon. This is used in a mission screen as the player is required to explore a station on foot using the mission screen as a 'choose your own adventure' style text adventure and having solved the text adventure, the player loads up on a special type of missile stored at the base which will be used in the next mission to destroy a particular target which is immune to normal weapons. So, I want to remove all the players missiles (if any are on the pylons) and replace them with the special missiles.
For removing I've got:
Code: Select all
this.assassins_missileloadup = function assassins_missileloadup() {
var loop = player.ship.missiles;
var i = 0;
if (loop.length !== 0) {
for (i = 0; i < loop.length; i++) {
var eq = player.ship.missiles[i].equipmentKey;
player.ship.removeEquipment(eq);
}
}
return;
// Closeing Bracket for Missile Load Up Function.
}
This kinda works, but it is only looping twice (and removing 2 missiles) when I have 4 on my pylons. I can't see what it wrong with the loop as it is correctly setting the loop variable to the number of missiles I have, but the loop is only run twice. Can anyone see something obviously wrong with it?
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2024 12:21 pm
by another_commander
Assume you have this pylon configuration (HH = Hard Head, QM = Quirium Mine):
Your loop length is 4 as correctly identified. Now check what happens to this array as your loop executes:
Iteration #1 (i = 0): We are removing the item at index 0 of the loop array. What remains is this:
The array has been re-indexed after removal of the first element. Now observe what happens when we go into iteration #2 (loop index is now 1, so we remove element at index 1 of the
current array):
Our updated array is now indexed as above, after removal of the q-mine which was taking the place at index #1 earlier. Now, one more attempt at removal, this time with index #2:
Code: Select all
ERROR - No index 2 exists anymore!
And of course index #3 which would be the next and final loop iteration, does not exist either. That's why you are failing after two attempts. I have not tested this, but I would expect that simply removing the item at index 0 on every loop iteration should be enough. So this line:
Code: Select all
var eq = player.ship.missiles[i].equipmentKey;
should become
Code: Select all
var eq = player.ship.missiles[0].equipmentKey;
This way items are removed only from one end of the array. This will execute as many times as pylon weapons exist, so hopefully you should have no problem anymore.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2024 1:00 pm
by LittleBear
Thanks. That worked perfectly and I'm now missileless. I should be able to award the special missiles with the same loop but this time with loop set to the player.ship.missileCapacity and awarding them instead of removing them.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2024 1:04 pm
by Wildeblood
LittleBear wrote: ↑Tue Dec 17, 2024 1:00 pm
Thanks. That worked perfectly and I'm now missileless. I should be able to award the special missiles with the same loop but this time with loop set to the player.ship.missileCapacity and awarding them instead of removing them.
Um. The way to become missile-less is to awardEquipment() the missile removal equipment item (EQ_REMOVE_MISSILES ???) and let Oolite take care of all the details.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2024 1:21 pm
by LittleBear
It's cos in terms of the 'story' the player is meant to be outside their ship in a space suit exploring the station as the main power and life support have failed. As there's no power and the inhabitants are all dead, there's no way to use the ship yard. As part of the text adventure the player has to physically unload their missiles and manually fit the missiles themselves once they have found the stockpile. So I want to do the awarding as part of the mission screen rather than the player going to the F3 screen and loading themselves up with the remove / buy missile options as the shipyard shouldn't be useable in the creepy abandoned station.
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2024 3:30 pm
by Wildeblood
Okay, but whether you use awardEquipment() in a mission screen callback function is irrelevant to whether the player has access to the F3 screen. You're using removeEquipment() in your script posted above.
So, to unload 4 missiles, you want the player to click on "unload a missile" four times? Looking at what you posted, it appears to loop through the pylons array and delete them all with a single activation. If the intention is to delete them all at once, I would have tried something like this first:-
Code: Select all
var temp = player.credits;
player.ship.awardEquipment(EQ_MISSILE_REMOVAL); // Check the proper eq name?
player.credits = temp;
What have I misunderstood about what you're doing?

Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Tue Jan 21, 2025 8:27 pm
by Phasted
I'm wracking my brains and coming up empty...
How do I get a reference to a non-worldScript script? I want to be able to address/modify a market script from functions in my worldScript... It might seem silly, but I think it's kind of important... and I'd like to avoid tossing any garbage into the global space if it's at all possible...
Can this be done? Am I typing out of my ass here?
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2025 7:59 pm
by Wildeblood
Phasted wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 8:27 pm
How do I get a reference to a non-worldScript script?
AFAIK, you can only read or write world scripts and ship scripts. And, only specific instances of a ship script once you've got a reference to a particular ship.
Someone tell me I'm wrong, and equipment scripts and market scripts can be modified. Please.

Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2025 6:45 pm
by Cholmondely
Wildeblood wrote: ↑Wed Jan 22, 2025 7:59 pm
Phasted wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 8:27 pm
How do I get a reference to a non-worldScript script?
AFAIK, you can only read or write world scripts and ship scripts. And, only specific instances of a ship script once you've got a reference to a particular ship.
Any chance of somebody explaining to this dumb pilot why this matters?
I do notice in my playing that the various "new" SWEconomy commodites (Oxygen, Medicine, Water) seem missing from some of the OXP stations. But not Quirium Crystal (Montana's resource pack).
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2025 7:05 pm
by Wildeblood
Cholmondely wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 6:45 pm
Wildeblood wrote: ↑Wed Jan 22, 2025 7:59 pm
AFAIK, you can only read or write world scripts and ship scripts. And, only specific instances of a ship script once you've got a reference to a particular ship.
Any chance of somebody explaining to this dumb pilot why this matters?
Because, since Oolite 1.82, markets are defined in javascript files. (Ask me how I know.

) And, presumably, sometimes people feel those "market scripts" are less than optimal, and would modify them if they could:
Phasted wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 8:27 pmI want to be able to address/modify a market script from functions in my worldScript... It might seem silly, but I think it's kind of important...
I fear I've misconstrued your query, my friend, because I do not see what needs to be answered. Phasted has asked if something can be done, and I've answered honestly that I believe not, but would be pleased if I were wrong. Why would it need to "matter"?
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2025 7:19 pm
by Cholmondely
I
did receive this in a PM quite some time ago:
If I were to offer one suggestion: cim and stranger and whoever else is working on Econ-modifying OXPs should agree on a couple of common objects -- notably a read/write "commodities" object -- to which every OXP can refer. If all of the OXPs can agree on a few common items (or if the development gang could put such objects into the global space), it might help to minimize the mutual crotch-kicking that plagues all of these OXPs... A "helper" OXP providing these common objects and methods might not be a bad idea... [

]
Re: Scripters cove
Posted: Fri Jan 31, 2025 7:28 am
by Phasted
Phasted wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 8:27 pm
I'd like to avoid tossing any garbage into the global space if it's at all possible...
I'm reluctant to do it, but here's what I'm thinking:
Code: Select all
// ...in the worldScript (outside of any function...)
if(!OXP){var OXP = {};} // creates an "OXP" object in the global space
OXP.JEM = {}; // A "JEM" object as a property of "OXP", claiming a chunk of the OXP object for myself (JEM -- my initials).
OXP.JEM.RLE = {}; // An "RLE" object to provide a home for everything "Real-life Economics"-related...
// ... then in the market script (or whatever other script to which I need a reference)
OXP.JEM.RLE.someCleverlyNamedProperty = this;
I can then refer to that script from any other script... as can anyone else from any script in any OXP...
Anybody else who wants a piece of the action can attach their own JEM-equivalent object to "OXP" and have at it!
One little object in the global space isn't really such a big deal, right?
