Do you have a world-script in Config making a reference to this script? If not, then that is the reason you cannot see anything happening.Smivs wrote:It's in a folder called 'Scripts' in the .oxp folder.another_commander wrote:What exactly do you do with the script posted earlier? How exactly do you apply it in the game?Smivs wrote:Any thoughts on my witchpoint pirates, anyone?
TG 2 OXP
Moderators: winston, another_commander
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Ah Thanks, I think I know how to do that...I'll have a go.another_commander wrote:Do you have a world-script in Config making a reference to this script? If not, then that is the reason you cannot see anything happening.
Edit:-
Who-hooo, all the pirates I could ever want. (I must be MAD!)
Very many thanks
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Next problem....my team of crack test pilots like the pirate blockade, but don't think it should be every single planet, and I agree with this.
I would only like the blockade at Industrial worlds (economy >4), and stable governments (say govt type <3).
Also I currently have 2 scripts, one for pirates and one for police. I want them to appear together (police attempting to break the blockade). How do I merge these into one script, with the govt/economy conditions?
This is what I've got so far:-
and
I can't see that this should be hard to do, but I'm lost with JS as you know. Thanks for any help.
I would only like the blockade at Industrial worlds (economy >4), and stable governments (say govt type <3).
Also I currently have 2 scripts, one for pirates and one for police. I want them to appear together (police attempting to break the blockade). How do I merge these into one script, with the govt/economy conditions?
This is what I've got so far:-
Code: Select all
// Configuration -- customize here
this.role = "pirate";
this.count = 5;
// Standard attributes
this.name = "Spawn-" + this.role;
this.author = "Jens Ayton";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0.1";
this.description = "Script to make several ships of a given role appear at the witchpoint after every jump."
this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role, this.count, player.ship.position, 10000);
}
Code: Select all
// Configuration -- customize here
this.role = "police";
this.count = 3;
// Standard attributes
this.name = "Spawn-" + this.role;
this.author = "Jens Ayton";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0.1";
this.description = "Script to make several ships of a given role appear at the witchpoint after every jump."
this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role, this.count, player.ship.position, 20000);
}
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
- curtsibling
- Dangerous
- Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:19 am
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
TG2 looks like fun! I'm glad I bought a caddy - I think the damage control node might be needed!
***Ship Log***
Ship:Caduceus Omega - Invidious Domain
Legal:Clean
Rating:Dangerous
Location: G1
Ship:Caduceus Omega - Invidious Domain
Legal:Clean
Rating:Dangerous
Location: G1
- Cody
- Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
- Posts: 16081
- Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
- Location: The Lizard's Claw
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Yeah, fun is one word for it... on a test cruise last night, 13 kills cost me over 30k in repair bills, when I finally limped into the station.curtsibling wrote:TG2 looks like fun!
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Smivs: Try with this (note: not tested):
Code: Select all
// Configuration -- customize here
this.role1 = "pirate";
this.count1 = 5;
this.role2 = "police";
this.count2 = 3;
// Standard attributes
this.name = "Spawn-" + this.role;
this.author = "Jens Ayton";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0.1";
this.description = "Script to make several ships of a given role appear at the witchpoint after every jump."
this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function()
{
if (system.economy > 4 && system.government < 3)
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 10000);
system.addShips(this.role2, this.count2, player.ship.position, 10000);
}
}
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
BTW, if you’re using that script for something other than testing a custom ship role, you should change “this.name” to something unique.
E-mail: [email protected]
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Thanks AC, but it's not working. I'm getting this log error
Edit:- It's OK, I think I've fixed it. There was a missing semi-colon after
I'll give it a good test later, but early indicators are it's working well. Thanks again.
@ Ahruman, any name? Blockade?
[loading.complete]: ========== Loading complete. ==========
[script.javaScript.warning.undefinedProp]: ----- JavaScript warning (blockade_script.js.anon-script): reference to undefined property this.role
[script.javaScript.warning.undefinedProp]: /home/smivses/.Oolite/AddOns/ToughGuys Armageddon.oxp/Scripts/blockade_script.js, line 8.
Edit:- It's OK, I think I've fixed it. There was a missing semi-colon after
Code: Select all
if (system.economy > 4 && system.government < 3)
@ Ahruman, any name? Blockade?
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
No, it is wrong having a semicolon at the end of that line. Unless JavaScript is different to C in that regard, a semicolon's presence there will generate buggy behaviour. I suggest you restart with Shift down.Smivs wrote:Edit:- It's OK, I think I've fixed it. There was a missing semi-colon afterCode: Select all
if (system.economy > 4 && system.government < 3)
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
This is weird!
Without the semicolon it doesn't work and I get the log error shown above.
With the semicolon it seems to work but I get the same log error.
Tested both times with cache cleared.
Without the semicolon it doesn't work and I get the log error shown above.
With the semicolon it seems to work but I get the same log error.
Tested both times with cache cleared.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Please post blockade_script.js.
- CheeseRedux
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 827
- Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:50 pm
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Just as a bit of lateral thinking here: If you want to take your control even further, you could go down the route of the infamous Zaonce/Eagle2 planetinfo.plist. More work, certainly, but it'd allow you to make certain areas be infested with your blockades while others are clear.Smivs wrote:Next problem....my team of crack test pilots like the pirate blockade, but don't think it should be every single planet, and I agree with this.
I would only like the blockade at Industrial worlds (economy >4), and stable governments (say govt type <3).
(Of course, combining the two could be even more powerful: You'd get your guys at all worlds that fit the bill, and in addition they'd be added to the 'special selected' worlds.)
"Actually this is a common misconception... I do *not* in fact have a lot of time on my hands at all! I just have a very very very very bad sense of priorities."
--Dean C Engelhardt
--Dean C Engelhardt
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
Just done some more testing...without the semicolon the script seems to be loading, but it's not working in the sense that no pirates/police are appearing. I've tried this at
Poor Industrial Corporate (where I would expect the blockade)
Poor Agricultural Feudal (where I would not expect one)
Poor Industrial Feudal (not sure about this one - industrial should trigger a blockade, Feudal shouldn't)
The script is the one you supplied, renamed thus
The relevant log entry for the above is
where WitchpointBlockade is the last script listed. This was with cache cleared, and checked that world_scripts.plist is correct for the script.
Poor Industrial Corporate (where I would expect the blockade)
Poor Agricultural Feudal (where I would not expect one)
Poor Industrial Feudal (not sure about this one - industrial should trigger a blockade, Feudal shouldn't)
The script is the one you supplied, renamed thus
Code: Select all
// Configuration -- customize here
this.role1 = "pirate";
this.count1 = 5;
this.role2 = "police";
this.count2 = 3;
// Standard attributes
this.name = "WitchpointBlockade";
this.author = "Jens Ayton";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0.1";
this.description = "Script to make several ships of a given role appear at the witchpoint after every jump."
this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function()
{
if (system.economy > 4 && system.government < 3)
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 10000);
system.addShips(this.role2, this.count2, player.ship.position, 10000);
}
}
The relevant log entry for the above is
Code: Select all
[loading.complete]: ========== Loading complete. ==========
[script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 23 world scripts:
assassins
behemoth 2.5.4
Furball 1.0 alpha 1
GalNavy Build 0139
hofd GalNavy Build 118 / HOFD Build 55
IR-defences.js 1.0
IR-finance.js 1.0
IR-main-script.js 1.0
IR-SDF.js 1.0
IR-shipment.js 1.0
IronHide Armour Script 1.01
oolite-cloaking-device 1.74.2
oolite-constrictor-hunt 1.74.2
oolite-nova 1.74.2
oolite-thargoid-plans 1.74.2
oolite-trumbles 1.74.2
Pi-Forty-Two Con stores 4.1.4
Random_Hits 1.4.6
Repair system 2.0
rockHermit_Locator 1.3.3
stellarSerpents_masterScript.js 1.00
System Redux 1.2 1.2
WitchpointBlockade 1.0.1
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
The specs seem to be somewhat wrong. Industrial worlds have economy < 4 and stable governments should be above 3. The list of enumerations for the two attributes are as follows:Smivs wrote:I would only like the blockade at Industrial worlds (economy >4), and stable governments (say govt type <3).
economy =
(
"Rich Industrial",
"Average Industrial",
"Poor Industrial",
"Mainly Industrial",
"Mainly Agricultural",
"Rich Agricultural",
"Average Agricultural",
"Poor Agricultural"
);
government =
(
"Anarchy",
"Feudal",
"Multi-Government",
"Dictatorship",
"Communist",
"Confederacy",
"Democracy",
"Corporate State"
);
Enumeration starts at 0 for the first element, 1 for the second, etc.
As for the error you are getting, something else is wrong. I checked the script as printed above on my system and got the blockade at a system that fulfilled the conditions. The fact that it is looking for this.role, when inside the script only this.role1 and this.role2 are mentioned seems strange.
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: WIP - ToughGuys 2
So I've got my 'greaterthan' and ' lessthan' the wrong way round. Doh. This explains why I was chuffed to get a grade 4 CSE maths.
I'll sort that out and have another go. Thanks for your patience.
I'll sort that out and have another go. Thanks for your patience.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.