Page 2 of 2

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:33 pm
by Cody
Killer Wolf wrote:
This hasn't happened before and it only seems to have happened once but at the same time i'm 90% sure i got a flying-in-reverse ship, cos a viper appeared at great speed and his engine plume was on the wrong side for his direction of travel
This reminded me of an escape capsule I scooped a while back (dev version 1.75.0.3934)... it wasn't flying backwards exactly, but it looked most odd:

Image

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:44 pm
by Thargoid
To go back to KW's scripting question - spawn: is (almost) one of the JS console macros, not a JS command in and of itself. When used via the console (:spawn PARAM) it actually does:

system.addShips(PARAM, 1, player.ship.position, 10000);

where PARAM is in this case the role of the ship to be spawned. If you replace your

spawn: this.role, this.count;

with

system.addShips(this.role, this.count, player.ship.position, 10000);

then you will get the ships appearing (in this case within a 10km radius sphere of your ship).

Given your command that didn't work was system ships and you're not actually in a system...? ;)

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:55 pm
by Mauiby de Fug
El Viejo wrote:
This reminded me of an escape capsule I scooped a while back (dev version 1.75.0.3934)... it wasn't flying backwards exactly, but it looked most odd
I've scooped a bunch of pods like that. As far as I could tell at the time, they were trying to turn and head towards the planet... At least, that was my assumption!

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:15 pm
by Eric Walch
Killer Wolf wrote:

Code: Select all

this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function() 
{
  if(system.isInterstellarSpace && Math.random() < .95) 
  {
     spawn: this.role, this.count; 
     log("testscript.spawn", "Generated " + this.count + " " + this.role + " for testing purposes."); 

  }
}
i used "spawn" because the "system.legacy_addSystemShips" bit didn't work : well, the log said it worked, but i'll be buggered if i know where the Spectres were spawning :-/
The log is not telling anything useful here. spawn() needs a location. Or more precice, it needs an existing ship as origin. e.g. player.ship.spawn(this.role, this.count) That would spawn the ships very close around your location.

But better use the code Thargoid showed above.

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:31 pm
by JensAyton
El Viejo wrote:
This reminded me of an escape capsule I scooped a while back (dev version 1.75.0.3934)... it wasn't flying backwards exactly, but it looked most odd:
Escape pods are launched with a velocity similar to the parent ship’s, then start pushing for home at maximum thrust (see homeAI.plist). However, escape pods have very weak engines (thrust = 5).

Yes, folks, it’s *dun dun DUN!* Oolite’s Newtonian flight model, exposed for the world to see.

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:29 pm
by Phantom Hoover
If the ship was running on injectors when it was gunned down, this can lead to the entertaining situation wherein the escape pod is flying so fast that hyperspeed is required to catch up with it.

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:23 am
by Killer Wolf
Thargoid wrote:
To go back to KW's scripting question - spawn: is (almost) one of the JS console macros, not a JS command in and of itself. When used via the console (:spawn PARAM) it actually does:

system.addShips(PARAM, 1, player.ship.position, 10000);

where PARAM is in this case the role of the ship to be spawned. If you replace your

spawn: this.role, this.count;

with

system.addShips(this.role, this.count, player.ship.position, 10000);

then you will get the ships appearing (in this case within a 10km radius sphere of your ship).

Given your command that didn't work was system ships and you're not actually in a system...? ;)
cheers, i'll give that a try.
but, as i said, how come the "system ships" thing spawned the Cobras? i wasn't in a systems but it worked for them! i only messed w/ the Spectre script, swapping between addsystemship/spawn, but like i say it was doing odd things like triggering the Cobras when i exited WS too, when in fact the script says to activate on launch.

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:46 pm
by UK_Eliter
Dear all

I haven't read this thread properly, but I thought it might be the place to say the following. It would aid 'immersion' if (1) there were not always Thargoids, and indeed navy, in witchspace, and (2) if a certain maneouvre did not always result in a witchjump. What d'ya think? My suggestion is that sometimes one find merely empty space, at other times one finds Thargoids, and at other times one finds both Thargoids and navy. (And then of course there are the generation ships). Perhaps I myself could alter the relevant behaviour.

But perhaps this is what is called 'hijacking a thread'? If so, sorry.

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:34 pm
by Phantom Hoover
The "maximum climb misjumps" is justified by the witchspace wormhole being possible to fly out of, which dumps you in interstellar space. Agree on the Thargoid and Naval presence, though.

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:21 pm
by Kaks
You can always remove thargoids from interstellar space via a fairly small oxp (I might find the time to code that for Tuesday) thing is, I get the impression there's quite a few oxps that assume thargoids there so making NoThargoids.oxp (tm pending) play nice with all of them might well prove difficult...

Re: WitchSpace ship populating

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:37 pm
by Killer Wolf
That did the trick Thargoid, cheers mate :-)

now : the Spectres have a route1PatrolAI (picked simply cos it's a Viper typical thing) : i was hoping it would make them see the Thargoids and actively engage them, but as i was admiring my success and rubbing my paws anticipating some kick-ar$e screenshots, 6 of them jumped out in unison!! tw@s left me w/ four motherships! >:-/
is this typical? i kinda thought Thargoids would be treat as enemies/fugitives are and engaged?
i also noticed an odd one w/ the Nest : a bunch of Wasps were sat firing at the Nest and picking off other Wasps, though the others didn't seem bothered and sat there w/out fighting back.

lastly, a bleb that musta been a one off, cos it hasn't replicated so far ~
in WS, the Spectres jumped out and i followed one through its cloud. coming out, no sign of it. went to the planet, docked, fueled, launched and noticed this in the log :

[script.javaScript.exception.notFunction]: ***** JavaScript exception (System Redux 1.2 1.2): TypeError: system.mainPlanet.setTexture is not a function
[testscript.spawn]: Generated 3 c4 for testing purposes.
[script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 14 world scripts:
Anarchies 2.3
AsteroidStorm 4.00
hoopy_casino 1.2
oolite-cloaking-device 1.75
oolite-constrictor-hunt 1.75
oolite-nova 1.75
oolite-thargoid-plans 1.75
oolite-trumbles 1.75
Random_Hits 1.4
Spawn-c4 1.0.1
Spawn-nest 1.0.1
Spawn-sothis 1.0.1
Spawn-spectre 1.0.1
System Redux 1.2 1.2
[exception]: ***** Exception during [updateTimers] in -[PlayerEntity update:] : NSInvalidArgumentException : GSCInlineString(instance) does not recognize isScheduled *****
[exception]: ***** Exception during [update:entity [<PlayerEntity 0x6b949f8>{"Vampire MkV ~ Spectre" position: (72727.4, -98769.8, 664079) scanClass: CLASS_PLAYER status: STATUS_DOCKED}]] in [Universe update:] : NSInvalidArgumentException : GSCInlineString(instance) does not recognize isScheduled *****


i assume it's referring to Spectre still in existence from the first time around as no others should have spawned from my launch.