[RELEASE] : Generic Dynamic HUDs switching
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- Killer Wolf
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2278
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm
cheers for that JazHaz.
i think the script needs to be more vague : the WW, Diamondback etc have individual HUDs and there might be more added later as more and more people (hopefully) do it, therefore the script would have to say something like "if the player's ship doesn't have a HUD script then..." etc.
i thought that giving a ship a HUD attribute and script would overrule a generic script, but evidently not. of course, once you buy a D'back or whatever you could remove the generic script, but that's a bit sloppy.
actually, what about having the switch code as part of the engine, and having the "docked", "inflight", "combat" and "damaged" hud plists as shipdata entries : if they're there, you use custom HUDs, otherwise you get a generic Oolite HUD?
i think the script needs to be more vague : the WW, Diamondback etc have individual HUDs and there might be more added later as more and more people (hopefully) do it, therefore the script would have to say something like "if the player's ship doesn't have a HUD script then..." etc.
i thought that giving a ship a HUD attribute and script would overrule a generic script, but evidently not. of course, once you buy a D'back or whatever you could remove the generic script, but that's a bit sloppy.
actually, what about having the switch code as part of the engine, and having the "docked", "inflight", "combat" and "damaged" hud plists as shipdata entries : if they're there, you use custom HUDs, otherwise you get a generic Oolite HUD?
- Cmdr Wyvern
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 1649
- Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
- Location: Somewhere in the great starry void
I think the script doesn't take custom HUD settings in shipdata into account, and overrides them with it's own.
On the other hand, the script allows more than one custom HUD, and switches them dynamically. The HUD set would get used on all player ships, though.
On the other hand, the script allows more than one custom HUD, and switches them dynamically. The HUD set would get used on all player ships, though.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
In the case of the werewolf, the HUD switching script was the script associated with the player ship (it's pointed to by the script = key in the player ship's shipdata.plist entry). Hence it should only be active whilst the player is flying the werewolf.
However in the generic case (and the new milHUD one), it's now a worldscript, so will be continually active so will overwrite any other HUD (either those set for a ship in it's shipdata.plist or any other installed static OXP HUD). This would be also the case if both the werewolf and the generic HUD OXP were installed - the two scripts would "fight" over the HUD.
To work properly the generic/milHUD HUD script shouldn't be a worldscript (script.js in the config folder in this case), but should be added by editting into the shipdata.plist entry for the players ship in the same way it is in the werewolf's entry (script = "genericHUDswitch.js"; or whatever the script ends up being called if the OXP's renamed, or the equivalent for milHUD).
It's perfectly possible to make the script not work for specific ships, but given how it evolved from the werewolf HUD it's of course not currently set up to do that.
However in the generic case (and the new milHUD one), it's now a worldscript, so will be continually active so will overwrite any other HUD (either those set for a ship in it's shipdata.plist or any other installed static OXP HUD). This would be also the case if both the werewolf and the generic HUD OXP were installed - the two scripts would "fight" over the HUD.
To work properly the generic/milHUD HUD script shouldn't be a worldscript (script.js in the config folder in this case), but should be added by editting into the shipdata.plist entry for the players ship in the same way it is in the werewolf's entry (script = "genericHUDswitch.js"; or whatever the script ends up being called if the OXP's renamed, or the equivalent for milHUD).
It's perfectly possible to make the script not work for specific ships, but given how it evolved from the werewolf HUD it's of course not currently set up to do that.
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages .
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
- Killer Wolf
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2278
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm
i think it would be good as a change into the new 1.75/trunk/whatever. as dynamic HUDs become more widespread it seems logical to me that the switchy code would be part of the game engine and would activate standard in-built relevant HUD plists, which could be overwritten by a specific ship's shipdata attributes.
is that doable?
is that doable?
- maik
- Wiki Wizard
- Posts: 2028
- Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
- Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)
Did anyone ever get around to creating a 16:9 version? I just took a look at the OXP contents and can't make sense of the numbers in the plist in conjunction with the png :sCmdr Wyvern wrote:If you fellows want widescreen HUDs, then by all means modify one. It's not hard to do, once you get your head around plist structure.JazHaz wrote:Seconded. I think all the HUDs should have widescreen versions available.JJP wrote:I would love to see this kind of HUD for a wide-screen set-up (ie. a 16:10 lay-out).
It seems the png's size is 1280x1024 which isn't 4:3 while the legend in the plist says something about 640x480 which would be 4:3. How does this translate?
- Cmdr Wyvern
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 1649
- Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
- Location: Somewhere in the great starry void
For HUDs that use a single background image, widescreening it may be a bit tricky. The image would have to be stretched, and dials moved and resized.
For HUDs that use multiple images, like MilHUD, then it's a matter of moving elements where you want them, making the job of widescreening it somewhat easier.
... In theory, anyway. I don't have a widescreen monitor, so I'm making wild guesses here.
For HUDs that use multiple images, like MilHUD, then it's a matter of moving elements where you want them, making the job of widescreening it somewhat easier.
... In theory, anyway. I don't have a widescreen monitor, so I'm making wild guesses here.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
You can resize a window, right? :-)Cmdr Wyvern wrote:... In theory, anyway. I don't have a widescreen monitor, so I'm making wild guesses here.
E-mail: [email protected]
- Getafix
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 979
- Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
- Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
- Contact:
Irrelevant to the previous post but relevant to this OXP.
I can replicate the following erroneous behavior.
EDIT(2/Aug/2010): Used the proper HUD names.
I can replicate the following erroneous behavior.
- Start Oolite
- Don't load a saved game and then press "Space" (then the
docking"Trading" HUD appears) - Go to the options and select "Begin New Game"
- The "
flying in spaceNormal" HUD appears (not the "Trading" HUD) while still docked.
EDIT(2/Aug/2010): Used the proper HUD names.
Last edited by Getafix on Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]
- ClymAngus
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2514
- Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
- Location: London England
- Contact:
of course it would be lovely to have a gallery of useful 3 stage "huds" that you could buy to replace the unhelpful and down right dangerous ones you are forced to use at the beginning.
It's turning huds into another value curve. Hey got to spend that money on something.
It's turning huds into another value curve. Hey got to spend that money on something.
Thargoid wrote:In the case of the werewolf, the HUD switching script was the script associated with the player ship (it's pointed to by the script = key in the player ship's shipdata.plist entry). Hence it should only be active whilst the player is flying the werewolf.
However in the generic case (and the new milHUD one), it's now a worldscript, so will be continually active so will overwrite any other HUD (either those set for a ship in it's shipdata.plist or any other installed static OXP HUD). This would be also the case if both the werewolf and the generic HUD OXP were installed - the two scripts would "fight" over the HUD.
To work properly the generic/milHUD HUD script shouldn't be a worldscript (script.js in the config folder in this case), but should be added by editting into the shipdata.plist entry for the players ship in the same way it is in the werewolf's entry (script = "genericHUDswitch.js"; or whatever the script ends up being called if the OXP's renamed, or the equivalent for milHUD).
It's perfectly possible to make the script not work for specific ships, but given how it evolved from the werewolf HUD it's of course not currently set up to do that.
- Cmdr Wyvern
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 1649
- Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
- Location: Somewhere in the great starry void
It's a good idea, however...ClymAngus wrote:of course it would be lovely to have a gallery of useful 3 stage "huds" that you could buy to replace the unhelpful and down right dangerous ones you are forced to use at the beginning.
It's turning huds into another value curve. Hey got to spend that money on something.
That makes the HUD yet another piece of kit that can be shot off. Then it's even more dangerous and unhelpful, as in not working until you somehow survive long enough to dock for repairs. Worse than a trumble eating your laser.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
OK wolfie, I tried the HUDs and actually like them a lot. . . except. .
It would be really great if you could put a targeting dot in the center of that targeting triangle you have. I have found that such a dot really increases accuracy when sniping, or even shooting at smaller ships. The display is really easy to read and uncluttered, making this a very un-distracting HUD and therefore one i would recommend highly. . . with that dot. Not to worry, i actually put it on mine already by opening up the normal flight and combat images in GIMP and just adding the dot myself. it really is just that easy. . .
It may be a small thing, but it really adds to the HUD
It would be really great if you could put a targeting dot in the center of that targeting triangle you have. I have found that such a dot really increases accuracy when sniping, or even shooting at smaller ships. The display is really easy to read and uncluttered, making this a very un-distracting HUD and therefore one i would recommend highly. . . with that dot. Not to worry, i actually put it on mine already by opening up the normal flight and combat images in GIMP and just adding the dot myself. it really is just that easy. . .
It may be a small thing, but it really adds to the HUD
- Cmdr Wyvern
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 1649
- Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:47 am
- Location: Somewhere in the great starry void
Umm, dude? It's been done, made with snipers and precision shooters in mind.Gnudoll wrote:OK wolfie, I tried the HUDs and actually like them a lot. . . except. .
It would be really great if you could put a targeting dot in the center of that targeting triangle you have. I have found that such a dot really increases accuracy when sniping, or even shooting at smaller ships. The display is really easy to read and uncluttered, making this a very un-distracting HUD and therefore one i would recommend highly. . . with that dot. Not to worry, i actually put it on mine already by opening up the normal flight and combat images in GIMP and just adding the dot myself. it really is just that easy. . .
It may be a small thing, but it really adds to the HUD
See this thread. You're welcome.
Running Oolite buttery smooth & rock stable w/ tons of eyecandy oxps on:
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
ASUS Prime X370-A
Ryzen 5 1500X
16GB DDR4 3200MHZ
128GB NVMe M.2 SSD (Boot drive)
1TB Hybrid HDD (For software and games)
EVGA GTX-1070 SC
1080P Samsung large screen monitor
I tried that one. The larger IFF display is nice, as it the precision indicator, but the overall layout of the generic is much nicer on the eyes, and the layout of controls on the generic is also easier to follow.
As i see it, each has it's benefits:
Generic HUD has easy to follow, large indicators and a fairly pretty view-port.
The MilHUD (new one) has that nice targeting dot, indicators for roll, pitch, and yaw, and an indicator for joystick precission.
All of these are very nice items and each of us should make our choices based on which ones we want most.
As i see it, each has it's benefits:
Generic HUD has easy to follow, large indicators and a fairly pretty view-port.
The MilHUD (new one) has that nice targeting dot, indicators for roll, pitch, and yaw, and an indicator for joystick precission.
All of these are very nice items and each of us should make our choices based on which ones we want most.
- OneoftheLost
- Deadly
- Posts: 216
- Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 2:30 pm
I recently got into Oolite again, and decided to try some of the new features, while I loved the concept and execution of this oxp, It doesn't really mesh well with the background screens/sound effect mod. Its perfect for space, but when I want to check the trading screen, or read some planet text, its simply obstructive.
Awesome job however! and I applaud your hard work.
Awesome job however! and I applaud your hard work.