Page 2 of 2

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:37 pm
by JensAyton
Commander McLane wrote:
The problem with making the cloaking device repairable on high TL-stations is that at the same time you make it available for purchasing as well.

The best thing IMO would be to make a small addition to the original mission script, contained within Oolite. In the old scripting system it would be parallel to the last condition in thargoid plans:

Code: Select all

        {
            conditions = (
                "mission_cloak equal COMPLETE",
                "mission_TL_FOR_EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE undefined"
            );
            do = ("set: mission_TL_FOR_EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE 13");
        }
Actually it would be better to insert a testForEquipment into the do-part, as the cloaking device could be spawned but not scooped.

Ahruman has, however, already translated the cloaking device mission into the JS-syntax. So we have to ask him to incorporate this addition.
Or I could do it in the script_actions of the cloaking-device, right after <string>awardEquipment: EQ_CLOAKING_DEVICE</string>. :-) (Although I will probably have translated that to JS too by the next release, given I made that possible a couple of days ago.)

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:33 pm
by Captain Hesperus
I agree with TGHC and Maegil. The Cloaking Device is, by it's very nature, high-tech military hardware which is essentially stolen in the mission. I think, though, that it should only repairable at high-TL Anarchies. Corporates and Democracies are a bit too friendly with GalCop to repair this technology without either informing the GalNavy or simply confiscating it outright.

Having to seek out an Anarchy system that has a high enough TL to repair the Cloak is a good impetus for Commanders to see even more of the Galaxy (since you can only get the Cloaking Device in G5).

Captain Hesperus

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:47 pm
by Cmdr Wyvern
Sounds good to me, except that anarchies past TL7 can be a real headache if not impossible to find, and I suspect it'll take at least TL14 to fix a cloak.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:08 am
by Commander McLane
Cmdr Wyvern wrote:
Sounds good to me, except that anarchies past TL7 can be a real headache if not impossible to find, and I suspect it'll take at least TL14 to fix a cloak.
High TLs are not only a headache, but impossible. I did research on TLs of anarchies for Anarchies.oxp. There are only anarchies with TLs 1..9. Nothing above that. And that would be definitely not high enough for repairing a cloaking device.

Idea! :idea: But I could incorporate it in Anarchies.oxp. There you get Hacker Outposts that are technically pretty advanced in random higher TL anarchies (well, they are advanced enough to hack in GalCop's central database and clear your legal status). So they--and only they--could be able to repair a damaged cloaking device. How does that sound to you?

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:23 am
by Killer Wolf
hey, if it's STOLEN hardware, i think you should have a permanent OFFENDER status at least it you fit it :-) add a bit spice.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:28 am
by TGHC
Commander McLane wrote:
Idea! :idea: But I could incorporate it in Anarchies.oxp. There you get Hacker Outposts that are technically pretty advanced in random higher TL anarchies (well, they are advanced enough to hack in GalCop's central database and clear your legal status). So they--and only they--could be able to repair a damaged cloaking device. How does that sound to you?
Great idea, how about a message screen which tells you your cloak is damaged and to proceed to the nearest repair centre.

It seems that a damaged cloak is a very rare occurence, IIRC it doesn't show on the equipment list when it is damaged, so you won't know if you you don't use it, or notice it's not on the equipment list.

@Killer Wolf, it's not stolen hardware, it's spoils of a battle, so it would be unreasonable to apply an offender status

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:56 am
by another_commander
TGHC wrote:
It seems that a damaged cloak is a very rare occurence, IIRC it doesn't show on the equipment list when it is damaged, so you won't know if you you don't use it, or notice it's not on the equipment list.
Just wanted to clarify that, as of version 1.69 onwards, every piece of damaged equipment, including the Cloaking Device, is displayed on the status screen in orange color, with the suffix N/A (Not Available).

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:43 am
by TGHC
Excellent.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:31 am
by Commander McLane
For now I've included this feature in Anarchies.oxp.

Just a few lines of code. :wink:

If you don't agree, just tell me so.