Page 2 of 4

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:05 pm
by Uncle Reno
Has run OK so far but I have just had a CTD, with the only thing out of the ordinary being this -

Code: Select all

/Users/jayton/Programming/Projects/Oolite/clean-repo/trunk/src/Core/../Cocoa/OOCASound.m:241: failed assertion `0 != _playingCount'

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:28 pm
by JensAyton
I think I can see where that might happen. Isn’t there a preceeding line about failing to play a sound, though?

Anyway, that should have been a soft error message rather than an assertion, which is now fixed.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:12 pm
by Uncle Reno
Ahruman wrote:
I think I can see where that might happen. Isn’t there a preceeding line about failing to play a sound, though?
There was a lot of this sort of thing -

Code: Select all

Oolite [sound.streaming.releaseContext.immediate]: Streaming sound <OOCAStreamingSound 0x5b51790>{"guiclick.ogg"} stopped with 0 pendingCount, releasing context.
Just had another CTD (they always happen when I'm doing a long cargo run without saving!! :roll: ) and the only messages are the streaming sound ones this time.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:44 pm
by JensAyton
Oh, yeah… you can turn those off now, I think. :-)

Code: Select all

defaults delete org.aegidian.oolite max_buffered_sound
defaults write org.aegidian.oolite logging-enable -dict-add \$soundDebug -bool no

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 7:38 am
by Uncle Reno
Thank goodness for that, makes the console log a lot easier to read now! :)

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:38 pm
by Uncle Reno
I've come across a small and rare quirk that occurs when docked at a station, which is that I 'hear' occasional ship to ship hails. This hardly ever happens, so it's not really a problem, but thought it would be better to mention it.
After all, it's slightly offputting to hear a Black Monk debtor pleading for his life when I'm shopping for cargo. :wink:

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 8:09 pm
by JensAyton
Hmm. I don’t think there’s any way to distinguish between messages that can be safely suppressed and ones that matter.

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 8:22 pm
by Uncle Reno
Ahruman wrote:
Hmm. I don’t think there’s any way to distinguish between messages that can be safely suppressed and ones that matter.
:? I mention it because I have never had messages appear when I'm docked prior to 1.68 and assumed that was the correct status, i.e. all messages are suppressed while docked.

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 8:24 pm
by JensAyton
I don’t think that’s new, you’re just noticing it now. False correlation.

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:31 am
by Rxke
I often get:

Code: Select all

libpng warning: Incomplete compressed datastream in iCCP chunk

libpng warning: Profile size field missing from iCCP chunk

libpng warning: Incomplete compressed datastream in iCCP chunk

libpng warning: Profile size field missing from iCCP chunk
during gameplay, but It seems to be harmless, nothing bad happens

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:32 am
by Rxke
Ahruman wrote:
I don’t think that’s new.
No, it's surely not new

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:46 am
by Rxke
Also, since I'm surely the one with the lowest-specced mac around (G3@350MHz) I'm happy to tell you that the procedural textured planets don't cause a noticeable drop in framerate, so it can safely be made standard (? maybe there's another reason it's optional ?)

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:50 am
by JensAyton
Rxke wrote:
I often get:

Code: Select all

libpng warning: Incomplete compressed datastream in iCCP chunk
libpng warning: Profile size field missing from iCCP chunk
libpng warning: Incomplete compressed datastream in iCCP chunk
libpng warning: Profile size field missing from iCCP chunk
during gameplay, but It seems to be harmless, nothing bad happens
That means a PNG texture contains a broken colour profile. Since I don’t see this, I’m going to assume it’s in an OXP. Future versions will use libpng directly (rather than going through the system) and supress colour profile handling completey (it doesn’t make sense for textures), so you won’t see that.
Rxke wrote:
Also, since I'm surely the one with the lowest-specced mac around (G3@350MHz) I'm happy to tell you that the procedural textured planets don't cause a noticeable drop in framerate, so it can safely be made standard (? maybe there's another reason it's optional ?)
They make the entering-system delay significantly longer on my G5. Haven’t tested it on my 233 MHz G3 with no (OS X-supported) 3D acceleration. :-)

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:57 am
by Rxke
Ahruman wrote:
They make the entering-system delay significantly longer on my G5. Haven’t tested it on my 233 MHz G3 with no (OS X-supported) 3D acceleration. :-)
ah yes, there is that...

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:35 pm
by Uncle Reno
Rxke wrote:
Ahruman wrote:
I don’t think that’s new.
No, it's surely not new
Oh, OK. At least I wasn't imagining it then! :)