Page 2 of 3

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:28 pm
by Captain Hesperus
TGHC wrote:
LittleBear wrote:
That should make the ship turn its lights on before it attacks somthing.
Excellent, now all we need is a YeeeeHaaaa voice over :D :D
Or, if the Viper is in a low TL Confederacy, you get a comms message, 'Boy, yew is in a whole heapa trouble.."

Captain Hesperus
"Howdy, Sheriff. This feller done shot ma Python up real good, so's I was gonna get me some re-venge when y'all showed up."

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:33 pm
by Dr. Nil
It might not be too smart to give an L-Crate Hauler an attacking AI. It had to have some drawbacks. It's not that expensive. And not too slow either. 150 T cargo space (3 L-Crates). . . almost a tempting first ship to buy :twisted:

@DH: give it a variant of the ordinary oohaulAI.plist (with another file name) for AI.

change the line: " GLOBAL = {ENTER = ("setStateTo: HEAD_FOR_PLANET"); EXIT = (); UPDATE = (); }; "

to " GLOBAL = {ENTER = (switchLightsOn, "setStateTo: HEAD_FOR_PLANET"); EXIT = (); UPDATE = (); }; "

That should do the trick.

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:30 pm
by DaddyHoggy
@Dr. Nil - I've tested it using LB's testship.oxp - so it appears at the station trying to dock when you leave (I gave it nullAi for testing followed by route1traderAI when I wanted to see how my tweeked stats faired compared to the Oo-Hauler) and the lights were on already?!? So I may or may not need your line mod - but if I do then at least I've got it.

As for attacking AI - I think KW was complaining that his Police ship has flashing lights on the start screen but not in game - not even when he attacked it - i.e. Viper Interceptors lights come on when they're in "nail the baddy" mode - but his ship wasn't.

An aggressive L-Crate Hauler - now that's a scary thought - I've seen the movie Convoy (or more scary Steven Speilbergs - "Duel")

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:41 pm
by Captain Hesperus
DaddyHoggy wrote:
An aggressive L-Crate Hauler - now that's a scary thought - I've seen the movie Convoy (or more scary Steven Speilbergs - "Duel")
Or what about 'Maximum Overdrive'?

Captain Hesperus
"I never looked at the Green Goblin the same after that film."

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:02 am
by Dr. Nil
In the early playtesting of the Oo-Haul escort mission, one Oo-Haul captain send me a message along the lines of "No more time to waste!" and then turned his ship around and flew at full speed into a Terascreen and exploded with it in an inferno of alloys.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:30 am
by DaddyHoggy
@Dr. Nil - so how long did it take you to pick up a full load of alloys... :lol: :wink:

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:36 am
by Dr. Nil
I kept forgetting to empty my cargo in the ship I used for the playtest. :cry: (not that I save that much during playtesting anyway)

There wasn't anything in it for me, besides a real good laugh.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:53 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Cap'n H is probably crying into his accounts book listening to such a tale of wasted opportunity... :)

Help!

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:48 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Been testing Tecoo Bulk Carrier before I release it into the wild.

I have some questions and some oddities and then my shipdata so somebody more clever than I can work out how I've cocked up Doc's original Oo-Hauler on which this is based.

I put in that the ship should have 2 escorts but more often than not it doesn't have any...

Unlike Doc's I've armed mine with missiles - when testing I attacked - it fired two missiles one was ECM'd the other was not - guessing this was hardened? How to I determine missile type?

When crates are destroyed they don't always spawn the 20 cargo pods but there are lots of secondary explosions - is this just the luck of the draw - sometimes the pods appear in a "bad" position and are destroyed?

More oddly some of the pods have "offender" status and can't be scooped - but you do get one Cr bounty! See picture. Any idea why and how can I stop this!? (They also appear yellow on the scanner and not grey)

Destroying crates counts towards your kills - 3 crates + Tescoo Bulk Carrier = 4 kills! I don't know if this is also true for the Oo-Hauler - I would prefer it not to be the case - any idea of a fix.

The picture:
Image

The shipdata.plist:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>tescoohauler_crate01</key>
	<dict>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>nullAI.plist</string>
		<key>death_actions</key>
		<array>
		      <string>spawn: cargopod 20</string>
		</array>
		<key>likely_cargo</key>
		<integer>25</integer>
		<key>cargo_carried</key>
		<string>Food</string>
		<key>max_cargo</key>
		<integer>50</integer>
		<key>max_energy</key>
		<real>150</real>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>tescoohauler_crate01.dat</string>
		<key>name</key>
		<string>tescoohaul Crate</string>
		<key>roles</key>
		<string>tescoohauler_crate01</string>
	</dict>
	<key>tescoohauler1</key>
	<dict>
		<key>aft_eject_position</key>
		<string>0.0 0.0 -88.15</string>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>route1traderAI.plist</string>
		<key>bounty</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>cargo_type</key>
		<string>CARGO_NOT_CARGO</string>
		<key>energy_recharge_rate</key>
		<real>3</real>
		<key>escorts</key>
		<integer>2</integer>
		<key>exhaust</key>
		<array>
			<string>5 -3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
			<string>-5 -3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
			<string>5 3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
			<string>-5 3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
		</array>
		<key>forward_weapon_type</key>
		<string>WEAPON_NONE</string>
		<key>frangible</key>
		<true/>
		<key>fuel</key>
		<integer>70</integer>
		<key>has_ecm</key>
		<true/>
		<key>has_escape_pod</key>
		<true/>
		<key>has_fuel_injection</key>
		<true/>
		<key>has_scoop</key>
		<false/>
		<key>likely_cargo</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>max_cargo</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>max_energy</key>
		<real>300</real>
		<key>max_flight_pitch</key>
		<real>1</real>
		<key>max_flight_roll</key>
		<real>2.6</real>
		<key>max_flight_speed</key>
		<real>260</real>
		<key>max_missiles</key>
		<integer>4</integer>
		<key>missile_launch_position</key> 
		<string>0.0 -5.00 79.0</string>
		<key>missiles</key>
		<integer>2</integer>
		<key>thrust</key>
		<real>40</real>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>tescoohauler.dat</string>
		<key>name</key>
		<string>Tescoo Bulk Carrier</string>
		<key>roles</key>
		<string>tescoohauler1</string>
		<key>smooth</key>
		<true/>
		<key>subentities</key>
		<array>
			<string>tescoohauler_crate01 0 0 47.35 1 0 0 0</string>
			<string>tescoohauler_crate01 0 0 15.35 1 0 0 0</string>
			<string>tescoohauler_crate01 0 0 -16.65 1 0 0 0</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 3.00 78.00 60.0 2 0.5 8</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 3.00 78.00 70.0 2 0.6 6</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 3.00 78.00 50.0 2 0.7 4</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 -3.00 78.00 60.0 2 0.3 8</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 -3.00 78.00 70.0 2 0.4 6</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 -3.00 78.00 50.0 2 0.5 4</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* -27.00 6.50 0.00 0.0 1 0.0 2</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* -27.00 -6.50 0.00 0.0 1 0.0 2</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 27.00 6.50 0.00 135.0 1 0.5 2</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 27.00 -6.50 0.00 135.0 1 0.5 2</string>
		</array>
		<key>thrust</key>
		<real>40</real>
	</dict>
</dict>	
</plist>
The Wiki states that <key>cargo_carried</key> can only be used to state one cargo type - if this is still true is it possible to put a d100 roll into the shipdata so that there's a 50/50 chance that the cargo_carried is either food or Liquor&Wines depending on the value of the roll?

TIA

DaddyH

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:52 pm
by LittleBear
Setting a missile type is done with missile_role.

Eg:-

Code: Select all

<key>missile_role</key>
<string>EQ_HARDENED_MISSILE</string>
Will mean the ship always has hardheads.

The criminal cargo pods is probabley because Oolite expects anything created with the spawn: command to be a ship.

Like_shiping to a normal canister, but setting the scan_class to rock should get round this.

Have a spawn: specialcargopod, then define a special cargopod as like_shiped to a normal one, but with zero bounty and scan_class rock.

If you had two enteries both with the role specialcargo pod, one with food and one booze then you'd get the 50/50 chance.

Escorts- Grr. These often go wrong! This is due to them Defaulting to Escort AI. This includes a chance of switching to a patrolAI. You ship may well have started out with escorts, but they spotted a Crim and went off to kill him, leaving the Mothership alone. Adding a escort role may help, but I've never got escorts working properly and have used cutom AIs to keep battle groups together.

See this thread on Cargo:-

https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?t=2671

And this one on Escorts:-

https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?t=2366

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:01 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Hi LB - I tried (what I think) you suggested.

I now get no cargo whatsoever - just a long pause and big explosion when a crate blows up.

(what's the difference between CLASS_ROCK and CLASS_CARGO?)

Also, both missiles are now standard missiles and not hardened (or more precisely they blew up when I hit the ECM)....

I had quick look at the threads you suggested - perhaps I will download Santa.oxp to se how cargo is handled in that. The Escorts one is 8 pages! I've read first two but have got square eye - will continue tomorrow....

Yours,

confused of Newbury...

Apologies (in advance) for being such a dolt...

Grrr, I really want to put out an oxp of my very own - tis very frustrating!

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>tescoohauler_crate01</key>
	<dict>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>nullAI.plist</string>
		<key>death_actions</key>
		<array>
		      <string>spawn: specialcargopod 20</string>
		</array>
		<key>likely_cargo</key>
		<integer>25</integer>
		<key>max_cargo</key>
		<integer>50</integer>
		<key>max_energy</key>
		<real>150</real>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>tescoohauler_crate01.dat</string>
		<key>name</key>
		<string>tescoohaul Crate</string>
		<key>roles</key>
		<string>tescoohauler_crate01</string>
	</dict>
		<key>specialcargopod</key>
	<dict>
		<key>like_ship</key>
		<string>cargopod</string>
		<key>bounty</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>scanClass</key>
		<string>CLASS_ROCK</string>
		<key>cargo_carried</key>
		<string>Food</string>
	</dict>
		<key>specialcargopod</key>
	<dict>
		<key>like_ship</key>
		<string>cargopod</string>
		<key>bounty</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>scanClass</key>
		<string>CLASS_ROCK</string>
		<key>cargo_carried</key>
		<string>Liquor/Wines</string>
	</dict>
	<key>tescoohauler1</key>
	<dict>
		<key>aft_eject_position</key>
		<string>0.0 0.0 -88.15</string>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>route1traderAI.plist</string>
		<key>bounty</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>cargo_type</key>
		<string>CARGO_NOT_CARGO</string>
		<key>energy_recharge_rate</key>
		<real>3</real>
		<key>escorts</key>
		<integer>2</integer>
		<key>exhaust</key>
		<array>
			<string>5 -3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
			<string>-5 -3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
			<string>5 3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
			<string>-5 3 -81.0 16.0 16.0 2.0</string>
		</array>
		<key>forward_weapon_type</key>
		<string>WEAPON_NONE</string>
		<key>frangible</key>
		<true/>
		<key>fuel</key>
		<integer>70</integer>
		<key>has_ecm</key>
		<true/>
		<key>has_escape_pod</key>
		<true/>
		<key>has_fuel_injection</key>
		<true/>
		<key>has_scoop</key>
		<false/>
		<key>likely_cargo</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>max_cargo</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>max_energy</key>
		<real>300</real>
		<key>max_flight_pitch</key>
		<real>1</real>
		<key>max_flight_roll</key>
		<real>2.6</real>
		<key>max_flight_speed</key>
		<real>260</real>
		<key>max_missiles</key>
		<integer>4</integer>
		<key>missile_launch_position</key> 
		<string>0.0 -5.00 79.0</string>
		<key>missiles</key>
		<integer>2</integer>
		<key>missile_role</key>
		<string>EQ_HARDENED_MISSILE</string>
		<key>thrust</key>
		<real>40</real>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>tescoohauler.dat</string>
		<key>name</key>
		<string>Tescoo Bulk Carrier</string>
		<key>roles</key>
		<string>tescoohauler1</string>
		<key>smooth</key>
		<true/>
		<key>subentities</key>
		<array>
			<string>tescoohauler_crate01 0 0 47.35 1 0 0 0</string>
			<string>tescoohauler_crate01 0 0 15.35 1 0 0 0</string>
			<string>tescoohauler_crate01 0 0 -16.65 1 0 0 0</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 3.00 78.00 60.0 2 0.5 8</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 3.00 78.00 70.0 2 0.6 6</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 3.00 78.00 50.0 2 0.7 4</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 -3.00 78.00 60.0 2 0.3 8</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 -3.00 78.00 70.0 2 0.4 6</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 0.00 -3.00 78.00 50.0 2 0.5 4</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* -27.00 6.50 0.00 0.0 1 0.0 2</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* -27.00 -6.50 0.00 0.0 1 0.0 2</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 27.00 6.50 0.00 135.0 1 0.5 2</string>
			<string>*FLASHER* 27.00 -6.50 0.00 135.0 1 0.5 2</string>
		</array>
		<key>thrust</key>
		<real>40</real>
	</dict>
</dict>	
</plist>

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:19 pm
by LittleBear
Like_ship needs to be to the <key> of the orginal ship rather than to the role. If you change it from:-

Code: Select all

<key>like_ship</key> 
<string>cargopod</string>
To:-

Code: Select all

<key>like_ship</key> 
<string>barrel</string>
Also the new entry is missing a role. Needs a:-


<key>roles</key>
<string>specialcargopod</string>

Also need each type to have a unique key. So give both the role specialcargopod, but under key have the first one specialcargopod1 and second specialcargopod2.


Then it'll work. The key for Giles's native cargo barrel is "barrel" even though it has the the role "cargopod", so at the moment Oolite is trying to read a set of instructions that aint there. - Easily done, cursed Oolite many times over this sort of thing!

Either CLASS_CARGO or ROCK will be fine. Not sure what the difference is, just stops it being assinged a legal status and a yellow scanner flag.

Pretty sure the Missile Role works. Hard Heads can be ECMed, it is a random thing. Occasionally you get lucky and ECM takes out a hardhead.[/code]

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:40 pm
by Arexack_Heretic
Feel free to include my confederate sheriff "bear in the air" ship:

Image
Image

If you like him, he's in the folder:
http://home.tiscali.nl/arexack/arexack/WIP/Smokey/

Obviously, it was inspired on 'the Dukes of Hazard' and the 'Bandit' series of movies.
I was planning on putting them in some private hellhole-system, together with the OO-team and Night-raider.
But as I am semi-retired, for now, feel free to use them in any way. :)

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:40 am
by DaddyHoggy
@A_H A nicely themed ship - it might not make it into the T.B.C. oxp but I have a follow up plan were it definitely will go in.

:cry: On a sadder note I need to inform the OOlite BB that there will be a delay (of unknown duration) in the release of the TBC oxp as my PC is currently on the blink - XP has decided it doesn't like my FX5600 video driver and no amount of uninstalling and reinstalling will convince it otherwise - at the moment I get about 8 minutes before a reboot occurs but that can be as little as 30s if I try and run Oolite.... :cry:

To use Drew's newly invented swear word (just finished SQ (it arrived from the US yesterday) ) I hate praking PC's!

Bah humbug! :evil:

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:03 pm
by Dr. Nil
@DH: I'll try to speed up getting your textures released with Your Ad Here and Oo-Haul respectively.

But as you have discovered there are some details to be sorted out - didn't even consider that there could be a problem with spawning cargo. I shot up an L-Crate and saw the containers appear - never checked if they were fugitives or the right scanclass. It just didn't cross my mind that cargo spawned as cargo and showing up as cargo models might not be cargo. I'll look into it.

Btw: I'm a bit puzzled about the appearance of my HUD in your screen shots. I guess the placement is dictated by the resolution. I made the side thingies to stop it from floating freely since it didn't touch the bottom of the screen. In the resolution I use, the HUD floats above the bottom but goes from side to side horizontally.

Sorry to hear about your hardware trouble. I changed to XP around 3½ year ago and have never really had any trouble at all, and only had to do one re-install - which was because I wanted to use another hard drive for my system. I thought that all the PC bashing here was based on lack of experience with XP which I have to admit is the best OS I've ever worked with from my point as a user. :D