Page 2 of 25

Missing a bit or three

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:51 am
by aegidian
LittleBear wrote:
I've written my 1st Victim Ship Plist:-
<plist>
<dict>

<key>victim1</key>

<dict>

<key>like_ship</key>
<string>adder</string>
<key>name</key>
<string>Guild Target : Be Soin - 200C</string>
<key>has escape_pod</key>
<false/>
<key>ai_type</key>

<string>route1traderAI.plist</string>

<key>death_actions</key>

<array>

<string>set: mission_assassins STAGE1a</string>

</array>

</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

Have I cocked anything obvious up?
Plus, of course the xml property list boiler plate DTD definitions etc.

Also I'd use the mission_littlebear_assassins as the variable, just to distinguish it from anyone else's mission vars.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:24 am
by LittleBear
Thanks

Are the bits in red the ones are need to take out?

Also, if I use like_ship do I need to do all the complex ship building stuff?

I was hoping like_ship would do this for me using your definitions from the standard game code!

I just want the ship to be a clone of a bog-standard adder, except that it appears when targeted as "Guild Target : Be Soin - 200C" and when it dies it advances the mission counter, which then triggers a Well done commander messge at the next docking and awards credits (minus the Assassins Guild commission of course!)

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:54 am
by aegidian
LittleBear wrote:
Thanks

Are the bits in red the ones are need to take out?

Also, if I use like_ship do I need to do all the complex ship building stuff?

I was hoping like_ship would do this for me using your definitions from the standard game code!

I just want the ship to be a clone of a bog-standard adder, except that it appears when targeted as "Guild Target : Be Soin - 200C" and when it dies it advances the mission counter, which then triggers a Well done commander messge at the next docking and awards credits (minus the Assassins Guild commission of course!)
Add the red bits. Using like_ship should do the trick you want - as should the death_actions code. It's looking good.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:22 pm
by LittleBear
I've made the alterations to the code. My ship is not coming up on the "Press Space Commander" screen. I dont want it to particulary, but does this mean the game is not recognising my ship, as other OXP ships (eg the Ionics ones) do?

I've checked my save file and after the Contact is offered, the game is setting the mission to STAGE1, so thats ok!

I've used this code:-

{
conditions = (
"mission_assassins equal assassins_STAGE1",
"planet_number equal 73",
"status_string equal STATUS_EXITING_WITCHSPACE"
);
do = ( "checkForShips: victim1",
{ conditions = ( "shipsFound_number equal 0" );
do = ( "addSystemShips: victim1 1 0.1" );
},
);
},

This should add my Victim to the system ships (i cribbed this code from SPYHUNTER, which adds the Spyship to the right system). However he's not there!

Any ideas?

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:40 pm
by aegidian
LittleBear wrote:
I've made the alterations to the code. My ship is not coming up on the "Press Space Commander" screen. I dont want it to particulary, but does this mean the game is not recognising my ship, as other OXP ships (eg the Ionics ones) do?
Only the ships listed in demoships.plist show up on the demonstration screen.
LittleBear wrote:
I've checked my save file and after the Contact is offered, the game is setting the mission to STAGE1, so thats ok!

I've used this code:-

{
conditions = (
"mission_assassins equal assassins_STAGE1",
"planet_number equal 73",
"status_string equal STATUS_EXITING_WITCHSPACE"
);
do = ( "checkForShips: victim1",
{ conditions = ( "shipsFound_number equal 0" );
do = ( "addSystemShips: victim1 1 0.1" );
},
);
},

This should add my Victim to the system ships (i cribbed this code from SPYHUNTER, which adds the Spyship to the right system). However he's not there!

Any ideas?
Try some of the other 'addShips' type methods. See here: http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Method ... ding_ships

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:00 pm
by LittleBear
Sorry to keep bugging you, but I'm still having problems and I think its my ship Oolite doesn't like.

(if I can just get victm1 working, then I can just copy and paste for the rest, changing the names and mission descriptions for each one).

To test this I've taken out all the OXPs except my ship (Imp. Cor.).

I've copied the demoships file from directly from the Imp Cor. OXP to the Config file in Assassins.oxp, just changing the name to victim1

The Imp. still comes up on the Press Space Commander screen but my victim1 ship doesn't.

This is my shipdata file:

<plist>
<dict>
<key>victim1</key>
<dict>
<key>like_ship</key>
<string>adder</string>
<key>name</key>
<string>Guild Target : Be Soin - 200C</string>
<key>has escape_pod</key>
<false/>
<key>ai_type</key>
<string>route1traderAI.plist</string>
<key>death_actions</key>
</array>
<string>set: mission_assassins assassins_STAGE1a</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

This is the demoships file

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<array>
<string>victim1</string>
</array>
</plist>

I can't see anything wrong, but it don't work!

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:01 pm
by Davemak
Interesting ideas going on here - I like all the extra missions, just plodding about can get fairly tedious :-)

But - am I the only one who thinks that:

a) 200 cr is way, way, way too small a payment? Consider that you can make more than that if you scoop cargo after (unintentionally) destroying an innocent trader then deliberately hunting down and executing a ship, risk to legal status, etc - just doesn't seem to tally in my book.

b) Galaxy 7 is a LONG way to get to (30, 000 cr just for the hyperdrives) so the calibre of pilot/ship would be significantly higher - to then start hunting an adder for 200?

Obviously game balance is an issue but I don't think this is totally credible. Couldn't zoom in on the screen shot either as it pixellated too much :-(

Look forward to seeing it though.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:05 pm
by LittleBear
Victim1 is a test of your caliber by the Assassins guild. If your too lawfull to take this little job, they don't offer you Victim2 onwards, where the rewards are much greater. Can't get the dratted thing working though yet!

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:16 pm
by LittleBear
PS: Setting the mission is Galaxy 7 is a technical choice rather than cos I wanted to. Galaxys 1 - 5 have native or OXP missions operating. EG: Say your are playing IONICS in Gal 4 and you hit the right kill count for my OXP to offer you Victim1 when you dock. But the IONICS.OXP is still active so it will be putting up it's own mission briefings when you dock and the OXPS conflict, you'll either miss a breifing Assassins is trying to give you or miss a briefing Ionics is trying to give you.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:34 pm
by Murgh
LittleBear wrote:
I can't see anything wrong, but it don't work!
for me the array around death_actions looks like it wouldn't work.
I'd think more like:

Code: Select all

<key>victim1</key> 
<dict> 
<key>like_ship</key> 
<string>adder</string> 
<key>name</key> 
<string>Guild Target : Be Soin - 200C</string> 
<key>has escape_pod</key> 
<false/>	
<key>ai_type</key> 
<string>route1traderAI.plist</string> 
<key>death_actions</key> 
<array>
<string>set: mission_assassins assassins_STAGE1a</string> 
</array>
</dict> 
...

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:58 pm
by Davemak
LittleBear wrote:
PS: Setting the mission is Galaxy 7 is a technical choice rather than cos I wanted to. Galaxys 1 - 5 have native or OXP missions operating. EG: Say your are playing IONICS in Gal 4 and you hit the right kill count for my OXP to offer you Victim1 when you dock. But the IONICS.OXP is still active so it will be putting up it's own mission briefings when you dock and the OXPS conflict, you'll either miss a breifing Assassins is trying to give you or miss a briefing Ionics is trying to give you.
I have no capability to write my name let alone a mission so forgive me. From some of the other threads, isn't it possible to add a delay in so that the messages appear after each other?

So the lucre does mount up the further through the list of contracts that you work? Great :-) I might get out of bed for that one.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:58 pm
by ramon
You probably have, but if you haven't, have you remembered to put this at the beginning of your shipdata.plist :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:59 pm
by leadslug
Is it possible for you to be the target?

i.e.
A little bit too excubert around a rock hermit and kill a pirate who is a member of a guild?

Set a time limit but or still in the galaxy, there is a set of cross-hairs looking for you.

Perhaps you could pay some guild fine to be let off?

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:00 pm
by LittleBear
Ta. Tried that. Still not coming up!

Its not that I want the victims to come up on the screen, its just to test whether Oolite knows my ship is there, before I code the apparence of the ship.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:03 pm
by LittleBear
Obtaining membership of the Galaxy 7 Assassins Guild has many benefits to those who can call themselves "A brother".