Bug in Anarchies & Oolite trunk.

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Bug in Anarchies & Oolite trunk.

Post by Eric Walch »

Today I had several Oolite crashes with the latest trunk version with the following crashlog.

Code: Select all

Thread 0 Crashed:
0   libobjc.A.dylib               	0x93dfd68c objc_msgSend + 28
1   com.apple.CoreFoundation      	0x91721c2a _CFStringAppendFormatAndArgumentsAux + 2874
2   com.apple.CoreFoundation      	0x917233a8 _CFStringCreateWithFormatAndArgumentsAux + 120
3   com.apple.Foundation          	0x953698f6 -[NSPlaceholderString initWithFormat:locale:arguments:] + 86
4   com.apple.Foundation          	0x953a9058 -[NSString initWithFormat:arguments:] + 56
5   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x00074691 OOLogWithFunctionFileAndLineAndArguments + 432 (OOLogging.m:434)
6   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000744df OOLogWithFunctionFileAndLine + 64 (OOLogging.m:416)
7   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000dfc0 -[AI(OOPrivate) loadStateMachine:] + 918 (AI.m:740)
8   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000c5cf -[AI setStateMachine:] + 49 (AI.m:287)
9   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000d2644 -[ShipEntity setUpShipFromDictionary:] + 2745 (ShipEntity.m:264)
10  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000d1aa7 -[ShipEntity initWithDictionary:] + 371 (ShipEntity.m:144)
11  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0004202b -[Universe newShipWithName:] + 989 (Universe.m:2859)
.....
22  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0003ecf8 -[Universe addShips:withRole:nearPosition:withCoordinateSystem:] + 447 (Universe.m:2233)
23  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0009c81b -[PlayerEntity(Scripting) addShipsAt:] + 906 (PlayerEntityLegacyScriptEngine.m:1572)
24  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0016895d SystemLegacyAddShipsAt + 453 (OOJSSystem.m:802)
All started with SystemLegacyAddShipsAt and ended with OOLogWithFunctionFileAndLineAndArguments. It took me some time I discovered the hackers_outpost was the culprit. Searching for a bug in it, it seemed the dock created the bug. At last I found the reason:

Code: Select all

		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>nullAI.plist </string>
Note the trailing space behind the AI definition! Looking at the crashlog it tries to log this AI problem and than crashed on its error report. A few days ago the trunk had no problems.
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Fixed in r2485.
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

Ahruman wrote:
Fixed in r2485.
That's fast. I now do get the new error report on this bug:

Code: Select all

[ai.load.failed.unknownAI] AI.m:739: Can't switch AI for (null) from None allocated:(null) to nullAI.plist  - could not load file.
Only thing left is to correct it in anarchie itself. Although it is the AI of the dock subentity so it will have no real influence on anarchies itself.
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Eric Walch wrote:

Code: Select all

[ai.load.failed.unknownAI] AI.m:739: Can't switch AI for (null) from None allocated:(null) to nullAI.plist  - could not load file.
Hmm. As it turns out, the AI’s owner isn’t set until it’s added to the universe. Seems an odd way of doing things, I wonder if there’s a reason. (I’ve changed “None allocated” to “<none>” for clarity.)
User avatar
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Fixed for Anarchies 2.3 (upload next week, I guess).

Although in my version of Anarchies it's actually a leading SPACE:

Code: Select all

	<key>anarchies-hacker-dock</key>
	<dict>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string> nullAI.plist</string>
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

Commander McLane wrote:
Fixed for Anarchies 2.3 (upload next week, I guess).

Although in my version of Anarchies it's actually a leading SPACE:

Code: Select all

	<key>anarchies-hacker-dock</key>
	<dict>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string> nullAI.plist</string>
My computer is a bit unstable. Such an empty space can just float through space itself.

Probably my bad memory as I immediately fixed it, but later added it back to show it in above rapport.
User avatar
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Eric Walch wrote:
My computer is a bit unstable. Such an empty space can just float through space itself.
:lol:
Post Reply