Problems compiling from Source
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- Diziet Sma
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 6312
- Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
- Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Looking back at your messages, it seems that compilation is failing before an executable is generated, but then your remark about the v(nil) message would indicate that compilation is completing but with errors. Does compilation abort, or complete but with a broken executable?
Also, are you using XP or Vista, 32 or 64 bit?
The discussion above about DTDs are post-compilation steps, btw, your remarks about making an oolite.app folder seem to suggest you're copying them to the folder before compilation. Could you clarify this for me please?
Also, are you using XP or Vista, 32 or 64 bit?
The discussion above about DTDs are post-compilation steps, btw, your remarks about making an oolite.app folder seem to suggest you're copying them to the folder before compilation. Could you clarify this for me please?
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
I am using 32-bit Vista. I am not really sure if the compilation aborts, but I think it does. It compiles a few files then comes up with the error message, then the whole thing ends.
When I made the oolite.app folder, I created a new folder in /Local/oolite/trunk named oolite.app. I then copy the resources folder in /Local/oolite/trunk, and paste it into the oolite.app folder. I then went to my 1.72.2 oolite.app folder and copy the dll files into the oolite.app folder. Then I go into /Local/oolite/bin (or was it /Local/bin?) and paste all dll files in there in to the oolite.app folder. I overwrite anyfiles with the same name. I then type openapp ./oolite.app and I get the blank window with v(nil).
When I made the oolite.app folder, I created a new folder in /Local/oolite/trunk named oolite.app. I then copy the resources folder in /Local/oolite/trunk, and paste it into the oolite.app folder. I then went to my 1.72.2 oolite.app folder and copy the dll files into the oolite.app folder. Then I go into /Local/oolite/bin (or was it /Local/bin?) and paste all dll files in there in to the oolite.app folder. I overwrite anyfiles with the same name. I then type openapp ./oolite.app and I get the blank window with v(nil).
- Diziet Sma
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 6312
- Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
- Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Ok.. none of the above should be necessary, and what it looks like is happening is that your compilation is aborting before an executable file is created. Thus what you end up with is a self-made oolite.app folder with some resources and dll's, but no executable, which is the core of the game itself. Hence the blank window when you use GNUstep (openapp ./oolite.app) to run the game... there is no program to run.Cows wrote:When I made the oolite.app folder, I created a new folder in /Local/oolite/trunk named oolite.app. I then copy the resources folder in /Local/oolite/trunk, and paste it into the oolite.app folder. I then went to my 1.72.2 oolite.app folder and copy the dll files into the oolite.app folder. Then I go into /Local/oolite/bin (or was it /Local/bin?) and paste all dll files in there in to the oolite.app folder. I overwrite anyfiles with the same name. I then type openapp ./oolite.app and I get the blank window with v(nil).
I don't know enough to be able to identify the types of errors that are being reported when you compile, and unfortunately I need to leave now for an appointment, (cause I'd love to try to track it down) but be patient and somebody else should be online before too long who can help further with this.
Best of luck!
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 84
- Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:24 pm
I followed the steps from the Wiki http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Runnin ... rom_source steps 1-10, added the path for the compiler and it worked ok.Cows wrote:Whenever I compile I get this error message:
0 [main] sh 6240 open_stackdumpfile: Dumping stack trace to sh.exe.stackdump
/bin/sh: line 2: 6240 segmentation <core dumped> < echo '' Compiling file src/Core/OOdebugGLDrawing.m ...''; gcc src/Core/OODebugGLDrawing.m -c -MMD -MP -DGNUSTEP -DGNUSTEP_BASE_LIBRARY=1 -DGNU_GUI_LIBRARY=1 =DGNU_RUNTIME=1 -DGNUSTEP_BASE_LIBRARY=1 -DGNU_WITH_DL -DGSWARN -DGSDIAGNOSE -Wno-import -g -02 -fno-strict-aliasing -fgnu-runtime -DLOADSAVEGUI -DWIN32 -DXP_WIN -Wno-import `sd1-config --cflags` -DALLOW_PROCEDURAL_PLANETS -DDOCKING_CLEARANCE_ENABLED -DWORMHOLE_SCANNER -DTARGET_INCOMING_MISSILES -fconstant-string-class=NSConstantString -Ideps/Windows-x86-deps/include -Isrc/SDL -Isrc/Core -Isrc/BSDCompat -Isrc/Core/Scripting -Isrc/Core/Materials -Isrc/Core/Entities -Isrc/Core/OXPVerifier -Isrc/Core/Debug -I. I/home/JOnathan/Gnustep/Library/Headers -I/GNUstep/Local/Library/Headers -I/GNUstep/System/Library/Headers -o obj/OODebugGLDrawing.m.o >
make[1]: *** [obj/OODebugGLDrawing.m.o] Error 139
make: *** [oolite.all.objc-program.variables] Error 2
What did I do wrong?
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Cows, it looks like you have done things that are not specifically mentioned in the instructions. You must follow each instruction very closely and you must download and use the exact versions of software mentioned for the build to be done without problems. From your build command, I see plenty of options passed to the compiler that don't seem to belong anywhere (like -fgnu-runtime, -DGSWARN, -DGSDIAGNOSE, -DGNU_WITH_DL and others) and I am not sure how you tried to do it.
I would recommend trying to build the source following the much simpler instructions found in the sticky thread at the top of this subforum, assuming that your computer can see a D: drive.
I would recommend trying to build the source following the much simpler instructions found in the sticky thread at the top of this subforum, assuming that your computer can see a D: drive.
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 84
- Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:24 pm
And if you don't have a D: drive?another_commander wrote:I would recommend trying to build the source following the much simpler instructions found in the sticky thread at the top of this subforum, assuming that your computer can see a D: drive.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
- Cmdr James
- Commodore
- Posts: 1357
- Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
- Location: Berlin
- Griff
- Oolite 2 Art Director
- Posts: 2483
- Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
- Location: Probably hugging his Air Fryer
that's a clever idea, on a pc i wonder if the command prompt 'subst' command would work?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subst
eg, subst D: C:\myoolitefolder
would make the C:\myoolitefolder folder appear as drive D: in the 'my computer' list. subst D: /d removes it again
edit: it does seem to work, i tested it on a pc in work today. After the build process is done, you can even un subst the 'D' drive and oolite still runs fine from it's folder.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subst
eg, subst D: C:\myoolitefolder
would make the C:\myoolitefolder folder appear as drive D: in the 'my computer' list. subst D: /d removes it again
edit: it does seem to work, i tested it on a pc in work today. After the build process is done, you can even un subst the 'D' drive and oolite still runs fine from it's folder.