Load from anywhere
Moderators: winston, another_commander
Load from anywhere
Many, many times I've wanted to reload an old save in mid-flight, but have found myself unable to do so. While I know that closing out Oolite will let you get to the load screen, it takes time for Oolite to start up again.
Dream as if you'll live forever
Live as if you'll die tomorrow
Live as if you'll die tomorrow
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
Great. The fasted solution I sometime use is just kill myself by flying into a heavy object.another_commander wrote:It is a bit complicated loading a game mid-flight. However, from the next version onwards you will be able to restart a game mid-flight, so it will be possible to load your game as soon as you reappear at Lave.
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
Personally I find player.ship.explode() or player.ship.remove() on the JS console is quite quick and effective, if not quite so satisfying.
And yes, I have been occasionally known to type one or other by accident by omitting a strategic .target from the middle of them
And yes, I have been occasionally known to type one or other by accident by omitting a strategic .target from the middle of them
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages .
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
Thargoid wrote:And yes, I have been occasionally known to type one or other by accident by omitting a strategic .target from the middle of them
Thargoid, a hint. Define a macro in your console by typing:
Code: Select all
:setM kill = player.ship.target.explode()
Code: Select all
:kill
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
My system never seems to save such macros from session to session. How should you get them to be saved, and where are they recorded?
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages .
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
Hmm, maybe it is a mac-only feature. On mac they are stored in the personal library area.Thargoid wrote:My system never seems to save such macros from session to session. How should you get them to be saved, and where are they recorded?
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
In the Debug.oxp/Config folder, open in an editor the file debugConfig.plist. Inside the section named macros add this
Save, start debug console, start Oolite with Shift, select target and type
in the console.
Boom.
Code: Select all
"killTarget" = "player.ship.target.explode()";
Code: Select all
:killTarget
Boom.
Thanks. It's the one thing I'd never figured out with the console, how to save the macros when defined.
Would it be possible for the next version to either have defined macros saved automatically, or to have a command to do so in the JS console?
Just for those who are maybe less adept at config hacking. Plus I guess this info (with perhaps a different example macro) might be worth adding into the wiki somewhere?
Would it be possible for the next version to either have defined macros saved automatically, or to have a command to do so in the JS console?
Just for those who are maybe less adept at config hacking. Plus I guess this info (with perhaps a different example macro) might be worth adding into the wiki somewhere?
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages .
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
- Cmdr James
- Commodore
- Posts: 1357
- Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
- Location: Berlin
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
I was meaning to have a debug console command to save macros that are currently created. At the moment it's less than obvious that you need to edit the file to "save" your commands permanently, and whilst you can create macros on the fly in the console when you close down they are lost. That for me wouldn't be expected behaviour, I would expect either the console to automatically update the plist to reflect what has been created, or for there to be a "save macro" command to trigger such an update perhaps.
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages .
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
It was probably intended to save them as on the mac I just define them and they are available on the next startup. Probably implementation on the windows side is more problematic or just overlooked as the first console release was mac only.Thargoid wrote:I was meaning to have a debug console command to save macros that are currently created. At the moment it's less than obvious that you need to edit the file to "save" your commands permanently.....
EDIT:
With me on the mac it is written out into oolites cache file, were also all other oolite stuff is automatically cached on quitting. Data Cache.plist--> Root --> caches --> dictionaries --> 51 --> key: Config/debugConfig.plist merge:basic
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions