Hi again...
since a spaceship captain has the requirement for entertainment, especially when the flight takes a little bit longer due to missing injectable fuel, I am currently running the game most of the time in window mode with my second screen enabled to watch movies or browse the internet (especially hanging around here).
Two things would enhance this:
1) When running in window mode, it would be nice, if the app starts in maximized size. Currently the window is small, but located across both screens. There is a windows command to do this rescaling...if necessary I can launch my development machine and look in the code of my own (strategy) game
2) When running full-screen, the second screen is unused, but blanked. Several games do this, but not all. I always consider this behaviour as a bug, as there's a reason when I have the second screen enabled while playing. However, I don't know how this could be fixed.
Screet
PC: FullScreen and Window enhancements...
Moderators: winston, another_commander
You can edit the bat file, remove the echo off in the first line...
now run the bat file...
in the bar of the bat file window, rightclick and pick properties...
set everything to as small as possible... you need to experiment a bit.. this way you can make the window really small and put it into a corner...
You can also modify the shortcut instead, however, do not pick run minimized as this will minimize Oolite too...
as for maximizing Oolite, just double click the bar on the Oolite window.. there is no default way of running it in maximized size
now run the bat file...
in the bar of the bat file window, rightclick and pick properties...
set everything to as small as possible... you need to experiment a bit.. this way you can make the window really small and put it into a corner...
You can also modify the shortcut instead, however, do not pick run minimized as this will minimize Oolite too...
as for maximizing Oolite, just double click the bar on the Oolite window.. there is no default way of running it in maximized size
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
Number 935
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6681
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Yes it does. On Windoze you can resize by dragging anywhere on the border and also insta-maximize by doubleclicking the title bar. But this is not the point. The request is to have this happening by default.
To me, this is way down in the priority list. In fact, when I am working on the game, I need to have a bunch of windows open: The game window, the compiler window, the editor window, the debugger window and sometimes even Mr. Task Manager himself. So, maximizing the game window is unproductive for me, especially when it is so easy for one to set the game to full screen if so they require and go ahead.
Might consider something like this for the future, but definitely not right now.
To me, this is way down in the priority list. In fact, when I am working on the game, I need to have a bunch of windows open: The game window, the compiler window, the editor window, the debugger window and sometimes even Mr. Task Manager himself. So, maximizing the game window is unproductive for me, especially when it is so easy for one to set the game to full screen if so they require and go ahead.
Might consider something like this for the future, but definitely not right now.
Please, noooo. I have a lot of windows open too. If somebody needs something like this she/he can useanother_commander wrote:To me, this is way down in the priority list. In fact, when I am working on the game, I need to have a bunch of windows open: The game window, the compiler window, the editor window, the debugger window and sometimes even Mr. Task Manager himself. So, maximizing the game window is unproductive for me, especially when it is so easy for one to set the game to full screen if so they require and go ahead.
Might consider something like this for the future, but definitely not right now.
Code: Select all
window_height = <*I768>;
window_width = <*I1024>;
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6681
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
You can actually make your window maximized (not exactly, but close enough) by applying this hack:
1. Edit your RunOolite.bat file and add this line above the last one:
2. Launch the game. The game window will be positioned at top left. Unfortunately the title bar will be hidden.
3. Drag the window border with the mouse until window covers the entire screen. This is as maximized as it will get.
4. Exit the game. Your new window height and width will be saved and next time Oolite is launched, it will start up in a window covering the entire screen.
5. Profit.
1. Edit your RunOolite.bat file and add this line above the last one:
Code: Select all
set SDL_VIDEO_WINDOW_POS=0,0
3. Drag the window border with the mouse until window covers the entire screen. This is as maximized as it will get.
4. Exit the game. Your new window height and width will be saved and next time Oolite is launched, it will start up in a window covering the entire screen.
5. Profit.