Screenshots

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
Star Gazer
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: North Norfolk, UK, (Average Agricultural, Feudal States,Tech Level 8)

Post by Star Gazer »

Absolutely! I'm sure Giles is really proud of you guys and the amount of work you've all put into keeping the game growing in stature. 8)
Very funny, Scotty, now beam down my clothes...
User avatar
CaptKev
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK

Post by CaptKev »

Rusty Stingray
Image
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Post by pagroove »

@ CaptKev

How do I add my Lave texture to only Lave? Because now it's a temporarily replacement the System Redux Texture that happened to be layered over the planet Lave.

Please explain it in a sort of dummy guide 8)
I can also send the texture to you if you want.

I now have to add a cloud layer.
Last edited by pagroove on Mon May 19, 2008 9:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
User avatar
CaptKev
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK

Post by CaptKev »

pagroove wrote:
@ CaptKev

How do I add my Lave texture to only Lave. Because now it's a temporarily replacement the System Redux Texture that happened to be layered over the planet Lave.

Please explain it in a sort of dummy guide 8)
I can also send the texture to you if you want.
Add this code just before the call to system.mainPlanet.setTexture

Code: Select all

		if ((galaxyNumber * 256 + system.ID) == 7) {

			system.mainPlanet.setTexture('my_lave_texture.png');
			return;
		}
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

Image
This will come the next days... (maybe as player ship?)

@ CaptKev: Nice new shot :-)
User avatar
TGHC
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC »

It's a Lamborghini Mura!
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"
User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Post by pagroove »

@CaptKev.

Do I have to make a planetinfo.plist for this and then put these lines of code into it or is more needed?

@Svengali

It's a design beauty!
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
User avatar
CaptKev
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK

Post by CaptKev »

@pagroove, edit script.js in the Config folder (use wordpad or something similar), the system.mainPlanet.setTexture call is near to the bottom.

@Svengali, that looks like one mean machine. 8)
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Post by pagroove »

I added an atmosphere to Lave :D

DomicaL is meant to be Domica (typing error)

Image
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Post by pagroove »

I can't get it to work. The texture name is Lave.png. I have 2 versions. One big sized and one for the 256*128 set. I added this code. Do I have to fill in: galaxynumber = 0 and then the planet number 20, 173??

I did this an then it still isn't working.

Code: Select all

this.homePlanet = function()
{
	if (oolite.compareVersion("1.71") != 1) {


if ((galaxyNumber * 256 + system.ID) == 7) {

         system.mainPlanet.setTexture('Lave.png');
         return;
      } 


system.mainPlanet.setTexture('home_planet' + (((system_info[galaxyNumber * 256 + system.ID] & 0xF000) >> 12) + 1) + '.png');
	} else {
		var radius = system.mainPlanet.radius / 2560;
		var type = (system_info[galaxyNumber * 256 + system.ID] & 0xF000) >> 12;
   
		system.addMoon(type + "planet" + (radius.toFixed(0) - 11));
:shock:
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

Hi Pagroove,

It looks like the code should work.

One problem could be the cache. Oolite preloads scripts and textures in order to run faster, and it could still load an old copy of the script. To clear the cache, keep 'shift' pressed as you start oolite.

And if that doesn't do the trick: is Lave.png in the same place as the other planet textures? Maybe oolite can't find it because it's somewhere else...

If the problem is the cached script, you'll see the 'normal' system redux texture on Lave, if it's oolite not being able to find Lave.png, Lave will be untextured...

Hope this helps! :)
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

You will need an else block. This code replaces the planets texture with your texture and then with the 'original' system_redux texture. So you won't see your work.

Code: Select all

if ((galaxyNumber * 256 + system.ID) == 7) {

         system.mainPlanet.setTexture('Lave.png');
         return;
      }
else {
           the rest of the code
}
User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

@svengali: not really! :)

Code: Select all

if(something) {

...blah blah blah....

return;
}
edit: jargon alert!

if something it's true the function returns without executing any of the code after the if block, if it's false, the if block doesn't get executed, and all the remainder of the function is executed.... :)

in other words the else is entirely optional, and just adds the chance of making bracketing mistakes...
Last edited by Kaks on Tue May 20, 2008 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Post by pagroove »

Hi Kaks,

Do you have to include the file extension .png after the name?
Because it still doesn't work.

The texture Lave.png is in the addons/Sytem-Redux.oxp/textures and in the addons/System-Redux.opx/textures 128*256 folder (resized to 129 * 256

I pressed shift when starting up
I jumped out and back into the system

Both things don't work
is the function case sensitive?

Shall I send the texture to you? Maybe you can include it for me?
Anyway thanx for the help.
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

Kaks wrote:
@svengali: not really! :)

if something it's true the function returns without executing any of the code after the if block, if it's false, the if block doesn't get executed, and all the remainder of the function is executed.... :)

in other words the else is entirely optional, and just adds the chance of making bracketing mistakes...
Ah. Thanks Kaks for an explanation. I didn't noticed the return, but now I understand some more of your scripts :-)

(One step more, hehe)
Post Reply