Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Player asp cannot mount Fuel scoop

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Player asp cannot mount Fuel scoop

Post by Frame »

what topic says... I caught this because i copied its entry, wondering why I could not buy the fuel scoop for my ship.

so I bought an asp, and my suspicion was confirmed.. The asp cannot mount the fuel scoop because it is not in optional_equipment, and the Fuel scoop has not set available_to_all, meaning it defaults to false..

while I endorse that not all ships should have the ability to mount scoops., I would suggest that this also where expanded to include the missiles.

However in a fashion such that OXP ships can set an option like

Code: Select all

ship_incompatible_with_equipment =
(
     "EQ_MISSILE",
     "EQ_FUEL" //(for example the sidewinder)
)
when incompatible with fuel the ship should not be able to carry any at all..

Of course for the ASP itself the relevant entry in optional_equipment should be made

Cheers Frame
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

I wonder how the bug went unnoticed in the first place... Oh, well...

Good point with the feature request, that way people could play a 'realistitic' sidewinder game when using illicit unlock...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

Kaks wrote:
I wonder how the bug went unnoticed in the first place... Oh, well...
I don't think this is a bug but intentionally. The asp is a pure fighter without any extras. e.g. it has also no cargo bay. (max_cargo = 0). So it can't use scoops to pick up cargo and it was very likely intended that it could only refuel at the station (and no sunskimming)
User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

Thanks Eric for clarifying that point! :)
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame »

Eric Walch wrote:
Kaks wrote:
I wonder how the bug went unnoticed in the first place... Oh, well...
I don't think this is a bug but intentionally. The asp is a pure fighter without any extras. e.g. it has also no cargo bay. (max_cargo = 0). So it can't use scoops to pick up cargo and it was very likely intended that it could only refuel at the station (and no sunskimming)
hmm yes,, remember now... a quirk or something happend to my ASP back in the day, where I got an ASP with 10 tons of cargo..

thought it had a 10 ton cargo bay... I usually know these figures by heart...
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

still think it is a bug, not intended behaviour

Post by Frame »

hmm I just thought about it

still think it is a bug, not intended behaviour

A pirate ASP has the same stats but with a scoop(0.98999999999999999) and no cargo space makes no sense... in fact, I'm pretty certain it triggers "HOLD_FULL" in unusual ways.. and explains some of the strange behaviour I have always seen ASPs to have, as in they do not engage you..

The ASP is larger than the Constrictor, that did as far as we know, only have experimental shields withstanding anything but military lasers., and the constrictor has 15 t of cargo space. and 0.6 lm speed..

(is the constrictor even protected by source against beam and pulse lasers as it should be ?)

Also as this is a trading game, the ASP should really have some cargo space, I think 7-10 t sounds about right, since a mamba at 0.320 lm speed, can carry 10 ton..

And that it cannot mount a fuel scoop, is an oversight since you should all-ways be able to scoop fuel, as a player as this was one of the "key features" of the classic game.

in this case one thing does not exclude the other, since if your cargo hold is full/or none exist-ant you cannot scoop gold/gems/platinum anyway, since these will occupy 1 ton Pr. scooped cargo pod regardless of the amount of gold/gem/platinum within it. that is until you dock, then gold/gems and platinum is moved to your cockpit..

So it should really have a scoop.. and the pirate asp some cargo space to prevent unusual AI behaviour...
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
Cmdr James
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by Cmdr James »

It seems to me that the asp is not intended to have a scoop, or cargo, and should have both removed from npc models.

I dont see this as a problem. Not every ship needs to be a good choice for players. In fact I would like to see more difficult choices in buying ships.
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame »

Cmdr James wrote:
It seems to me that the asp is not intended to have a scoop, or cargo, and should have both removed from npc models.

I dont see this as a problem. Not every ship needs to be a good choice for players. In fact I would like to see more difficult choices in buying ships.
The thing is, that the player has no way of knowing that it cannot mount a scoop, since there is no listing of what equipment is compatible.. a low tech level fuel scoop would presumably be able to be mounted on a high tech ASP...

And also a real problem:

PirateAI.plist

"HOLD_FULL"

When no hold is existent

Code: Select all

"ATTACK_SHIP" = {
        ATTACKED = (setTargetToPrimaryAggressor, "setStateTo: ATTACK_SHIP"); 
        "ENERGY_LOW" = ("setStateTo: FLEE"); 
        ENTER = (performAttack); 
        EXIT = (); 
        "INCOMING_MISSILE" = (fightOrFleeMissile, "setStateTo: FLEE"); 
        "TARGET_DESTROYED" = ("setStateTo: COLLECT_LOOT"); 
        "TARGET_LOST" = ("setStateTo: COLLECT_LOOT"); 
		"ENTER WORMHOLE" = ("setStateTo: ENTER_WORMHOLE");
        UPDATE = (); 
    }; 
    "COLLECT_LOOT" = {
        ATTACKED = (setTargetToPrimaryAggressor, "setStateTo: ATTACK_SHIP"); 
        ENTER = ("setSpeedTo: 0.0", performIdle); 
        EXIT = (); 
        "HOLD_FULL" = ("setStateTo: EXIT_SYSTEM"); 
        "GROUP_ATTACK_TARGET" = (setTargetToFoundTarget, "setStateTo: ATTACK_SHIP"); 
        "INCOMING_MISSILE" = (fightOrFleeMissile, "setStateTo: FLEE"); 
        "TARGET_FOUND" = (setTargetToFoundTarget, "setStateTo: LOOT"); 
        "NOTHING_FOUND" = ("setStateTo: CONSIDER_DOCKING"); 
		"ENTER WORMHOLE" = ("setStateTo: ENTER_WORMHOLE");
        UPDATE = (scanForLoot, "pauseAI: 5.0"); 
    }; 
    "EXIT_SYSTEM" = {
		ENTER = ();
		EXIT = ();
		UPDATE = (performHyperSpaceExit);
		"WITCHSPACE OKAY" = (wormholeEscorts, wormholeGroup);
		"WITCHSPACE BLOCKED" = (setTargetToFoundTarget, setDestinationWithinTarget, "setDesiredRangeTo: 10000.0", performFlyToRangeFromDestination);
		"WITCHSPACE UNAVAILABLE" = ("setStateTo: DOCK_WITH_STATION");
	}; 
Without knowing precisely what goes on... this looks like that it could trigger the entire pirate group to hyperspace out.. or head for the station... once the first target has been destroyed, if the response is "HOLD_FULL".. when the cargo hold is checked for the NPC pirate ASP
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
Cmdr James
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by Cmdr James »

Frame wrote:
a low tech level fuel scoop would presumably be able to be mounted on a high tech ASP...
Tech has nothing to do with it, would you be surprised if a high tech Lamborghini didnt have a tow bar allowing "fitting" of a low tech caravan?

I agree that there are two problems:

1) a player cannot easily discover what is fittable to a ship.
2) the pirate AI is not very good for pirates without scoops or hold. I think there might be a case here for a different AI for fighters working with something like a python.
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame »

Cmdr James wrote:
Frame wrote:
a low tech level fuel scoop would presumably be able to be mounted on a high tech ASP...
Tech has nothing to do with it, would you be surprised if a high tech Lamborghini didnt have a tow bar allowing "fitting" of a low tech caravan?
No, but I'm pretty sure I could attach one if I wanted too ;-) (me and the welding machines at work), and make it through inspection what it would have to do here, if I did..

While I'm unaware what is a sports "spaceship" is, I cannot be presumed to make an educated guess to what can be attached to these, and I cannot ask the dealer about the compatibility while in-game.

so maybe a nice new screen that brings up the ship stats, listing the compatibilities... would be cool..

Cheers Frame
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

Frame wrote:
IAnd also a real problem:

PirateAI.plist

"HOLD_FULL"

When no hold is existent

Without knowing precisely what goes on... this looks like that it could trigger the entire pirate group to hyperspace out.. or head for the station...
It looks that way, but it does not happen because the "HOLD_FULL" is only generated then the hold is full after a successful scoop. Or when queried with the command: checkForFullHold
Still with the old code it was a difficult to write correct AI for ships that have no cargo bay. Therefor, since 1.73, the code will also return "NO_CARGO_BAY" for ships without bay. See 1.73 version of pirateAI :

Code: Select all

    "CHECK_CARGO" = {
        ENTER = ("setSpeedTo: 0.0", performIdle, checkForFullHold); 
        ATTACKED = (setTargetToPrimaryAggressor, "setStateTo: ATTACK_SHIP"); 
        "ATTACKED_BY_CLOAKED" = ("setStateTo: FLEE_FOR_CLOAKED"); 
        "HOLD_FULL" = ("setStateTo: CONSIDER_LEAVING"); 
        "HOLD_NOT_FULL" = ("setStateTo: COLLECT_LOOT"); 
        "NO_CARGO_BAY" = ("setStateTo: CONSIDER_DOCKING"); 
        "GROUP_ATTACK_TARGET" = (setTargetToFoundTarget, "setStateTo: ATTACK_SHIP"); 
        "INCOMING_MISSILE" = (fightOrFleeMissile, "setStateTo: FLEE"); 
		"ENTER WORMHOLE" = ("setStateTo: ENTER_WORMHOLE");
	}; 
"setStateTo: CONSIDER_DOCKING" looks a bit strange, but it only considers docking when the ship has a mother station. (e.g. when originally launched from a pirate cove or other station). In all other cases the pirate starts "lurking". But I agree that a pirate without hold only makes sense when operating in a group that contains members that do have a cargo bay.
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame »

Thanks Eric ...

Apparently I had an old AI.plist open in my editor, along with 32 other files.
I see the cargo hold checks now.
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
Hoopy
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Durham, England

Re: Player asp cannot mount Fuel scoop

Post by Hoopy »

Chopped Cobra seems to be just the thing. A tiny smidge slower than the Asp (0.38 vs 0.4) but goes from 1 to 3 missiles slots and 0 to 33 (when extended) tonnes of cargo. Plus it's cheaper :)

I've deliberately avoided getting many OXP ships as they can be over-powered but this one seems to be basically like an Asp as in Frontier etc so I'm more than happy. Looks nice too!

Thanks again :)
6030 kills. so far...
User avatar
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Re: Player asp cannot mount Fuel scoop

Post by Commander McLane »

This thread seems an odd choice for posting something about a Chopped Cobra.

Firstly, it's about a totally different ship (and for a very specific issue with that ship), and secondly, it was dead for almost three years.

We don't condemn thread necromancy as such, but at least the new post should have some relevance for the resurrected thread. Resurrecting a dead thread solely for the purpose of derailing it seems a little silly even for our standards.
User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6311
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Player asp cannot mount Fuel scoop

Post by Diziet Sma »

Commander McLane wrote:
This thread seems an odd choice for posting something about a Chopped Cobra.

Firstly, it's about a totally different ship (and for a very specific issue with that ship), and secondly, it was dead for almost three years.

We don't condemn thread necromancy as such, but at least the new post should have some relevance for the resurrected thread. Resurrecting a dead thread solely for the purpose of derailing it seems a little silly even for our standards.
If you read the few posts after this one, you'll see that it's very relevant indeed.. :roll:
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
Post Reply