missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix
- Okti
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 700
- Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:51 pm
- Location: A GH shop, near witchpoint to Oresrati in Galaxy 8
missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Hi,
One of the OXP's I wrote was handling missionScreenEnded in 1.74.2 and it worked fine. But the trunk version 1.75.0.4324 seems not to raise the event.
Any Idea?
Okti
One of the OXP's I wrote was handling missionScreenEnded in 1.74.2 and it worked fine. But the trunk version 1.75.0.4324 seems not to raise the event.
Any Idea?
Okti
- Okti
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 700
- Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:51 pm
- Location: A GH shop, near witchpoint to Oresrati in Galaxy 8
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Bug is confirmed by gizmo as well in Expansions packs
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
To save the programmers / debuggers some searching:
relevant post: https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?p=129697#p129697
trunk version: 4341 (Linux)
Edited to add:
I'll try again with trunk version 4351.
relevant post: https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?p=129697#p129697
trunk version: 4341 (Linux)
Edited to add:
I'll try again with trunk version 4351.
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Same problem with build 4351
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
The mission screen handling introduced in 1.74 doesn't require manually untangling different mission screens using missionScreenEnded.
I believe there was a 'warning: deprecated' attached to that event at some point, but somehow that warning doesn't seem to have made it to the wiki documentation yet...
I believe there was a 'warning: deprecated' attached to that event at some point, but somehow that warning doesn't seem to have made it to the wiki documentation yet...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
We’ve been through this elsewhere. :-)Kaks wrote:The mission screen handling introduced in 1.74 doesn't require manually untangling different mission screens using missionScreenEnded.
Turns out somebody implemented a complete replacement for
missionScreenEnded()
in all the cases it used to be relevant, then added new situations where the replacements aren’t useful…E-mail: [email protected]
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Tsk!
I suppose missionScreenEnded (& maybe a mission.screenRunning bool) might still prove useful to those reckless enough to want to program mission screens while in flight...
About the docked situation: unfortunately, it's still perfectly possible to overlap mission screens while docked by totally ignoring missionScreenOpportunity, and putting mission.runScreen()s inside shipSdockedWithStation instead...
I suppose missionScreenEnded (& maybe a mission.screenRunning bool) might still prove useful to those reckless enough to want to program mission screens while in flight...
About the docked situation: unfortunately, it's still perfectly possible to overlap mission screens while docked by totally ignoring missionScreenOpportunity, and putting mission.runScreen()s inside shipSdockedWithStation instead...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
...which is especially true for old, not-yet-updated OXPs. *peers over his spectacles at the person in the mirror*Kaks wrote:About the docked situation: unfortunately, it's still perfectly possible to overlap mission screens while docked by totally ignoring missionScreenOpportunity, and putting mission.runScreen()s inside shipSdockedWithStation instead...
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Kaks wrote:I suppose missionScreenEnded (& maybe a mission.screenRunning bool)
guiScreen === "GUI_SCREEN_MISSION"
E-mail: [email protected]
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Problem solved!
By the way, I'm under the impression it was perfectly feasible to run mission screens while in flight for both 1.73 & 1.72 - the only 'minor annoyance' there would be that the player couldn't select any options...
By the way, I'm under the impression it was perfectly feasible to run mission screens while in flight for both 1.73 & 1.72 - the only 'minor annoyance' there would be that the player couldn't select any options...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Okti
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 700
- Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:51 pm
- Location: A GH shop, near witchpoint to Oresrati in Galaxy 8
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Thanks Kaks,
Being one of the reckless, trying to use mission screens during flight for cheating purposes, I think some of the OXP writers can find it usefull to give commands to their squadron or many clever things can be done.
Priming an equipment, is realy good in version 1.75. But I believe if it is supported by mission screens with choices this option can be used cleverly.
Okti
Being one of the reckless, trying to use mission screens during flight for cheating purposes, I think some of the OXP writers can find it usefull to give commands to their squadron or many clever things can be done.
Priming an equipment, is realy good in version 1.75. But I believe if it is supported by mission screens with choices this option can be used cleverly.
Okti
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
I would have thought you could run mission screens with primed equipment:
is just another way of saying: run the function called 'callback' when the mission screen is ended (either by the player making a choice, or pressing F1, for example)
Code: Select all
mission.runScreen(parameters, callback);
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Okti
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 700
- Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:51 pm
- Location: A GH shop, near witchpoint to Oresrati in Galaxy 8
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
This Method Works Fine.
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
Specially in fighting situations missionscreens (or when should group members get commands?) are bad and if I get this right exactly that's why Ramirez isn't using it. I'm playing with different approaches for a while now and screens are the worst option.
I think using a clever structure with primable EQs only is the way to go.
I think using a clever structure with primable EQs only is the way to go.
Re: missionScreenEnded does not work in trunk 1.75.0.4324
True, Ramirez temporary missiles/instruction icons seems the best option yet for battle situations, though that does make that equipment only available if the player has at least X missile pylons in total...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)