I think you're right ... the novelty would wear off pretty quickly!another_commander wrote:From a player's standpoint, I don't think I would like anything that would make me work on a report screen. This screen is meant to be viewed quickly and then be out of the way. In addition to that, I would rather not change that particular screen's type from Report to Dialog.
Split: Cargo bug
Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix
- Disembodied
- Jedi Spam Assassin
- Posts: 6885
- Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
- Location: Carter's Snort
- Disembodied
- Jedi Spam Assassin
- Posts: 6885
- Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
- Location: Carter's Snort
How about something likeEric Walch wrote:After thinking it thru, I think insurance giving priority on scooping will give the behaviour most players would expect.
But ignoring the bounty on docking takes away a lot of the detail that went into character creation. So I now have the feeling we should add a new type of message that shows that the pilot has both a bounty and an insurance. Maybe even two different messages:Any ideas about this and propositions for a short text in line with existing messages?
- - In high governments its more likely he is imprisoned after all giving a reward to the player.
- In low government a higher chance the pilot is released and the player receives the insurance.
High government wrote:Police officers escort the loudly protesting [pilot name] away. Instead of an insurance payment you receive a bounty chit worth [X] ₢.
Low government wrote:Police officers are waiting for [pilot name], but after a hasty discussion and an exchange of Credits they depart. [Pilot names]'s insurance pays you [Y] ₢.
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
That would be another possibility, but I never have encountered a bug with missing cargo before. The only theoretical possibility is to define a pilot in the character.plist and give that pilot a script. Only pilots with a script attached don't award slaves themselves, but make the script responsible for it. But character.plists are rare, and those with scripts even rarer. Thus very unlikely.snork wrote:I like that.
About Eric Walch not being able to reproduce the Disembodied bug - from reading it seemed to occur when along with the escape pods one ton of slaves was scooped in a cargo pod, not escape pod ?
In the mean time have I my code working. Not yet with a definitive message, that will be a next step.
To get the pilots faster, I defined a console macro that first awarded an escape-pod to the ship, and than ejected the pilot. That way I even got pilots from ships that originally had no pod to eject.
Interestingly I found two new bugs that way:
1) When the ship had a custom escope-pod defined in its shipdata, but that pod did not exist because of a spelling error, no pod at all was released. Instead an error was logged. Fixed now by falling back to the default escape-pod in such cases.
2) When ejecting a pilot from an escort, nearby the station aegis, the empty escorts were never removed from the mothers group. So when mom entered the aegis, it gave all its escorts an dockingAI, including the abandoned ships. The hulks suddenly started flying again! Fixed now.
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
Does Oolite still give an error/warning then? Without entry in Latest.log it will be hard to spot.Eric Walch wrote:1) When the ship had a custom escope-pod defined in its shipdata, but that pod did not exist because of a spelling error, no pod at all was released. Instead an error was logged. Fixed now by falling back to the default escape-pod in such cases.
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
Added a warning about wrong "escape_pod_model" in combination with ship dump now because you are right.Svengali wrote:Does Oolite still give an error/warning then? Without entry in Latest.log it will be hard to spot.Eric Walch wrote:1) When the ship had a custom escope-pod defined in its shipdata, but that pod did not exist because of a spelling error, no pod at all was released. Instead an error was logged. Fixed now by falling back to the default escape-pod in such cases.
I had the warning:
Code: Select all
[ShipEntity.abandonShip.notPossible]: Ship <ShipEntity 0x101f34a00>{"Boa Class Cruiser" position: (-36563.8, 76277.9, 417979) scanClass: CLASS_NEUTRAL status: STATUS_IN_FLIGHT} cannot be abandoned at this time.
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
"Boa Class Cruiser" ...cannot be abandoned at this time.
Sounds like Boa Class Cruisers are getting "punked" pretty often as well.
Unless you've got some special OXPs installed, those are almost certainly non-pirate ships...so something pretty nasty is probably hitting them.
Only times I see Boa 2's die tends to be when they're grossly outnumbered or they run into something.
What kind of meat-grinder do you have going on in your game?
Sounds like Boa Class Cruisers are getting "punked" pretty often as well.
Unless you've got some special OXPs installed, those are almost certainly non-pirate ships...so something pretty nasty is probably hitting them.
Only times I see Boa 2's die tends to be when they're grossly outnumbered or they run into something.
What kind of meat-grinder do you have going on in your game?
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
It was the boa from Neolite.oxp.Switeck wrote:"Boa Class Cruiser" ...cannot be abandoned at this time.
Sounds like Boa Class Cruisers are getting "punked" pretty often as well....
What kind of meat-grinder do you have going on in your game?
I didn't like that is was replacing the core ships, so I renamed all the ship-keys to unique names. This way I have the neolites alongside existing ships, instead of replacing the existing ships. Somehow I made a name-error with the escape_pod_model used by that specific ship. Because defining an escape_pod_model in current ships is very rare, I didn't think at that cause for the problem.
Back to pods with both bounty and insurance. Trader pilots should already have their bounty cleared according to the code. Maybe I did get the escort pilot when I got the inconsistent message. I fact most pilots for ships in populator roles get either the bounty or the insurance cleared after character generation. So both values present should only happen for ships in custom roles, escorts and original clean pilots ejecting from a ship with a bounty.
On the subject of messages for pilots with both insurance and bounty I used both Pagrooves version and one I had in mind:
Code: Select all
"rescue-reward-for-@@-@-credits-@-alt" = (
"For rescuing %@, %@, their insurance pays %@ ₢. This includes a %@ ₢ bribe for clearing the offender status.\n",
"Police officers are waiting for %@, %@, but after a hasty discussion and an exchange of Credits they depart. Insurance pays you %@ ₢. (%@ ₢ went into the bribe).\n"
);
"capture-reward-for-@@-@-credits-@-alt" = (
"For capturing %@, %@, you’re paid a bounty of %@ ₢. The insurance fee of %@ goes to governmental taxes.\n",
"Police officers escort the loudly protesting %@, %@, away. You receive a bounty chit worth %@ ₢ instead of an insurance payment of %@ ₢.\n"
);
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions