Multiple joysticks (Windows)

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

SilverBullet
Poor
Poor

Multiple joysticks (Windows)

Post by SilverBullet »

Hi everybody,
I've been playing Oolite for a couple of years now on various Linux systems without having any major problems.

Now, today I visited a friend of mine and somehow the direction of our conversation slowly drifted towards Oolite. I explained to him how great it is and how much time one can spend playing it.

Problem is (and that's a major one) he's a Windows7 user.
Anyway, I installed the software, fired it up and it was running fine...

...except for a minor roadblock which I couldn't overcome.
His joystick #1 is a Thrustmaster TH8RS 8-speed H-pattern gear shifter.
Joystick #2 is the 'real' one we were trying to configure - and couldn't.

The Configuration window showed Stick1 as the Thrustmaster shifter and there was no way to toggle to joystick #2.
That wouldn't be a problem at all on a Linux system, but here on Windows it was a show stopper.

Here's the question: How do I solve this problem?
I did reconfigure a couple of keys in the 'GNUstepDefaults' file, but that's just an ugly work-around. A soon as someone without inside knowledge tries to remap a button or axis in game, then the configuration is lost.

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot.
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Re: Multiple joysticks (Windows)

Post by another_commander »

SilverBullet wrote:
The Configuration window showed Stick1 as the Thrustmaster shifter and there was no way to toggle to joystick #2.
That wouldn't be a problem at all on a Linux system, but here on Windows it was a show stopper
Can you please expand on this a bit? Why would it not be a problem on Linux? Do you mean that it wouldn't matter if Stick #2 couldn't be configured or that there is an in-game way to configure it in Linux that doesn't work on Windows?