Proceedural skyboxes?

An area for discussing new ideas and additions to Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Goose
Poor
Poor

Proceedural skyboxes?

Post by Goose »

Hi all,

Not sure if this is a realistic suggestion or more of a 'wish' but I think it would be cool if the background skybox could perhaps be generated depending on where you were in the galaxy- if you were starting at Lave you'd be able to see the galaxy spread out a bit like the background in Frontier, but the closer you got to the centre the brighter and more nebular-y the background would get.

I'm no programmer but maybe these could be proceedurally generated from a 3D model of the galaxy rather that by having hundreds of sky boxes?

Just a suggestion really, but I think it would give a really cool impression of 'travelling' the galaxy, you could even have things like the T. Pulsar or similar visable from neigbouring systems!

Cheers,
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Post by another_commander »

The skies you see when you visit a system are procedurally generated. The system's seed is used for positioning stars and nebulae. Also the number of stars and nebulae depends on that seed. So your wish is already partially fulfilled.

Unfortunately, the rest of what you are requesting is a bit on the improbable side. The reason is that the universe is regenerated from the ground up whenever you hyperspace. All information is recreated and no static data survives between systems (with maybe the exception of scanned wormholes from 1.73 onwards). Also, the galaxy is just a set of systems on a 2D plane, so there are really no outer and inner planets to determine what a galaxy background would look like.