An infinite number of Galaxies and other ideas

An area for discussing new ideas and additions to Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Dr. Substrate
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

An infinite number of Galaxies and other ideas

Post by Dr. Substrate »

Let me start this post by saying that you have done a GREAT job of recreating the game Elite! I have been a big fan of the game for close to 20 years and have waited in anticipation of some one remaking the game. (I originally played in on the Commodore 64 (and I am in the US))

I have been kicking around an idea for some time. Elite has one of the biggest playing fields ever. 200 stars per galaxy 10 galaxies (If memory serves me correctly) How about expanding on that playing field. ;)

I will say that I am not a programmer but have had classes on programing so I do understand some of it. :D

How about using a fractal calculation to generate the galaxy on the fly. You will need to store a single number (Entry point) to recreate the galaxy at load time. This could also be used to generate a galactic map to allow you to choose the galaxy you wish to jump to.

This could be expanded on to allow for different star types, inhabited vs uninhabited solar systems, spacial anomalies, debri fields, etc.
Rxke
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin

Post by Rxke »

You'd have to find a way to cater for existing missions, then... Now, every planet has a number, and some missions rely on the numbers *and* relative placements of planets (rondabout mission, for instance...)
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus

Re: An infinite number of Galaxies and other ideas

Post by JensAyton »

Dr. Substrate wrote:
How about using a fractal calculation to generate the galaxy on the fly. You will need to store a single number (Entry point) to recreate the galaxy at load time. This could also be used to generate a galactic map to allow you to choose the galaxy you wish to jump to.