Change Ship Size (Dimensions)

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

woody22075
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Change Ship Size (Dimensions)

Post by woody22075 »

I am new to oolite. How does one change a ships size (exterior dimensions) from an .oxp? sounds like cheating, but i am starting with modifying existing oxp's before designing my own. thank you for any input.
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin

Re: Change Ship Size (Dimensions)

Post by Smivs »

Hi woody22075, and welcome to the friendliest board this side of Riedquat.

I'm afraid you can't change the ship dimensions as they are dependent on the model used. You'd have to start from scratch and make a new model if you wanted a 'bigger' version of anything.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
woody22075
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Post by woody22075 »

But couldn't I change the dimensions of a current model (from an add on oxp)? thanks again for your input. Also, what is the easiest way for a new ship designer to design a ship?
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Commander McLane »

Hi, woody22075, and first of all welcome to the boards, and of course to this great game! :D
woody22075 wrote:
But couldn't I change the dimensions of a current model (from an add on oxp)? thanks again for your input. Also, what is the easiest way for a new ship designer to design a ship?
The answer to both questions is the same: you need a 3d-model design software, for instance Wings3D (many of our ship designers are using it, but others prefer other software).

With this software you can either design new ships from scratch, or take an existing ship model and modify it (e.g. by shrinking it).

You will also need a conversion tool, in order to convert from the format your 3d-software is using to the .dat-format used by Oolite and back.