Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Binding keys to new commands

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

bjasspa
Average
Average

Binding keys to new commands

Post by bjasspa »

Apologies in advance, I'm new to Oolite and I'm hoping the problem is my ignorance!

I'm trying to create a 'fast forward' button which makes time go ten times faster; I want this because at the start fighting is not wise and trading is quite slow waiting for other ships to get out of the way so that I can use 'j' (or am I missing something?). So hunting around I've found the timeAccelerationFactor which is just what I need, I have written the following script to test it:

this.compassTargetChanged = function(whom, mode)
{
if(mode == "COMPASS_MODE_PLANET") timeAccelerationFactor = 1.0;
if(mode == "COMPASS_MODE_BEACONS") timeAccelerationFactor = 10.0;
}

This makes time go 10x faster when I change the compass mode to a beacon and it slows down again when changed to the planet. But this messes around with the compass which I don't want (and I haven't got an advanced compass at the start :-).

What I really want is to create a new key binding which toggles the state, i.e. bound to the key 'o' say. Can this be done? I can't find anything in the docs on how to create a new 'key_<my_command>' which can them be used in the keyconfig.plist file. Is it me being dumb?

Thanks for a great game - really brought be memories which I had long thought lost and I hope many new ones to come!
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral

Re: Binding keys to new commands

Post by Eric Walch »

bjasspa wrote: