Looking to start a chatbot expansion

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

unteer
Average
Average

Looking to start a chatbot expansion

Post by unteer »

Hey kindly folks at Oolite bulletins, I am a relative newbie to the game, and these forums, but I have a lot of time on my hands and have an idea for an expansion. I am a programmer, so I am not afraid of that aspect of the whole endeavor, but I have some questions.

The general idea for the expansion is to have a chatbot AI based on an AIML parsing engine which can answer questions about the game such as recent prices of commodities based on last visit, and whatnot. Also thinking of throwing in some Natural Language Learning so that maybe it can even learn from the player as you go (I have A LOT of free time, and AI was my specialty in university).

However, I am getting mixed sources on where and how to approach this project. My concept of the game is that the chatbot engine would be coded in javascript, using a javascript-based AIML parser. And from this, the questions arise:

1) Which file would I modify for the HUD of the ship to include a chatbox which you would use to interact with the AI. hud.plst seems reasonable, but is the least documented on the elitewiki.

2) is it against any oolite/elite mantra to have the AI record prices based on last visit and whatnot to aid in commodities training?

3) is it ok to maintain external databases for the AI brain and memory or would that be against mantra as well. Is it ok to use a SQL based language, or should I stick to plsts?

4) are you able to code in Objective-C for the OXPs or is everything plst and javascript based? I dont know if OXPs can be compiled seperately of the game, or if major coding forces a recompile of everything.

And finally...

5) does something like this already exist for the game, and could i just use it instead of hacking my own?