Demand Driven Economy OXZ

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Redspear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Demand Driven Economy OXZ

Post by Redspear »

This is my take on the basic trade model inherited from elite.

Disclaimer: I'm new to tinkering with markets and so my coding is likely clunky and sub-optimal, almost certainly with anti-social behavioural issues when it comes to integrating with other oxps. I hope to be able to address any such issues as they arise.

That said, the basic idea is to keep the reliability of the standard trade model but not the monotony.

The standard model means that some items are always more profitable than others as long as you are trading in the right direction along the industrial to agricultural plane.

For example: not only are computers always more expensive than machinery but they are also always more profitable trade items than machinery.
The problem then is that there is no good reason to buy machinery when computers are available.

This model assigns each of the 8 economy types with a specific high-demand commodity. Population, productivity and tech level also exert some influence.

For example: computers still cost more than machinery but when shipping to a mainly agricultural or poor agricultural system they will not be as profitable.
The result is that at least sometimes the trader would now buy machinery in preference to computers.

Economy Type and Most Profitable Import:
  • Rich Industrial - furs
  • Average Industrial - liquor/wines
  • Poor Industrial - food
  • Mainly Industrial - radioactives
  • Mainly Agricultural - machinery
  • Rich Agricultural - luxuries
  • Average Agricultural - computers
  • Poor Agricultural - alloys
It is of course quite possible to argue over which commodity should go where and why but it's a simple matter to edit the oxp to one's own tastes (if you don't know how, just ask).