[WIP] New Dockable Models

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

[WIP] New Dockable Models

Post by gsagostinho »

After flirting with 3D modelling for quite some time, I have decided to give it a shot, and after watching a million tutorials I am attempting to create my first model ever :)

I've decided to go with a space outpost, a small dockable. My initial idea is to add them to a couple of moons (which as far as I can tell no OXP adds any dockable to) and they would have their own market (expensive food, cheap minerals, no luxuries, etc.). I am a complete beginner with Wings3D, so please forgive any 3D modelling sins, but all feedback is really welcome!

Some of the initial screenshots:

What do you guys think? Once the model is ready, then comes UV-mapping, the stuff nightmares are made of as far as I can tell... ;)
Last edited by gsagostinho on Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Duggan
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Re: [WIP] Outpost

Post by Duggan »

This looks very promising :)
Flying Python Class Cruiser, Chapter & Verse IV
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by gsagostinho »

Thanks a lot! :D
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)

Post by Norby »

Very nice! But where is the dock? For the best compatibility (for example with ILS) center the gate around the origo, facing to the Z axis, like the core stations.
gsagostinho
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by gsagostinho »

Thanks, Norby! As for docking, my idea it to dock on that square platform. I thought of creating an invisible cube above it which would detect if the ship is close enough to the platform, and then activate the docking animation. Wouldn't this work?
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----