[UPDATED RELEASE] Quirium Mine Detector V1.4 (26/04/14)

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

[UPDATED RELEASE] Quirium Mine Detector V1.4 (26/04/14)

Post by Diziet Sma »

Yep.. Dizzy has succumbed to the Dark Side.. my very first OXP. :twisted:

A couple of days ago, I was engaged in a hectic dogfight with a Random Hits mark and his henchmen, and finally managed to take him out. I was being heavily set upon by his cohorts, and failed to notice the Q-Bomb he'd launched just before dying. By the time I recognised the expanding BlueSphere'o'Death, it was far too late to do anything about it.

Thus was born my determination to make an OXP that would not only put a message on the screen, but would sound a siren to make sure I was aware of impending doom, in time to do something about it.

I studied (and adapted) the code in the Missile Analyser and BGS, and did a lot of reading of the Oolite Javascript Reference. Then followed plenty of hair-tearing moments with the Debug Console.

48 hours later, it's done. It works, and works well. :D

The Detector is available at systems of TL10 and above. The cost is Cr 5000. It should work with Oolite 1.73 and up.

(It can come as a bit of a shock, the first time the siren goes off, as you're usually not expecting it. I suggest people play the siren sound -located in the Sounds folder of the OXP- once or twice to familiarise themselves with it beforehand. That way, valuable seconds aren't lost while the player wonders "What on Earth is that horrible noise?" :lol: )

Update: Version 1.2 released. Implemented Wildeblood's simplified detection code for pre-1.77 and added code to use the new this.cascadeWeaponDetected function if running in trunk (and 1.78+ when released).