New ship - Turbo Anaconda

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Commander MacSeumas
Poor
Poor

New ship - Turbo Anaconda

Post by Commander MacSeumas »

Hello. I've been playing Oolite for some time, and love it as I loved playing Elite on my BBC Micro.

I found myself wanting to try a big trade ship that wasn't quite so boring to play, so I fiddled with the Anaconda and made a very simple oxp for this "Turbo Anaconda". I'm no artist, so I've just used the existing Anaconda design and made it red!

I thought I'd share it here in case anyone else wanted to try it; I welcome thoughts and comments, including those on what I may have done wrong (though I'm feeling oddly shy, as I don't know whether this will be of any interest to anyone else anyway!)

So, here goes (I've just hosted it on my own webspace for now):
http://www.dreamsofmountains.co.uk/ooli ... da.oxp.zip
Edit: updated 20/10/2011 with new stats - reduced cargo capacity and speed, though both still very high!

The life of the dedicated space trader is boring. Desperately boring. It's better than the terror of bounty hunting or piracy, of course, but sometimes it can seem just a bit too much. With a ship big enough to haul serious cargo, it just takes so long to get anywhere - and many of the more interesting systems are effectively off limit, due to one's inability to outrun the less friendly inhabitants of their space lanes.

The Anaconda is something of a classic, but its commanders tend to find themselves with a lot of time spare on their hands. Many, as a result, consider themselves pretty handy amateur mechanics. And it isn't hard to get hold of spare parts, or even to pick up an old wreck - perhaps one that just couldn't make it out of a pirate ambush quickly enough.