Cargo Space Refit - apparent bug

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

DaveMatthews
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Cargo Space Refit - apparent bug

Post by DaveMatthews »

Hi folks!

I'm new to Oolite - and loving it!

I seem to have uncovered a problem with the Cargo Space Refit ("CSR") feature. This is the one which doubles the capacity of your cargo bay. In my case I'm flying the usual Cobra Mark III and, having previously expanded it to 35 TC, I have now purchased the CSR to give me 70 TC capacity...

All was working fine with that, with me saving the game - as a new save file each time as I like to keep some old ones - every few planet hops. However when I exited the game and returned to it later, upon loading up my last save file, the cargo capacity has dropped back to 35 TC. I checked my inventory and the CSR is still present in the ship...

I inspected my save files and discovered something odd. In the first few that I saved after purchasing the CSR, the <max_cargo> value is set as 70, as you'd expect. However if I exit the game and later restart it and load the latest save, although the <max_cargo> figure still says 70 in the save file, on-screen Oolite informs me that I actually have 105 TC capacity! I guess this is a bug in which the cargo bay's earlier 35 TC capacity and the new 70 TC capacity have been inadvertently added together by the game (35 + 70 = 105). And indeed the game does allow me to store more than 70 TC in the cargo bay. Subsequent saves actually write a value 105 for the <max_cargo> element in the save file - and it's when I subsequently exit the game again, restart it and re-load that latest save file that the capacity has dropped back to 35 TC...

Checking the log file from loading that latest save, I can also see the following:

WARNING: player ship Cobra Mark III had more cargo (72) than it can hold (35). Removing extra cargo.