Elite/Oolite veterans challenge

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

galpet
Above Average
Above Average

Elite/Oolite veterans challenge

Post by galpet »

I'm an Elite and Oolite veteran. I have mastered the complexities of Elite (on the Commodore 64) and Oolite and many of it's OXP's. Life is a bit boring flying aimlessly around the Ooniverse killing pirates and collecting cash. There must be more to life than this.

So, I have been working on a way to compare my skill levels against other Oolite traders, by issuing a challenge. In essence the challenge is a 50 light year, non stop run, between Rianin and Ceered in Galaxy 5. The shortest time wins the challenge.

To spice it up a bit, you have to land with a full load of cargo (750 ton), 100 kills, and, with every galcop, pirate and trader at every system hell bent on getting the 1,000,000 credit bounty on your head. All in less than 300 hours.

Each trader undertaking the challenge would use the same ship, an Anaconda Constrictor (the name says it all) and equipment. I am well on my way to finalising these details, and will make them available when finished.

Would any one be interested in taking up the "Oolite Runner" challenge?
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin

Re: Elite/Oolite veterans challenge

Post by Smivs »

Hi galpet, and welcome to the friendliest board this side of Riedquat.
Nice idea, and I'll look forward to seeing the finished article.
Best of luck with it.
Smivs
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
Mauiby de Fug
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Mauiby de Fug »

Sounds cool! One thing I was wondering: what about the different oxps that people have installed? Some will have ones which add more and tougher pirates, other will add stations which give you additional places to refuel, and others will have ones such as fuel tanks which save the need to head to the main station altogether...