Stalemate frustration

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Yseult
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Stalemate frustration

Post by Yseult »

Hi All,

I'm new to Oolite, been playing a couple of days now. Love the game, but currently frustrated because almost all fights degenerate into perpetual stalemate: AI ships can't hit me, but I can't kill them, or escape.

My ship is equipped with a forward beam laser, shield boosters, fuel injectors.
I have Neolite and Neolite Companion installed. Controller is a MS Sidewinder 2 joystick.

Enemy ships that cause this trouble are Asp Mk II special and Fer de Lance. They invariably have ECM. I can't outrun them with injectors on. I can hit them, but not often enough (either following their evasive weaving, or in head-on runs) to do any damage. After 30 minutes or so, my wrist aches and I have to reload.

Any suggestions? This experience is ruining Oolite for me.

Thanks,

Yseult
Screet
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Re: Stalemate frustration

Post by Screet »

Welcome to the board!
Yseult wrote:
My ship is equipped with a forward beam laser, shield boosters, fuel injectors.
The beam laser only has a range of 15km, half that of the military laser. As a result, you may see ships on scanner and visually but not be able to hit them because they are too far away.

Especially the fer-de-lance has a tendency to run once it has been hit a few times...it's not always possible to shoot it because it attempts to flee so early and is fast ;)

Another method to make enemy ships run is the use of ECM hardened missiles, but those are expensive.

Screet
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus

Post by JensAyton »

Yseult wrote:
I'm new to Oolite, been playing a couple of days now. Love the game, but currently frustrated because almost all fights degenerate into perpetual stalemate: AI ships can't hit me, but I can't kill them, or escape.