Moving the sun further away

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

dajt
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Moving the sun further away

Post by dajt »

The system size in Elite/Oolite has been starting to bug me a bit so I changed the code last night to put the sun 10x further away than normal (don't panic - didn't check it in!)

It was probably still too close, but it did look much better. If we had some blurring or lens-flares it might look better too, but I'm no GFX programmer.

The planet was almost invisible when I got to the sun.

It took 10 minutes to get to the sun from the witchpoint using jumpdrive so this reduces playability a bit, just taking time for no good reason.
Regards,
David Taylor.
Wolfwood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Wolfwood »

I would not mind this one bit. In fact, I would welcome such a change. The sun could be put even further away if we have more than one planetary bodies in systems at some point in the future.
Author of Tales from the Frontier - official Elite 4 anthology.
Author of Marcan Rayger adventures - unofficial fan-fic novellas set in the Frontier universe.
drew
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by drew »

I suppose it would make 'fuel scooping' a bit more of a chore. Perhaps the price of fuel would need to go up too!

Wish I could fuel scoop unleaded! :lol:

Where would the witchspace marker be? Still in the same place?

Cheers,

Drew.
Drew is an author of SF and Fantasy Novels
WebsiteFacebookTwitter
jonnycuba
Deadly
Deadly

Post by jonnycuba »

This would be great if there was also more dedicated sun bound traffic, i.e. tankers going to skim etc.
Team Zorg are Go!
lucabu
Competent
Competent

Post by lucabu »