[Linux] Assign more RAM to Oolite?

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

MCO
Poor
Poor

[Linux] Assign more RAM to Oolite?

Post by MCO »

Hey everyone,
i already apologize if this belongs to some other forum - this is literally my first activity here.
Now, let's keep it short: i started playing oolite recently, and ended up using almost every retexture/ambient oxp there is. now, even though most of the times my fps are stable around 60, there are some situations (the witchspace animation, sudden loopings, too many ships on screen), where i drop to 0 fps for a second. which, of course, almost killed me a few times. so i looked into my task manager in order to find the "weak spot".
my CPU is constantly at about 50% -> not the cause.
i can't say how much of my graphics memory oolite uses. but i have 256MB, maybe you can tell me.
but what i found interesting is that, no matter what i do, oolite is always using 2GB RAM - which of course leads to the thought that it simply can't use any more, so it has to reload textures from the drive everytime they come up again.
in case i am correct: is there any way to assign more RAM to oolite? i could give it up to 4GB, which should definitely be enough, that's why i'm asking. otherwise, i'll just remove some oxps.
thanks in advance!

specs:
2x Intel Core 2 Duo E8600 @3.33GHz
6GB RAM
Linux Mint 18 Sarah MATE 64bit, Kernel: Linux 4.4.0-59-generic
Nvidia Quadro FX 1800, 256MB memory, driver: nvidia-340
Last edited by MCO on Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Honorable Trader/Pirate Hunter.
Current Kill Count: 544
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)

Re: [Linux] Assign more RAM to Oolite?

Post by Norby »

Welcome MCO!