Help

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

LK901
Harmless
Harmless

Help

Post by LK901 »

Hello,
Newbie here, so newbie questions (noob?).
I like Oolite. It is sci-fi (always cool), a simulation (sometimes cool) and it is Free and Open Source. Great. But... wtf is this game so hard?
Apparently there is a tutorial....somewhere? I can't find it. space flight is limited to merely jumping through space and then for 20 or so minutes setting the green marker to your planet and increasing speed to max. Lots of fun. But then... when you try to dock it fails. I read the docking article, lined myself up with the buoy, turned around, revolved slowly in sync with the station. So far so good. 1/3 speed. Entering tunnel... Yay looks like I got it right.....no! WTF! A wall at the back of the station?!! Seriously! How am I supposed to dock? How does this game play.

Someone please help me before I uninstall this....
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin

Re: Help

Post by Cody »

Hello... have you tried simply flying through the wall?
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Post by another_commander »

LK901 wrote:
Apparently there is a tutorial....somewhere? I can't find it.
I knew we shouldn't have put it in an obvious place, people have trouble finding it... ;-)

Start game, then from the intro screen menu Start New Commander, and second option down: Tutorial. I trust you are on version 1.82, right?
ocz
Deadly
Deadly

Post by ocz »