oolite cockpit/increasing the viewing angle

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Blecha
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

oolite cockpit/increasing the viewing angle

Post by Blecha »

So I am fairly new to oolite but no less obsessed. I have been wanting to build a cockpit for FPV airplanes and general flight stuff but I am actually in the serious planning stages now. With most flight sim software you can fairly easily tweak it to work with a curved screen and projectors, oolite on the other hand is locked in to its default viewing angle. I am a fairly proficient C and python coder so I would probably end up digging into this at some point regardless of difficulty but I wanted to see how hard you folks thought it would be before I start buying expensive hardware. So here are my questions:

What sections of code would I want to start looking at to adjust the viewing angle?

Are there any inbuilt issues with changing this?

Is it even "possible" with the current codebase to go up to say 180 degrees? 220? 360?

Thanks to anyone who can help point me in the right direction :)
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Re: oolite cockpit/increasing the viewing angle

Post by another_commander »

I believe the best place to start looking for field of view modifications would be GameController.m, method - (void)setUpBasicOpenGLStateWithSize:(NSSize)viewSize, particularly the glFrustum call line. With some very crude, quick and dirty experiments, it seems that it is relatively straight forward setting the FOV to values other than the default. Here is one screenie taken at Lave with a FOV set close to 180 degrees.