Supporting the Thrustmaster Warthog

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

dhleong
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Supporting the Thrustmaster Warthog

Post by dhleong »

I recently got the Thrustmaster Warthog and was disappointed by the finicky support in Oolite. Though I have no experience with Objective C, I am a Software Engineer by trade and would like to help get this beast to cooperate. To that end, I threw together a crappy little CLI test harness based partly (mostly) on the OOMacJoystickManager.

What I discovered was this: (tempered, of course, by my utter lack of experience with the language and with joystick programming in general)

- Simply moving the stick was not enough to register it for pitch and roll in Oolite, and though Oolite had Axis 1 and 2 as defaults for those, they didn't work
- In the test harness, the input callback for axes on the stick is not fired until I pull the trigger. By pulling the trigger after moving the stick, I was able to get Oolite to recognize it and now I can turn and spin with aplomb!
- A lot of the buttons don't seem to trigger callbacks correctly. In fact, only the fully-depressed trigger (the Warthog has a 2-stage trigger) would make the above phenomenon happen. So, when I pulled the trigger, I immediately got callbacks for both axes and the trigger button. Again, this could be a problem with my code, because the button maps within Oolite (on the stick, anyway) do seem to work
- The throttle is a separate USB device, but it calls itself a joystick:

Code: Select all

Discovered device!: <IOHIDDevice 0x1004023e0 [0x7fff77051cf0] 'ClassName=OverdriveUSB'  Transport=USB VendorID=1103 ProductID=1028 Manufacturer=Thrustmaster Product=Throttle - HOTAS Warthog PrimaryUsagePage=1 PrimaryUsage=4 ReportInterval=8000>
 #20, unnamed - usage 9:20, cookie 21, range 0-1
  --> value=1
 #33, unnamed - usage 1:57, cookie 34, range 0-315